6/4 FAX PMPS 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Good morning

Fax's numbers are coming down nicely and he is acting much more himself the past few days. Its so great to see.
Managed to get a ketone test yesterday and it was negative.

yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44686
 
Re: 6/4 FAX AMPS 311 +3.5 243

great start to the day for mr fax! did i ask you about his name - what it's from? i loved to read Andre Norton's books and there is a character named Fax in one of the series and i think of it every time i see your posts!

depending on what he does today you might ask someone to suggest on dose in the next day or so.
Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 6/4 FAX AMPS 311 +3.5 243

Hi there!! Really good start today. I'm glad Julie brought that up. I'm thinking it's time for a 0.25u dose increase, too. You'll want to ask one of the dosing experts, though!

Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 6/4 FAX AMPS 311 +3.5 243

Glad to hear his behavior is becoming more normal! Are you still feeding a snack at AMPS +10.5? If so, that may be inflating the PMPS number. Please try to get the before bed test, he may be going lower than you think.

You should try to vary your spot check times also, that will help fill in the SS and give you a better idea when his usual nadir is. Maybe try to get a +6 today?

Also, a bit of homework when you have time...take a look at the Data Ready sticky and Libby's post on Dealing with low preshots. I realize that you aren't seeing low preshots yet, but you should start gathering data before it happens.

Julie beat me to it...let's see where he goes today.
 
Re: 6/4 FAX AMPS 311 +3.5 243

The past couple of days he hasn't been asking for a snack at the old dinner time so I have just left it out - I am trying hard to keep his food consumption under control because he has been gaining a little again (I'm not too worried about this at the moment - he is a big cat and when he relapsed I felt he was too skinny).

I will do a +6 today and see where he's at.

The last two nights I have not been here to do a before bed shot - will do one tonight.
 
Fax is doing great this evening - he even decided to have a bath up on the couch with me, something he hasn't done in a long time. I will do another test before bed.
 
I agree with what Laurie noted. Doing what you can to get at least one spot check during the PM cycle is important. You're already seeing blue nadirs during the day. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. It very well may be time to increase Fax's dose to 5.5u.
 
I just did a PM +3 test - 319 - I'm pretty sure he must have gotten into something he shouldn't have. I had a bbq this evening and while everyone here knew not to let Fax gobble snacks and did a great job of helping me clean everything up, its impossible to track every chip or snack dropped by a team of toddlers! He is still in fine form so I guess tomorrow is another day.
Should I increase to 5.5u tomorrow morning?

Goodnight all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top