6/30 AMPS Boo 237

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Good Morning all. Hope all was quiet last night in LLand. Boo and I had a nice night of non testing. I'm trying very hard to find what works best for us and our life here together. I have let this protocol literally make me sick. And I think I have stressed her out in the process. There has got to be a happy medium between the vet saying 'Ok, let's try 4 units this week... call me next monday" and my entire life stopping because I can't leave the house for fear of missing a test or low point.

First of all.... THANK YOU. I am getting an education like none other because of you and your experiences. This website is gold. Everyone has been SO helpful. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. From Boo AND me! Marjorie, you are a saint! I owe you about a week's worth of good sleep.

With that said, however, I'm going to have to take a little Vacay from LLand. I have become completely obssessed with numbers and I have forgotten how to love my cat. I am not going to test multiple times a day for now. I just can't do it. I'm going to skinny up her current dose and watch her with my eyeballs more than with my BG monitor. If I see her act strange, which she almost ALWAYS does when there's something wonky, I will test and adjust. But my home just can't be this prison anymore that I dread returning to everyday and then feel obliged to stay in until work the next day.

SOOOOOO..... I know I will be judged harshly for this decision by many of you, and that's your right, and I totally get it. But it's what I have to do in order to find some peace and to take care of my baby and keep her happy as well as safe.

I will continue to support this site monthly, and I encourage others to as well, because without this place, I probably would have killed Boo shooting blind. You all do great work here and you one heck of a nice group of folks. But my OCD self just can't handle the time and pressure of strict protocol.

Thank you all for your patience and encouragement. Boo and I are going have a peaceful holiday weekend getting to know each other again.

Love to all..... And I'll be popping in!
Carla (and Boo)
 
(((Carla))) and (((Boo))) I just want to offer a hug. You've taken in a lot of information the short time you've been here, and it can be so overwhelming. Sometimes we get so involved in wanting to help the cat and to assist the caregiver in helping the cat that we forget we really don't know what other health, life issues the Bean (you) may be having at the time. It's not easy when you are the only one taking care of Boo and have no other help, plus a job, too. Just know that we are here any time of the day/night you need help. You have to do what works best for you in the end, and if this is causing health issus for you, then it's not helping you or the cat. I hope others offer insight, too, in how this can work better for you. Take care, Carla.
 
(((((Carla)))) & (((((Boo))))

I think you and Boo are just about right where Musette & I are at the moment. Wanting to help our fur babies so much that we were doing the exact opposite, just stressing them out. I'm also taking a break from torturing poor little Musette with all the pokes. Both kitties need to feel loved again and not like pin cushions. I know you will do the absolutely what is right for you both, and you have a great holiday and give Boo some scritches from me and my furry zoo.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Carla,

I totally understand where you are coming from and a vacay will probably do you good. I, too, became obsessed when we first started this journey. Now, I just test before each shot and then grab a +2 and +4 at night unless he is acting strange. I do one full curve a weekend and call it good. That has seemed to work really well with us and I hope that you can find that balance for yourself as well.

In the last couple of weeks I have decided that I am not going to stress so much about numbers. A 400 could throw me into a panic attack big time. The important thing to me is that Tarragon feels good and is happy. His fur is back to its fluffy self and he has gained weight so it all seems to be working.

Hope you find your middle ground and that you and Boo have a chance to reconnect instead of you just being the bad guy. I get it. Really I do. Every person has to figure out what they can handle to what end.

Hope you have a great day and a great holiday!

(((((HUGS))))) from us
 
(((Carla))): Thank you for being candid with us. I'm all about "say what you need to say" as long as it is done with kindess and you did.

Each of us must walk our own path with the sugardance. We all have different life situations. The banner at the top of FDMB says "saving diabetic cats since 1996". It doesn't say "saving diabetic cats whose beans only want to do it our way". Yes, most of us follow the TR protocol but we also recognize not everyone can and not every cat will allow alot of testing, when it's needed. I hope that no one here will be judgmental. I am happy you found us, happy you learned as much as you have, and happy that you have made a decision that will improve your and Boo's life as you deal with FD.

We will be here when you need us and I hope you will go on "LL Vacay" knowing that we will always welcome you with open hearts and minds.

Take care, my friend. Good luck with your new job. Give Boo lots of hugs for us. I hope we see you from time to time posting here and I hope Boo will decide she loves canned food so much that she doesn't need insulin.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: from Gracie and me.
 
(((carla))) i understand. please do keep an eye on boo's numbers. it will take around 3-4 days for the effects of the dry food to clear her system. it's possible her dose may have to be reduced sooner than later. if we can help, please let us know. we'll miss you...
 
((((((((((Carla & Boo)))))))))))))),

You really got thrown into the mix and the crash course too boot.

The folks here are saints! And now you know there is a group of people a click away if you should find you have questions or need help or a shoulder to lean on.

We have something here that we like to use and it is called the Whole Cat Report (WCR). I also like to evaluate the 5 P's. Peeing, Pooping, Playing, Preening and Purring. Did my cat do each one of those things at least once today?

You are correct in that sometimes we become very numbers obsessed around here and for a long time we didn't even include in our posts snippets about our lives. And that makes us forget there is a thing called life happening.

:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top