6/30 Champ PMPS 447, +2 392, +4 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Thanks, Sienne, for the early morning advice on dosing!! Even though Champ earned a reduction last night, I decided not to give it to him because that was only his 3rd cycle on that dose (which was an increase to 3.75u). He had already proven he didn't like 3.5u, so I'm going to make him show me he wants to get below 50 three times before earning the reduction per the Tilly Protocol (thanks for the link, Sienne, and Julie mentioned this, too). Then I'll probably shave the dose down when (not if) it's time to decrease. Everyone please pray that Champ doesn't bounce out of the stratosphere today because he did some major high-diving last night. His link to yesterday's condo won't show all the numbers because there were so many; you'll have to look at his SS to see all the deets. Thank God, once again, for my daughter. She stayed up all night testing every half hour for me. She went to bed when I got up at 4:30.

Champ looks really perky this morning. And in case anyone wants to know, the Xobaline methyl B12 I'm giving Champ for what I presume to be his neuropathy is working very well. I've noticed him walking more toward his toes on all four feet, the twitching in his face is all but gone, and his wobbly front legs aren't readily noticeable anymore. That stuff has worked like magic for Champ. I hope it continues!!!! :-D

I must get back to work, but will definitely hit up some condos later today. Sorry I've been MIA lately, but work is really killing me right now. If I didn't need the money, I'd tell work to piss off, but I have to keep Champers in test strips so it's back to the grind!! :lol: Have a great day, everyone!! :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

You have 2 choices. Door #1 - you take a reduction. A drop below 50 with that green surf for the rest of the cycle suggests that Champ meant business. You can always shave the dose if you're not comfortable taking the full reduction.

Door #2: According to the Tilly Protocol, you can hold the dose until Champ drops into the 40s two more times. Three drops into the 40s earns a reduction.
...if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

However you decide to dose Champ, I hope you have success with it. Sometimes it is just so difficult to make a decision as to what is best. I'd love someone to discover an anti-bounce medication. Have a good day Patty and good luck with the dose.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

Good morning Patty & Champ! According to Sienne's email, I would probably do door #2 and go with the Tilly protocol. I have done that with Tarragon and, lo and behold, he never got the other 2 reductions.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

Good luck girl!!!! There are others doing the three times below 50 and you test alot!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

I am leaning towards Door #2....see if he can do it 3 times and then get the reduction....

Good luck Patty....I'm sure you are tired!!!! Have a good day and no big bounces Champ!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ -NEED DOSING HELP FOR THIS AM

Hi Patty,
I think I would pick Door 1, especially since you spent a lot of time keeping Champ up with food last night and don't care to repeat that! I also think that rather than take the full .25 reduction, I would shave the dose to a fat 3.50 or a skinny 3.75 (not sure there is much of a difference there unless you count drops or have exceptional eyes). Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199

So glad to see that Champ didn't bounce too high this morning, and even happier to hear that the B12 is helping him so much. Yay! That must be doing your heart a lot of good!!!

I think I'd probably go with Door #2, and do the shave when he earns the reduction. He's lookin' good here!!!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199

Good Morning Patty and Champ,

Whatever you decide to do, its done in Champ's best interest.....right? So if the full dose reduction after a 50 isn't working than just try something else! I'm sure in the end it will all work out just fine and dandy.

Good news about the B12. I'm glad its working for him, poor guy needs a break on something.

And I hear ya on keeping our guys in test strips, this FD business isn't cheap!

Have a wonderful Thursday.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

What an exciting morning it's been for ya! Hope you don't get too stressed out at work!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

I hope this is a food spike and not the start of the dreaded bounce. We shall soon see.

Bev - Good morning!! I, too, want bounce prevention medication!!! The inventor of that would make millions!! :lol: Making decisions of what to do and when to do it does seem to be one of the most difficult parts of this whole game, huh? Hope I chose correctly!!

Melissa - Hi!! I sure hope Champ doesn't decide to play hard to get and refuse to give me any more low greens. He needs to do his part!!

Marje - I counted...Champ was tested 21 times yesterday, but I know he was poked more than that because Danielle couldn't get blood a few times. It seems when he's low, he has a few places on his ear that will gush, but other places where nothing comes out at all!! I've learned where to poke at certain times and Danielle will get the hang of it, too. Champ was such a trooper last night!!

Sherry - from your mouth to Champ's ears....NO BOUNCES!!! And I did go with door #2!!

Hi Tracy - I do believe Champ did catch a break finally with that B12. I don't know if it's the same kind you use, but this stuff has really been great!! The pills come in 3 mg size, very small and turn to dust just by pinching them between your thumb and finger. I just sprinkle it on his food morning and night and he eats it right up. He actually jumped up onto the table by my desk today so easily. It was like seeing the old Champ. No more wobbly legs when he stops and stands and puts weight on his front legs. Even the twitching in his face has just about disappeared!! I'm ordering more today so I don't run out!!

