RochellenTiggs
Member Since 2017
he was home last night with my sister not a fan no insulin given i tested at +3 in evening 5.6 (100.8) this am he is 147 (8.2) do i push a .5 unit
He was at home while i was out last night and would not let my sister test him or give insulin I updated spreed sheet and I have test AMPS 147 @ 8 am and was wondering if I should still push .5 or .25 please advisehe was home last night with my sister not a fan no insulin given i tested at +3 in evening 5.6 (100.8) this am he is 147 (8.2) do i push a .5 unit
I have already shot .25 as we are on a schedule and trying to scale back to 7 am for school tommorow and I am not confident with that much insulin and low 147 to me so I choose to do that and I was prepared to test at +2 and + 3 and then + 5 or 6 depending on numbersThe basic rule of Lantus dosing is that you base your dose on the nadir, not the pre-shot number (unless the pre-shot number is too low to shoot). Are you comfortable shooting a 147? Will you be home to monitor and do you have strips and HC food if you need to intervene?
It also helps to keep in mind that typically, Lantus onset isn't until 2 hours after shot time. That gives you 2 hours of numbers continuing to rise. You're also feeding. Food will cause numbers to rise, as well.
If you are able to monitor, etc., you should shoot your current dose -- 0.5u.
I don't think I understand nadir yet I'm looking in sticky and reading againThe basic rule of Lantus dosing is that you base your dose on the nadir, not the pre-shot number (unless the pre-shot number is too low to shoot). Are you comfortable shooting a 147? Will you be home to monitor and do you have strips and HC food if you need to intervene?
It also helps to keep in mind that typically, Lantus onset isn't until 2 hours after shot time. That gives you 2 hours of numbers continuing to rise. You're also feeding. Food will cause numbers to rise, as well.
If you are able to monitor, etc., you should shoot your current dose -- 0.5u.
Um..... How are you planning of shifting the time? You shot at around 8:30 this morning. Typically, you want to move shot time by 15 min at each shot or 30 min once a day. You don't have enough days to gradually move to a 7:00 AM shot time by Monday. You may need to skip Jelly's shot tonight in order to get back on schedule.
My thinking would be that you need to make a decision. You need to find a dose you're comfortable shooting twice a day. Basing the dose on the pre-shot number, which ultimately means that you keep changing the amount of the dose, is going to result in wonky numbers. It's just not using Lantus to its best advantage. If you're comfortable with the 0.25u dose, then stick with it. I don't see any note about which dosing method you're using or what you're feeding Jelly. I'm going to assume you're following SLGS. If that's the case, whatever dose you choose, you need to stick with it for a week. (If you're following TR, you hold the dose for 3 days. You can't follow TR if there's any dry food in Jelly's diet.) In either case, you hold the dose for the requisite number of days unless a dose reduction is indicated. It would help if you put a note in your signature regarding which dosing method you're using.

1. AMPS is 147 fed and shot .5 unit
2. test at +2 +3 and feed curve as he is lower
3. test at +5 make sure hes staying lower but not to low and then monitor based on that
Here is Jelly's 6/3 condo.
Here is what you proposed so I still don't really understand why you reduced the dose this morning. It would have been fine to shoot 0.5u this morning and then reduce to 0.25u tonight if you were worried about shooting more and leaving tomorrow. But, you can always raise the dose back up if need be.
Good plan. One point....you want to feed the curve as you have been no matter what his BG is. That means feeding him at AMPS, +1, +2 and setting up his autofeeder for +3 even if the reduced dose leaves him higher.
This morning would have been a great time to get back on your 7 a.m. shot time since you skipped last night. As Sienne said, it's fine to shoot at 8 tonight and 7:30 tomorrow morning. I would then shoot at 7:30 to Oreos night and 7 on Tuesday morning.
Have a great day. Surf, Jelly!
Thank you. Yes...I'm good....have to peck at the keyboard but much better today.Thanksi hope you are ok and I wish I had scaled back but I was not sure based on numbers. I am feeding the curve and I just updated the spreed sheet hes at 196 that seems to be great i think
Thank you. Yes...I'm good....have to peck at the keyboard but much better today.
Looks good. You have to follow your gut and you are learning. If it's not enough insulin, you can always go back up.![]()