6/4 Lucy PMPS=279;+2=247

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=205 (0.75u); +2=270; +9=247
PMPS=221 (0.75u); +2=241; +5=225

Today
AMPS=209 (0.75u); +2=248; +8.5=203
PMPS=279 (0.75u); +2=247

Lucy's appetite is so-so today.
She started off good, even came to the bedroom to help me wake up before the alarm.
She ate about 3/4 of the 1st breakfast well, and didn't want to finish.
I think I'll have to mix a small amount of Turkey&Salmon for the 2nd and 3rd breakfast.

Her numbers still look exactly the same as they did when she was on 1 unit.

Sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209

:?: :?: :?:
Maybe what I'm worried about is way out of line.
Is this even theoretically possible?

I am worried that after her infection/inflammation are treated via dental and antibiotics, maybe her body needed much less insulin.
Maybe at some point, the dose I was giving suddenly became too much.
I thought that if bad teeth can raise the BGs or even bring a cat out of remission, maybe the opposite effect is possible too.
But I kept increasing the dose, although slowly, to which she reacted by higher numbers.

Is it even theoretically possible that her liver is now constantly releasing the stored glucose in order to protect her from hypo, even without dropping low?
Is it possible she has some weird condition like that?
Or is it possible that she's dropping sharply somewhere and bouncing back so quickly that I'm just not catching it?

I do want to bring her to at least blue as soon as possible without being aggressive, but I don't know what to do.
I just really really don't like how she reacted to the increase by higher numbers.
And it's just confusing me more that she's not reacting at all to the dose reduction this time.
I'm just so confused, and I'm afraid of shooting more if her liver is acting up something weird.

I just want to know what I'm imagining in my head that might be happening is even possible.
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248

I can't give dosing advice as you know, but, reacting to an increase with higher BG can be NDW. Try not to over think it. Do as I say, not as I do, LOL. I bet some of what you are seeing is her getting used to her normal after all she has been through. Let' :YMHUG: s see what the experts say. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248

{{{Mariko}}}

No advice from me. Just hugs and prayers for Lucy. It's a frustrating puzzle, I know, and you just drive yourself crazy trying to put it together right. Sometimes pieces that look like they fit are actually in the wrong place. Maybe that is what's going on here. I hope some of the more experienced and knowledgeable people will be along soon to help you try to figure it out. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248

Thank you, Elise and Tricia.
NDW shouldn't last that long.

Anyway, I don't think I will really find out what's going on with Lucy.
I just want to know if what I described could be one of the possibilities, no matter how unlikely.
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248

Hi Mariko and Lucy,

I wish I could help you with interpreting Lucy's spreadsheet - I look at it and I see a kitty that was predominantly blue and green who, about mid march, started surfing more through blues and yellows and then, since end of May, is predominantly yellow. Your insulin dose over time has ranged anywhere between 0.5 and 1.25 which seems like a fairly tight range to me. Because I don't have Lucy's history, is there anything more at play than just the teeth? I noted a few times, in glancing quickly over Lucy's ss, that she has vomited. Does Lucy have some underlying pancreatitis or something else which is causing this difficulty with regulation? Sorry for all the questions but it's a little like a puzzle trying to figure out how all the pieces fit.

Don't despair Mariko, I'm sure that once things settle out for Mariko, she will be back on track - her ss supports that fact. Maybe once time passes, you'll be able to look at Lucy's ss and say, this was the time that such and such happened and then she got back on track.

Wishing you a stress-free day, Mariko and sending Lucy some blue surfing vines.

Anne
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248

Thank you, Anne.
Let's see.... Lucy has chronic pancreatitis, IBD, CKD plus some allergy/asthma.
But these issues aren't new.

Right now, I'm not trying to figure out why her numbers are this and that, because I will probably not know for sure.
But I am trying to decide my next action if she doesn't show me which way in the next couple of days.
If what I described is even theoretically possible (her liver releasing glucose constantly), then I will consider pulling the dose down even further to see how she'd react.
Likeliness is not what I am after right now... "unlikely" means "possible".
If it's physically impossible that such thing could occur, then I will be more inclined to start increasing.
I wish I understood the physiology of all this better......
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248;+8.5=203

I have no advice either, but I read your post from the other day and I can relate to what you said about Lucy seeming to lack energy when given a higher insulin dose and numbers coming down. I noticed this with my kitty Tiger when she just came home from the hospital. She weighted only 7.6oz and could hardly walk from neuropathy and probable start of ketoacidosis, which let to her hospitalization. I hope Lucy's appetite comes back, there's no worse fear when they don't eat, hope things improve for the both of you.
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248;+8.5=203

You are so vigilant with testing, I don't see how you could possibly be missing some big drops.

This is just my opinion, but I do think Lucy needs more juice, and I would increase her dose a little more frequently until you hit a break through. You've never really ventured much beyond the 1.00U range, so you don't know what a little more juice can do. I could be wrong, but I think that the longer she stays in these numbers, the more her body gets used to it, then the harder it is to break through. There have been times I've had to pretty aggressively increase Trix's dose to hit a break through after she was nice and stable.

The other thing to keep in mind, too, is that things just change within the body. They can change easily in a cat who doesn't have anything else going on. With Lucy having other health issues, it's even tricker, as things can change at a moment's notice. And these changes very well require dose adjustments.

I do wonder, too, if you would see better numbers if she consistently felt better...that is, if you consistently gave her pepcid and cerenia to keep her tummy and gut feeling stable.

Hopefully others will come along with more thoughts and ideas....and I hope Lucy is feeling better this evening!
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248;+8.5=203

Thank you, Amy, for your suggestion.
I do really appreciate everyone brain-storming for Lucy, and I take everything into consideration.
I explained in length in yesterday's condo why I am hesitant to increase her dose per TP.
I do think it is most likely you are right that she needs more juice, but what I have is a small tiny amount of doubt.

And my question today is a physiology question.
I hope someone has an answer.....
Or maybe my question is too silly.....
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248;+8.5=203

I don't have any advice either. I just wanted to add more prayers and hugs for you and Lucy as you try to figure things out. I hope someone knowledgeable comes along soon.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/4 Lucy AMPS=209;+2=248;+8.5=203

Piling on more vines for Lucy. Maybe your question is one for your vet who would know feline physiology better than us. I did some googling on how the liver processes sugar but there are some differences for a cat. There are many triggers for the liver and how it deals with sugar (food, low blood sugar, adrenaline, stress, growth hormones, etc.).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top