6/30 Ruby Happy Anniversary! AMPS 145/+3 63/+5 132/PMPS 162

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Ruby Tuesday. :cat:

Not much eating going on around these parts lately. Ruby threw up her dinner last night along with a big hairball and basically has avoided all food since. Gave her ondansetron and Cerenia at 7 AM, dropped Olive off at the vet and then came home to give her ¼ tab (1 mg) cypro at 8 AM with her pred and insulin. The last time I have her 2mgs cypro and she was a little loopy so trying a smaller amount this time. At 8:30 jackhammering started at the construction site down the street, sending Ruby into high anxiety. It's going to be a fun day. :nailbiting:

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and stay cool, North Americans. Have a lovely day everyone. :bighug:
 
I realized that 11 years ago today, Olive and Ruby were brought to me from the adoption agency. Happy anniversary, my sweet ones! Pic from that day. They were looking at finches outside on the feeder.

upload_2021-6-30_9-46-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-30_9-46-46.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-30_9-46-46.jpeg
    47.2 KB · Views: 187
I realized that 11 years ago today, Olive and Ruby were brought to me from the adoption agency. Happy anniversary, my sweet ones! Pic from that day. They were looking at finches outside on the feeder.

View attachment 61401
Happy Anniversary Katherine, Ruby and Olive. That is the best picture. They are beautiful girls. :joyful::joyful: Hope Ruby starts eating soon. Will check back later to see how Olive did at the vets. Sending Anniversary hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Day of vets! We’re still waiting for Olive to get her ultrasound, but in the meantime the doctor said that her kidneys feel small and she has a heart murmur, so they are adding a cardio ultrasound along with the abdominal. I did express to the doctor that I did not wish to do a biopsy, and she was on board. Depending on the US, she might do a GI malabsorption panel and/or standard bloodwork to rule out CKD. Fun stuff.

Meanwhile, finally got a call from Ruby’s IM, who has agreed to increase her pred dose age from 5 to 7.5 mgs. She said she tried to help me with moving her oncology appt earlier but they are short staffed and can’t accommodate me any earlier. So we sit and wait. Ruby’s eating everything in sight now that she has the cypro in her, so that is a good thing.
 
Prayers for minor/manageable issues Katherine.
Happy Ruby is eating and you were able to get in touch with the IM. I am sorry they cannot move your appointment to a sooner date, but at least there is something you are able to do while you wait. The original appointment is this month…..if I remember correctly?
 
Thanks, Amy! Yes, it’s July 13 at noon and I’m counting the days!

That is not too far away thankfully :)!
Yay!! And I totally empathize with both you and Ruby about the noise :facepalm:. The 4th is coming up and they shoot commercial fireworks in our neighborhoods….as in the ones that are used for actual city shows :eek:! T has a firework specific phobia and we have to medicate him. I am working with a behavioral specialist out of Cornell to work on desensitizing him as much I can as well. It’s ridiculous and SO unsafe that they allow people to do it:nailbiting::mad:.
 
That is not too far away thankfully :)!
Yay!! And I totally empathize with both you and Ruby about the noise :facepalm:. The 4th is coming up and they shoot commercial fireworks in our neighborhoods….as in the ones that are used for actual city shows :eek:! T has a firework specific phobia and we have to medicate him. I am working with a behavioral specialist out of Cornell to work on desensitizing him as much I can as well. It’s ridiculous and SO unsafe that they allow people to do it:nailbiting::mad:.
So sorry about the fireworks. Poor Tomlin! Thankfully fireworks are illegal here and outside of the big show that will happen on the river on Sunday that will be broadcast on TV, cat stress will be kept to a minimum.
 
So we brought Olive home. Waiting for the final report, but her abdominal US showed "slightly prominent" wall thickening in the jejunum, pointing to possible early IBD and everything else like lymph nodes, kidneys, liver, and stomach look normal. The cardiac US showed "slight" thickening of the left ventricle wall, signaling possible early hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Vet assured me that there was nothing to be concerned about at this point. She drew blood for a maldigestion panel to check her B12 and folate levels to confirm that Olive's condition is mild. The vet also suggested a hydrolyzed soy protein diet, which I declined, and then suggested trying novel proteins.

