6/30, Binie AMPS 488, +3 360, +6 349

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-29-binie-amps-382-3-314-6-310.291633/#post-3190167

Good afternoon,

what a surprise yesterday evening with that sudden drop! 1.75 IU gave her slightly better numbers than 1.5 IU but nothing extreme happened and I was only feeding low carb so far. So I was quite surprised to see that sudden drop yesterday and that feeding high carb was not enough to stabilize her. That was a bit scary I have to admit.

Maybe it was because the depot finally formed after 8 cycles with 1.75 IU but somehow I still wonder if it has to do with the sudden heat in Germany yesterday. I remember I came about that in the German sister group diabetes-katzen.net where I studied all the information before I came to this group. Maybe that is more a German topic as many cats go outside and most people here don't have AC in their homes. I also found the information for human diabetics, that in the heat the insulin works faster and harder and there is a bigger chance for a hypo. Here is a link in English in case someone is interested:
https://www.diabetes.org.uk/guide-to-diabetes/managing-your-diabetes/hot-weather

I just wonder what to do with that information, as with a depot insulin, I can not adjust the dose to the daily temperature. But maybe it is a reminder to check more often if temperatures are higher. Thank god we had a drastic weather change last night and the next week will be cool and rainy.

I changed her dose to 1.5 IU again and wonder what I will see the next days. Today she is bouncing and flat in pink. I am a bit nervous as in 10 days I will have three days where I have to be away for my work from morning to evening shot and can't watch her during the day. My ex-boyfriend promised me to take some days off and look after her but on friday he told me he will not make it. :banghead: Thank god I have this really nice neigbor who can look after her from time to time but something like yesterday night I wouldn't want to put on her shoulders. At diagnosis I knew it is going to be difficult but I didn't think it would limit our life for such a long time. :(

I wish everyone a relaxed sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-29-binie-amps-382-3-314-6-310.291633/#post-3190167

Good afternoon,

what a surprise yesterday evening with that sudden drop! 1.75 IU gave her slightly better numbers than 1.5 IU but nothing extreme happened and I was only feeding low carb so far. So I was quite surprised to see that sudden drop yesterday and that feeding high carb was not enough to stabilize her. That was a bit scary I have to admit.

Maybe it was because the depot finally formed after 8 cycles with 1.75 IU but somehow I still wonder if it has to do with the sudden heat in Germany yesterday. I remember I came about that in the German sister group diabetes-katzen.net where I studied all the information before I came to this group. Maybe that is more a German topic as many cats go outside and most people here don't have AC in their homes. I also found the information for human diabetics, that in the heat the insulin works faster and harder and there is a bigger chance for a hypo. Here is a link in English in case someone is interested:
https://www.diabetes.org.uk/guide-to-diabetes/managing-your-diabetes/hot-weather

I just wonder what to do with that information, as with a depot insulin, I can not adjust the dose to the daily temperature. But maybe it is a reminder to check more often if temperatures are higher. Thank god we had a drastic weather change last night and the next week will be cool and rainy.

I changed her dose to 1.5 IU again and wonder what I will see the next days. Today she is bouncing and flat in pink. I am a bit nervous as in 10 days I will have three days where I have to be away for my work from morning to evening shot and can't watch her during the day. My ex-boyfriend promised me to take some days off and look after her but on friday he told me he will not make it. :banghead: Thank god I have this really nice neigbor who can look after her from time to time but something like yesterday night I wouldn't want to put on her shoulders. At diagnosis I knew it is going to be difficult but I didn't think it would limit our life for such a long time. :(

I wish everyone a relaxed sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, I’m sorry to hear you are. Having stress over someone to watch Binie in a week or so. I’m glad you have your neighbor who will help you. (Pretty crappy of your ex BF who bailed on his promise to help you out).

I hope the weather stays a bit cooler so it’s not as bad for Binie.

Since she bounced today after the lows last night, just beware of the larger depot still in play for a few days after your reduction.
I think I’m still seeing the same thing with Ivy on day 3 after the reduced dose.

Hope you have a calm night :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, I’m sorry to hear you are. Having stress over someone to watch Binie in a week or so. I’m glad you have your neighbor who will help you. (Pretty crappy of your ex BF who bailed on his promise to help you out).

I hope the weather stays a bit cooler so it’s not as bad for Binie.

Since she bounced today after the lows last night, just beware of the larger depot still in play for a few days after your reduction.
I think I’m still seeing the same thing with Ivy on day 3 after the reduced dose.

Hope you have a calm night :bighug::kiss::bighug:

Hi Staci, yes, my neighbor is really heaven sent. She used to have cats too and she worked as a paramedic so she is not scared to take care of Binie. And yes, I was quite mad on my ex but maybe I should not have counted on him in the first place. Binie really liked him and so I hoped he would do it for her. Hi is a nurse so I thought he also knows how to take care of the situation.

I am glad that there are still some days for the depot to wear off before I have to be away. I just wonder how her numbers will be by then. If they go up again I have to think what to do. Maybe I will try a smaller increase than .25. But I'll see what happens. I learned that dealing with fd is unpredictable sometimes (at least for me).
Tonight she goes down nice and slow, so I hope we have a calm night. At the moment she is outside in her little wooden house, watching the rain. If she can be outside, she is happy and that makes me happy too! Hope Ivy and you have some happy moments today as well! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top