Bonnie - Good morning!! I have to say that work doesn't tend to stress me out too much because I'm good at what I do. However, the boss who's a real you-know-what and who doesn't give a crap about my cat, that's what stresses me out. Now when I'm a few minutes late getting an account done, I lie and say it was a computer problem because she couldn't care less that Champ's BG was low and I needed to test and feed a few times. Oh well. I hate to lie, but I don't feel too bad when it's for that reason!! :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

Oops, missed a couple people!!

Ella - I decided to go the door #2 route just because Champ has three reductions in quite succession and then proceeded to need to increase back up to where we are now!! I just need him to work a little harder for the reduction this time so it has a better chance of working this time. And actually, I made sure we didn't feed too much last night because I wanted to see what he did naturally versus having food influenced numbers. He only got a little MC at +4.5 to bring him up out of the 40's and 50's and then nothing until +8 when he was starving and then he only got about 0.5 oz of FF 5%. I feel pretty confident there wasn't much carb action last night. Let's just hope I made the right decision!!

Hi Amy - Yes!! My heart is much happier today!! Seeing Champ walk almost normally does my heart good!! And you and I see eye-to-eye on the dose plan. When he finally earns a reduction by going below 50 three times, I'm going to just shave the dose down!! Let's hope this works!!!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

Patty, do you have a link to the place you buy it from? Maybe I'll try the actual kitty methyl B12. Dunno how soon I'll get it tho, since Canada Post is on strike.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

No doubt you made the right decision...and, the good thing is that - since you monitor Champ so closely -it's easy enough to modify that decision if necessary!

I plan on going the "shaving route" with Trixie, too. I don't care if it takes us who-knows-how-long to get her all the way down (if ever). She hasn't done the greatest job in holding reductions, either (granted a few were unearned due to "Panicky Bean Syndrome"), and I don't want to do anything to jeopardize her progress. Who was it that said "Slow and steady wins the race"??? I couldn't agree more.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

good morning! must suck to have canada post on strike, tracy!

i think champ is looking super! great that you didn't overcarb him - i think the most i had to poke the poor punkin in one day was 18 times - and he and i both thought that was fairly awful. glad you were able to get a decision made about the dose. i think it's a good one, fwiw.


have a super day at work!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +1.5 229

Patty: glad to hear Champ is better!! YAY!!! I think you made a good decision. Hope you get some rest. Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +3 111, +4 70, +5.5 81, +7 119

No rest for the weary!!! I was able to get to a couple condos, but will have to hit up others later. I HATE WORK. I want to be a lady of leisure with a bottomless pit of money. While I'm wishing for the impossible, I'd also like to be three inches taller and have a perfect figure. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +4 70, +5.5 81, +7 119, +9 462!!!!

I'm sending out an SOS!!! Calling all kitties. THROW ME SOME ROPES!!!! I'm afraid of heights and it is realllllly scary up here!!!!! I need to get down now!!!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +4 70, +5.5 81, +7 119, +9 462!!!!

Champ GET DOWN from there.......I know bouncing can be fun, but dude, that's just scary!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +4 70, +5.5 81, +7 119, +9 462!!!!

OMG your 462 gave me goosebumps! Come on down Champ!
the boss who's a real you-know-what and who doesn't give a crap about my cat, that's what stresses me out. Now when I'm a few minutes late getting an account done, I lie and say it was a computer problem because she couldn't care less that Champ's BG was low and I needed to test and feed a few times. Oh well. I hate to lie, but I don't feel too bad when it's for that reason!!

Your boss is a real dingleberry. A little compassion would make this world a better place.
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +4 70, +5.5 81, +7 119, +9 462!!!!

Ropes??? someone needs ropes???? Uhh..... Tess is flying sound up there somewhere in a hot air balloon - watch for her.... In the meantime I gots ropes! I am on my way!! ~~ Mannie

Wow - that is a mighty impressive bounce. Reminds me of Mannie a few moons ago,, Down Champ - OK?

FWIW: on the dose plan - alot of talk here about that. It is what I do with Mannie, or rather did do.... he has to get three below 50's, and then it was only a shave. The only one I faithfully took was when he was below 40 - that was a .25 reduction. Now he's been on the same dose forever and a day.... steady eddie these days... but the same rule applies - only a shave.

Good luck with it all - and I hope Champ decides that red is not his color. :-D
 
Re: 6/30 Champ AMPS 199, +4 70, +5.5 81, +9 462, PMPS 447

Champ, dude, down - NOW! We are satisfied...we know your liver is working just fine. Get back to Liver Training School this instant, young man!

Patty, I hope he comes down nice-n-easy for you.

No real comment on your boss. I'll never be able to understand the lack of compassion. I don't blame you for lying...I'd do the same. Don't worry about being MIA...just take care of yourself and Champ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top