Treatment for now is Cerenia everyday for 5 days and then every other day, with B12 shots to be given at home once a week. We will reevaluate in a few weeks if her symptoms do not improve. I am so thrilled that I don't have to treat Olive with steroids or chemo right now, but fear it might be in the future.

Universe: One cat at a time please!
 
Hi Katherine first thing Happy Anniversary ,what a precious pic
I'm glad Ruby has finally eaten
I hope the treatment for Olive helps right now
I hear you when it comes to the jackhammering
It's going on by me , I think I told you they are replacing new gas lines and the house makes Ashley's pain worse so we have to leave the house

I would like to stuck those jack hammers up their ---
You are so lucky that fireworks are illegal there
Not here ! Have to leave the house for these also and find a quiet place to go
Teenagers that live across the railroad tracks from me do them until like 2 AM
I calk the cops and tell them to please go over there and tell them to stop this sh*t
because if I go over you will wind up arresting me

I am counting the days for Ruby for July 13th to hurry up and get here ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Katherine first thing Happy Anniversary ,what a precious pic
I'm glad Ruby has finally eaten
I hope the treatment for Olive helps right now
I hear you when it comes to the jackhammering
It's going on by me , I think I told you they are replacing new gas lines and the house makes Ashley's pain worse so we have to leave the house

I would like to stuck those jack hammers up their ---
You are so lucky that fireworks are illegal there
Not here ! Have to leave the house for these also and find a quiet place to go
Teenagers that live across the railroad tracks from me do them until like 2 AM
I calk the cops and tell them to please go over there and tell them to stop this sh*t
because if I go over you will wind up arresting me

I am counting the days for Ruby for July 13th to hurry up and get here ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for all of the good wishes, Diane. My girls will be fine, I just need to start my job next week and stop being such a helicopter cat mom. :rolleyes:

Fireworks have been illegal in the state of New Jersey since 2017--it's only a question of whether or not the local police enforce it. I am really sorry Ashley suffers because these jerks think it's fun. I don't even understand the appeal.
 
PMPS =162. I’ve been happy seeing green nadirs in the AM cycle. Feels like we’ve finally hit a stride with this insulin dose and pred dose combo. Will be increasing pred tomorrow to 7.5 mgs, so it will be interesting to see what it will do to the numbers.
 
Thanks for all of the good wishes, Diane. My girls will be fine, I just need to start my job next week and stop being such a helicopter cat mom. :rolleyes:

Fireworks have been illegal in the state of New Jersey since 2017--it's only a question of whether or not the local police enforce it. I am really sorry Ashley suffers because these jerks think it's fun. I don't even understand the appeal.
I didn't know that about N.J. about the fireworks
Then out local police suck!
 
So we brought Olive home. Waiting for the final report, but her abdominal US showed "slightly prominent" wall thickening in the jejunum, pointing to possible early IBD and everything else like lymph nodes, kidneys, liver, and stomach look normal. The cardiac US showed "slight" thickening of the left ventricle wall, signaling possible early hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. Vet assured me that there was nothing to be concerned about at this point. She drew blood for a maldigestion panel to check her B12 and folate levels to confirm that Olive's condition is mild. The vet also suggested a hydrolyzed soy protein diet, which I declined, and then suggested trying novel proteins.

Treatment for now is Cerenia everyday for 5 days and then every other day, with B12 shots to be given at home once a week. We will reevaluate in a few weeks if her symptoms do not improve. I am so thrilled that I don't have to treat Olive with steroids or chemo right now, but fear it might be in the future.

Universe: One cat at a time please!
Hi Katherine, I am so sorry for all the added fear and stress. I hope and pray Olive will be on the mend and drastic actions are not called for. You sound so calm and in control :banghead: :banghead:. This is just too much grownup stuff to deal with. Sending loving prayers, hugs, snuggles to all of you. Get some rest. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top