6/30 Neko PMPS 318 +2 349 +3 219 +5.5 133 +6.5 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74105

6/29 Recap
AMPS 458 +3.5 352 +7 250 +9 248
PMPS 445 +2 472 (tested also on Contour which said 425)

I'm very unhappy about that +2 after such a promising start for Neko. Of course, the last time she did that she came down during the day and went green at night.

We are now at cycle 27 of this dose and wondering if we should go up again. We saw greens but there is too much other icky colours showing up. Tomorrow will be the end of the 6th cycle after her last low event so any bounce should be over by then. She doesn't usually take so long to break a bounce. Neko is not impressed by the dreary weather and has had a couple of very quick yard patrols. The high numbers are making her quieter.

OT: I was singing that old Gene Kelly song earlier today Rowing in the Rain. Well not really but I was thinking it as we were on the water in the mist and drizzle. The highlight of today's row - WE SAW WHALES! Towards the end of the row and about a kilometer behind us we saw whale spouts 5-6 times and some large splashing in the water. We didn't actually see the whale at that distance, but it couldn't have been anything smaller with the size of the spout. Probably a killer whale. Way cool - there very seldom come into this part of the inlet as they have to go through the busy Vancouver harbour to get here.

I'm thinking of our fellow Canadian beans, Claudia with Rocket and Randi with Max today.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 argh!

Hm.. It would be interesting to see is Neko does go green tonight. She did have a similar start to her day on the 26th. Neko, mamabean is threatening more juice. Work some magic today, ok?

That had to have been an amazing sight this morning. I really hope I get the opportunity to see that sometime in my life. Whales are gorgeous mammals.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 argh!

cool re the whales. We people living on the West Coast almost tend to take it for granted don't we?! such amazing wildlife everywhere. We have bald eagles here all over the place, several nests, youngsters learning to fly right outside my work window, as common as sparrows around here! We also have an osprey nest at work I get to see them diving and catching fish, amazing.

bleah about the weather huh Wendy? but typical (it seems lately!)....sigh. I do remember SUNNY summers here, but they seem to be long gone! maybe it will get better for the holiday monday?

sorry about the bounce Neko is doing, methinks Rupert might be headed that way too.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 +5.5 371

+5.5 371
So where did that bounce come from. She was red and going higher when I went to bed? If only they could talk. Another successful bean confusion.

@Reagan - gotta keep threatening, it seems to work more often than not.

@Pip - at least if Rupert is bouncing it was because of something good last night. Neko is a mystery. I think the worst is two bad Junes in a row. Neat on the osprey, we see eagles around here often enough but not their nests. Maybe you need a webcam!
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 +5.5 371

Just an observation from an acrocat owner - each dose increase shows up as a short string of green a few days later and then returns to red and black. Have you thought about IAA and IGF1 testing?
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 +5.5 371

Holding the dose of 7u, or any dose for that matter, for 27 cycles, almost two weeks, is inviting the resistance to overtake you.
Even the normal diabetic protocols say to raise the dose much sooner.

You may also want to consider trying Levemir as the curves are more smooth and may level out the extremes you are seeing with Neko's curves. The greens you are seeing are not bounces.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko AMPS 347 +2 456 +5.5 371

Neko's ss looks much like Harley's when I first started testing. I could not understand why he would not level off. I then had Harley tested for acro and IAA. He was negative for acro but positive for IAA. With that knowledge, I became more assertive with my dosage. I would rarely go longer than 6-10 cycles on a dose and would regularly go up in dose. Harley topped out at 10 (I was planning to go up to 10.5) when he over came resistance and I began lowering the dose.

Bottom line....waiting 27 cycles (as Gayle said) is WAY too long to wait. And you should consider testing for IAA/Acro. I would never have thought my boy was high dose - until the test came back.

Pattie
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318

PMPS 318, finally coming down some more.

@Just-As-Appy (sorry, don't know your name), Gayle, Pattie - as I discussed in yesterday's condo, I am planning to talk to my vet about blood draw and testing. The reason for being so long at this dose is that Neko has several times shown green, bounced, then shown green again.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318

Neko is a good fighter; I am sure he will do well when he gets where he needs to be.
Time to move him up in dose; you can expect to see sprinkles of lower numbers, but that's just Neko fighting the resistance.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318

Looks like Neko is sliding down so I think wait and see what he does tonight before making any decisions - also add 'DOSE QU' to your subject line to get the experienced TR people's eyes on his ss. Nice that you haven't seen any black for a little while :smile:
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318 +2 349 +3 219

+2 349 (a bit of food in there) +3 219, and down we go. Looks like I'll be getting up in the night.

@Serryn - you are so right, down she goes again. Yes, I am so glad not so have seen any black on this dose. Small steps, but progress.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318 +2 349 +3 219 +5.5 133

Nice blue Neko! Dont be discouraged Wendy. We are all doing the best for our kitties already! Hugs!
 
Wendy --

I think you're OK to increase. This dose isn't dropping Neko so low into the greens that it would be worrisome. Gayle does have a point about courting resistance. I think it's a balancing act, though and as long as you can test and are comfortable raising the dose, I'd encourage you to give it some thought.
 
