? 6/30 Heffernan AMPS89! what dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.
It doesn't look like you've shot anything that low before, so I would recommend skipping the shot this morning since you have to work. The SS is only updated to the end of May.
 
I retested at +1 and he's at 185. I gave a token dose of 2 units and fed some Elegant Medleys FF hoping to avoid another gigantic bounce.
 
Looks like he's already started that bounce...if you didn't actually shoot until he was at 185, that's your AMPS number....the pre-shot numbers is always the number you actually shoot.

You can put the 89 either in the +11 from last night (put 89 @ +12) or you can stack both numbers in the AMPS this morning, so it could say "89 @ +12 185 @ +13"
 
+6 is 436. Not sure shooting or skipping would have made a difference. UGH!! I thought bounces like this weren't supposed to happen with Levemir. How do I stop the roller coaster?
 
Bounces happen to all cats...the type of insulin doesn't matter. What matters is how the cat reacts to blood glucose numbers that are either 1. too low 2. drop quickly (like 50 points an hour) or 3. they just get into numbers that their body is no longer used to being at.

Also, remember you gave a light shot this morning, plus left some high carb food down so those things are working against you too.

This too shall pass....just going to have to give it some time
 
Is there anyway you can shift your schedule a bit so you can get more tests in the +7 to +10 time frame? Levemir has a later nadir and from what I can see, it looks like Heff onsets around +4 and nadirs around +8 or later, even at +12. Those +3 tests at night aren't going to tell you much about the night cycle, cause he won't have onset yet. A +4 test at night would be more telling, or even a +10. I'm just worried that you've increased from 3.0 to 3.5, without enough mid cycle data to tell you if that dose was a good one.

I don't think he's on too much insulin, but since you've started to see green, I'd make sure to gather more data around the nadir time before deciding on future increases. When cats switch from Lantus to Levemir, we suggest starting at 70% of the Lantus dose as some cats need less Levemir (but not all). Since Heff was on 5-5.5U of Lantus, we would have suggested starting around 3.5 units of Levemir. to start.

And yes, cats still bounce on Levemir - Neko is a prime example, but I can name some names of even worse Lev bouncers! :smuggrin: Some kitties flatten out more on Lev, and I am grateful that Neko is one of those, less big bounce causing drops. It also takes time for kitties to learn to work the insulin, Heff has only been on Lev a month and a half. He will get there.
 
I work 8-4 M-F and there's no wiggle room. I volunteer on Saturdays. Sundays are usually my one day to try to get extra tests in.
Our shot times are 6:15-6:30 ish. I do +3 at night since I'm usually asleep by +4 since I'm up at 6 am.
When we switched from Lantus to Lev we started at 3 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top