Re: 6/4 Gus AMPS 248/+6=110/+9=156
bev5477 said:
Libby, I'm using the * and F to indicate when Gus gets food. * is when he gets 3 oz of LC FF and 'F' is when he gets 1 oz LC FF. Jill wanted to track his eating habits in relation to his #.
ahhhh, ok, that makes sense. I thought F meant food, and then I thought "wait, doesn't * mean food?" and then I got lost. :lol:
I *love* that he surfed today on low carb food. Awesome!
I know it feels like acro adds some weird dimension to dosing. Really it doesn't change too much, though. I still mostly follow the tight regulation protocol with Jazzy. There are some exceptions, like I might increase or decrease by a smaller or larger amount. I also give myself a little more freedom to skip or reduce a dose if something doesn't feel right, whereas with Lucy I usually pressured myself into shooting. Overall the dosing isn't very different.
I'll tell you something I learned even with Lucy, who was on a relatively high dose compared to a lot of Lantus ISG cats (4.25 units). The dose he needs is the dose he needs, and while it seems scary to think about shooting a lowish number with a lot of insulin, that's the dose that works for Gus so really it is not so bad. Take precautions, of course, and be data ready and have all your supplies on hand and all that, but that advice holds for everyone. It freaked me out at first to shoot low with Lucy at 4.25 units, when I saw other people shooting 1 unit. It was even harder at first to shoot low with Jazzy at 10+ units, but when I worked up the guts to do it, the results were the same as when other people shot whatever their cat's dose is at that number. Verra interesting. :smile: