6/30 Roxy: AMPS 266, +2: 302, +4: 226, +7 274

So +7 was higher than +4 so I should I try and get a +5 reading tonight - midnight? Is that what you do? We are trying to find the nadir, correct? But if it takes a few days for the new dose to settle in is this just to make sure she doesn't get dangerously low?
 
The +2 is often a good one to get with Lantus. If it's lower than the preshot, there's a good chance of a fairly active cycle that needs more testing. Of course, if you are normally up until midnight, a before bed +5 would be a good data point.
 
I am never up at midnight lol, not sleeping well so in bed by 10:30! If not necessary I'm happy to skip it! Right so basically we are waiting for the +2 to be lower than the AMPS or PMPS - is it necessary to test +2 after the PM shot too? Or if it doesn't go down at +2 in AM I guess it won't go down after PM either? If it takes a few days for the dose to kick in does that mean it will suddenly be lower at +2 tomorrow day after for eg, and that's when we keep doing the 2 hourly to find the nadir? And if it's not doing that we need to increase dose after 7 days?
 
It takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to build. Some cats respond to a dose increase from the very first cycle. Some cats are slow responders. With time you will understand how Roxy responds.

It's not necessary that if they are lower in the day, they won't be lower at night or vice versa. If possible, you could move your shot time forward so that you can get a +2 before bed. Many cats go lower at night.

With SLGS, you hold the dose 7 days and then increase (if a reduction is not earned in those 7 days). If you can get at least 2 tests per cycle (PS and 1 more), you could try following TR. That will help you get Roxy to a good dose sooner than SLGS.
 
Thanks Bhooma. I thought TR required much more testing, that's why we chose SLGS as she hates it so much! I could get a +2 before bed and even a +4 at a pinch as we shoot at 7am and 7pm.
 
Thanks Bhooma. I thought TR required much more testing, that's why we chose SLGS as she hates it so much! I could get a +2 before bed and even a +4 at a pinch as we shoot at 7am and 7pm.
Well, with SLGS you get only preshots and do a weekly curve. With TR, it's 4 tests per day. Minimum. More if the numbers are dropping low.

I would still suggest you follow TR till you see some blues and greens. It's possible that holding the 1U dose so long could have led to glucose toxicity. Faster increases in the dose could help her break through that. You can always switch back to SLGS once she sees better numbers.
 
What are the signs of glucose toxicity?
When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, it's body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires much more insulin to break through to lower numbers. That's glucose toxicity. Sounds worse than it is! :-)

I will change over to TR then, thanks for advice.
Just change the "SLGS" in your Signature and SS to "TR"

Good night! :-)
 
Back
Top