6/30 Max AMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Goodmorning!

Max is a little higher this morning because I freaked out last night, and gave him a bunch of medium carb wet food (10%). At +3 last night he was at 81- his first green ever!! but since it was only +3, and we were going to bed, I gave him most of a can of food, because I was worried about him getting too low. Did I do ok?

Also, we've moved Max's shots up an hour to 7am/pm for awhile. We're going to see how this works for us. Max is already up and in our faces at 6 am begging for breakfast (loudly- he's a talker) so we're going to help him out a bit. We'll see if we're able to get home from work in time- that'll be the test.

So Sienne- as you suggested, Max definately read his condo yesterday and has gone even lower to keep from having to increase! Would you (and anyone else) suggest waiting another 2 cycles or more? I should also mention that we have him on a bunch of different wet foods until the shipment of his regular food arrives, so there may be variances because of that, but I'm keeping them under 6%.

AMPS 250 (ate 2x normal food amount)
+6 250 (again, fed 2x normal food amount)
PMPS 288
+3 229

It's (finally) a sunny day here, hope you're all enjoying one too!

Holly
 
Knock Knock --Housekeeping... :lol:
here is your link to yesterday's condo... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18502
(it's so easy to forget...but it dos help everyone see what happened the previous day...)

I guess feeding the MC last night gave you peace of mind so you could sleep...
Congratulations on your first green!
(you do know that when you see other greens, you should take a deep breath and post the number, right?)
Hopefully, there will be many more to come.
I will defer to the experts on your questions...just wanted to stop in and say HI :razz:
 
Hi Pat,

Thanks for the housekeeping! I will definately post next time Max is in the green, I think I was in too much shock to think straight last night!

DH will be doing a +6 today, and I'll post here.

Have a good one!
Holly
 
Yay for a GREEN! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: That means he's definitely heading in the right direction!

Question: Did you move shot time up last night, or just this morning? I believe a move in shot time by an hour can end up working like an increase in dose for that cycle, so if it was last night, that could be why the 81 popped up. If you didn't change it until today, then I'm glad DH will be getting a +6 to see where he's sitting. I think the general recommendation around here is to not move shot time by more than 15 minutes per cycle to avoid the temporary dose increase effect (just for future reference).

Anyway, I think I would sure hold out another cycle or two before deciding for an increase. If he's dropping below 100 during his cycle, an increase is not warranted. A drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat warrants an immediate decrease by .25U.

And you did better than me with your first green number--my Max popped a 61 at me and I freaked out and gave him kibble! ohmygod_smile Little did I know that I would be seeing lots more numbers in that range, and that in fairly short order I learned to get used to them and not feed kibble ever, and to be careful with the HC canned stuff. Really, green is what you're looking for--it gives the kitty's pancreas the best chance to heal. And for you to only end up at 250 for the next ps number, well, you did pretty good! If you can, when the opportunity arises and his numbers are starting to dip (an 81 is actually a TERRIFIC number!), try not to feed (or feed LC) and see where his numbers go--and of course post here to see what others think. My Max once cruised for a bit in the 50s, but pulled himself back up to over 60 without any food--but I was testing every 20min or so to watch what was going on. I understand wanting to sleep (boy do I!) and needing to leave for work, but when you get the chance, it would be good to just monitor his numbers and see where he goes (and THEN feed if/when he truly gets into the low or hypo numbers). And when you must sleep or leave, for sure feed before you go to make sure a hypo situation doesn't occur. But all in all, you did really well last night! :-D
 
I would hold this dose for a little while, to see if he bounces and whether he can get back to green after any bounce clears. Congratulations on GREEN! :mrgreen:
 
Told ya they read their condos -- sneaky kitties!! Congrats on the green!

I agree with Libby -- hold the dose and let's see what happens. I'd also suggest putting a note in your SS about the %carb that you're feeding since it's not your usual foods. If numbers aren't what you expect, it may help to sort out what's going on.
 
Thanks everyone for your posts! We really appreciate all this help!

So, we had a few setbacks today, so Max's numbers aren't really indicative of how he's been the past few days. My wonderful DH was home today, and did the +6 test & feed... but he misunderstood how much food to give, and gave twice as much as usual. And of course, Max the glutton that he is, gobbled it all up (this is a few hours after he scarfed Leo's breakfast when Leo wasn't paying attention). It's no surprise his numbers are higher, as he's had double the food he normally gets.

DH doesn't like to post, so that's why you're getting all the goods now- we just got back from dinner (it's our anniversary). I'm home tomorrow, so I'll check in at +3, 6 & 9.

Thanks for straightening us out about changing the times of the shots. We tried to stagger it- we started half an hour early last night, and another half hour this morning, but if we ever have to adjust again, we'll be sure to do it over at least 2 days.

Final question- I know at least one of you feeds JUST twice a day. Does anyone else do this? Does it work for you?

Thanks, and see you all tomorrow!
Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top