6/4 Henry C, AMPS=462, +5=306, PMPS=447, +6.5=164

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
Yesterday's News

One good cycle yesterday morning and 2 not so great after that.

No ketones (YAY), but started hypersalivating for the past 2 days - from what I can tell in the morning only (for now). This seems to be a repeat from last time when we were at a 5 unit high dose of Lantus. Also noted some itching and scratching. Last time it was ear infection and cleared with ear drops. Could also be the Lantus. Will monitor. Saw him drinking a few licks of water - well that is a miracle. Good pee and no poop for last two days even with Fortiflora. Hoping for a number 2 "gift" today.

Not the greatest start for this Caturday but Henry is super chilled and seems to be doing pretty great so I will take it. He is taking his beauty nap and giving me the afternoon off. Grateful for being able to get sleep last night but a bit tired and frustrated with all this bouncing.

How long do we keep this dose since he did have low blues on 6/1 PM cycle when we first started the 4.25? 10? Or 8 since he is rolling back the "red carpet" numbers.
 
How long do we keep this dose since he did have low blues on 6/1 PM cycle when we first started the 4.25? 10? Or 8 since he is rolling back the "red carpet" numbers.
We dose based on how low the nadirs are. With TR you hold doses with nadirs (note the plural) 6-10 cycles. I tended to hold for less time for nadirs in the high 100's, longer for nadirs lower in the 100's. The other factor to consider is how long it takes him to break a bounce. If possible, try to avoid increasing on the cycle that they break a bounce. It just means a little extra downward momentum which coupled with an increase can make a more "interesting" cycle.
Could also be the Lantus.
Elaborate on this? Some cats start to react to Lantus on higher doses. It has an acid base that can sting. But you mostly see reactions at shot time. Neko started walking away mid shot.
 
Last time he was at 4-5 units he was also scratching his head and ears mostly . So just saying maybe it is the Lantus that makes his skin itch. At higher doses. Can’t say for sure. He also had a minor ear yeast infection that went away with ear drops. Or maybe the itching stopped because the dose of Lantus was lowered back in the day. It’s not at injection time. The doctor said could be food alergies but doubt it because he is eating the same food as when the itching stopped. Plus I rotate

So the means hold 10 cycles because he is trying to break the bounce ? It feels like he had low 100 then he bounced, then broke the bounce a bit and some more bounce again. Just very confused. What would you do?
 
That is the problem I have no idea how long it takes to break a bounce. So far he has been all over the place. I did not increase last night - cycle 7 and much to my surprise and lack of sleep, he had a nice active cycle (high blues but still blues thank goodness). I kept the 4.25 dose this morning (8th cycle) - i will post a new thread shortly. Not so active cycle and BG bounced back.
 
Back
Top