Re: 6/30 Neko PMPS 318

Wendy&Neko said:
Gayle, Pattie - as I discussed in yesterday's condo, I am planning to talk to my vet about blood draw and testing. The reason for being so long at this dose is that Neko has several times shown green, bounced, then shown green again.

Sorry Wendy, but when I read the condo, I did not pick up that you were definitely going to talk about the IAA/acro test. I ready that "maybe" you would discuss it. So, I did not mean to post something that you had definitely decided to do, and am only trying to help.

Harley's vet was very resistant to doing the IAA test. She did do the acro one but she really had never heard of the IAA stuff and I really had to dig my heels in about that one.

Pattie
 
I have to add that I also have 'resistance issues' with my own old vet in Toronto; they did not mention testing, and almost pretending not to hear me mention it! I left many messages at the vet office to say I want the 2 tests done, and I started mentioning tests when Shadoe was at 7u and still at 9u, and it took me till she was up to 14u, plus I had to take copies of the test info into the vet office and provide them with phone numbers and say quite loudly MAKE THE ARRANGEMENTS.
Even when the results came back positive for acro, and she then had a dental which took her dose down to 2.5u, the vet still did not believe she was acro.

If you have a healthy cat but you are up to a dose of 7u, something's going on. I think you know that the numbers fluctuation you see on Neko's ss are not just a string of bounces, but something else. Resistance is like a tug of war, and you need to be firm with dosing or it will get the upper hand and make it even harder for you to regulate Neko.
 
Hi Wendy -

When I first asked my vet (actually one of the others in the practise) about Acro - I saw her grab the "vet Bible"... the look on her face was :shock: . By the time I discused IN PERSON w/ my regular vet, I had the paperwork printed out (both for her and for me) about the testing, about the specifics of each (highlighted of course), and the procedure for prepping and sending the blood. I explained that I knew this was info off the internet, and realized she had detailed medical books, but that this gave some good background without her having to do a lot of research. She didn't resist, as she knew I'd done my homework. When the tests came in, she shared them with me right away. Honestly, I think she was as surprised as I was by the numbers. She also admitted that in vet school, they flashed a pic of an Acro cat on the screen, said "this is what one looks like, but you'll never see it", and moved onto the next topic.

MSU will ship the mailers to the vet - mine said it was cheaper to do it that way than to go to Fed Ex and buy them myself. I was a little miffed that the folks at MSU didn't want to talk to me, only a vet, :o but... I guess that's just how it works. It took about a week for her to get them from MSU.

The blood is spun, frozen, and shipped overnight - both vials in one mailer. One of the tests is only done on Wednesday, so we did the draw on Monday morning and it was shipped Mon afternoon. By Friday we had the test results for both.

I've heard great things about the "break-throughs" people have experienced w/ IAA cats. I guess when you throw in the Acro, all bets are off, but it's encouraging that it can happen w/o expensive treatment (other than LOTS of insulin, that is!). Although Kim (kse) never had Kitty tested, she was outa town when her petsitter was supposed to test/shoot. She really didn't want to test... but THANK GOD she did - cuz that's when Kitty had her breakthrough!

So, that's my 2 cents... hopefully your vet will be supportive of your interests.

One last funny - I talked to a college friend who is a vet - and said I wanted to have the testing done. She implied it was throwing my $$$ away, and that although Grayson is very special to me, he's "just not THAT special!" Well, she was wrong!!! Anyways, good luck with this!

Lu-Ann
 
I'd just like to add that Wendy did not say her vet is resistant. She said she was going to talk to her. Neko is her cat and she has all the great info you all have given her. When she's ready, she'll have the tests done.

I'm sure she appreciates your support and sharing your cats' stories. But at some point, it just becomes pressure on a caregiver who might already be stressed. Please let Wendy decide when she's ready to have the tests done.

Wendy...good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Nice action this morning, Neko. Did you read your condo and decided to show your bean some blue? Very cool on the whales. That might be a little too exciting if they are close by and you are in a small boat. :shock: Very interesting information about the testing for acro and IAA. You are a great bean for Neko and however you proceed is with her best interests at heart.
Liz
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'd just like to add that Wendy did not say her vet is resistant. She said she was going to talk to her. Neko is her cat and she has all the great info you all have given her. When she's ready, she'll have the tests done.

I'm sure she appreciates your support and sharing your cats' stories. But at some point, it just becomes pressure on a caregiver who might already be stressed. Please let Wendy decide when she's ready to have the tests done.

Wendy...good luck with the dosecrease.

I'd just like to add that I did not say anything about Wendy's vet being resistant. If you have not spoken to your vet about something, there is no way of knowing how the vet will react. Now, those of us who know, who have had experience with our own vets discussing insulin resistance tests, have for the most part had difficulties. I am not sure if you have heard the saying.... Forewarned is forearmed.
If you have not experienced the struggles that come along with high dose / insulin resistance / hesitant vets to both, then you can't say much. Those who have those experiences very much want to lessen those difficulties for others. As for the caregiver already being stressed, there is no 'might' about it, and we who know are trying to let Wendy know that it's OK, and to offer our own roadblocks, not 'stories', so that we may in our own ways help her in the event of her choosing to have the tests done. We are not saying do them right away; we are saying watch out for vet resistance.

To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.
 
Hey Wendy, nice to see NEko heading down to find Rupert and the gang!!! hope you have a great Canada Day!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top