? 6/4 Marvin amps 443 + 3 419 - Question curve - still going down + 11.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
Friday

I was going to do a 12hr curve and already messed up. Have to work, and guess I lost an hour. so the first check I did after amsp was at 3 hours, would it be ok, if the next bg I take is in an hour, and the rest every 2 hours, or I don't have a choice but to do an 18 hour curve?
- thinking he may have a UTI again due to smell, I haven't recieved the d-mannose. Quick question, I assume that I still need to see vet if I think it's a UTI for antibiotics? I should receive the d-mannose tomorrow

Marvin's numbers are higher than normal, thinking it's the insulin increase. The good news is the cosequin I think is making a real difference, he actually crossed the whole living room with difficulty but didn't stop every 3rd step. He is coming out of the kitchen more on his own and being extremely difficult during BG tests :) Thank you all so much for recommending this. :cat:

Saw the vet yesterday, not for Marvin was time for his doggy sister visit to the vet. She hasn't received the test results back yet for IAA and Insulin growth factor yet, she will follow up next week.
 
It's OK if you first curve result is an hour late. Since he's so high, every two hours is probably good enough. Back in the beginning when I did curves for the vet, he made what I think is a good suggestion, which is to step up the testing when the numbers go lower. So it was every two hours, or move to every 1 hour if below 5.5 (100). Marvin should be over the new dose wonkiness by now from the increase.

If kitty has a UTI, it is best to go to the vet. They have to take a sample of the urine and culture it to see what kind of bug is in there. Different antibiotics work on different bacteria so you want to make sure you ID it so you can give the antibiotic which will work. And you need to take the sample before starting the ABs.

I am so happy to hear the cosequin is working! Usually it takes a couple of weeks before you see a response but it's great he's more mobile now. :)
 
It's OK if you first curve result is an hour late. Since he's so high, every two hours is probably good enough. Back in the beginning when I did curves for the vet, he made what I think is a good suggestion, which is to step up the testing when the numbers go lower. So it was every two hours, or move to every 1 hour if below 5.5 (100). Marvin should be over the new dose wonkiness by now from the increase.

If kitty has a UTI, it is best to go to the vet. They have to take a sample of the urine and culture it to see what kind of bug is in there. Different antibiotics work on different bacteria so you want to make sure you ID it so you can give the antibiotic which will work. And you need to take the sample before starting the ABs.

I am so happy to hear the cosequin is working! Usually it takes a couple of weeks before you see a response but it's great he's more mobile now. :)
Thanks Wendy, going to go test him again now, by the way I increased his does on Friday night to 7u, so only been almost 4 cycles. So like a bounce would it take up to 6 cycles to stabilize?
 
NDW usually happens within the first few cycles. Today is cycle 4, hopefully he should be over it. It is possible there is a bounce at play. Or he's just being a cat. :cat: If there is an infection, that can also raise the numbers.
 
amps 443, + 3 419, +4 392 + 6 304... definitely an active cycle :) I am happy to see some good movement downwards, it's still high but lower than I expected given the last 5 days............ keep it up Marvin down a bit more baby.....
 
Some cats just like to nadir late. Neko's on Lantus was usually +7 to +9, but sometimes as late as +13.

So close to blue Marvin, you can do it!

I have a feeling it's going to be a long night. + 2 203.... he didn't eat all his food. think I will need to stay up, if he start going down like earlier today.
 
I'd get maybe a +4 to see where he's at and then decide if you need to get a later test.
It would be nice to see him start to heal.
If he tests positive for acromegaly, then lower numbers aren't healing numbers. Acrocats often have a working pancreas - the insulin is needed to combat the excess growth hormone, which in turn means more IGF-1 which competes with the cat's natural insulin. However, those lower numbers are getting him towards spending lots of time under renal threshold which is great for his kidneys. :)
 
Do you think you have a +6 in you? You could try snoozng a bit and set an alarm. A small meal if you would normally give it now is OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top