? 6/3 Tucker AMPS: 326, + 6 302 PMPS,: 331

You haven’t hit the breakthrough dose yet. I’d say increase since with TR you can increase every 6 cycles but you need a test after the pmps every cycle which you are not getting.
 
Last edited:
You haven’t hit the breakthrough dose yet. I’d say increase since with TR you can increase every 6 cycjes but you need a test after the pmps every cycle which you are not getting.
We’ve raised him to 2 units because he’s had 2 weeks of numbers mostly in the 300’s and even a stretch in the 400’s, and we’ve read that’s very dangerous and could lead to ketoacidosis? With the increase I’ll be doing extra tests. Our question is what can cause a cat who has been very regulated on a dose for a long period of time to get so unstable? He did this once when he got pancreatitis but he was clearly in pain and not eating (extremely unusual). This morning Tucker was jumping up on my leg like a dog as I as I walked with his food bowl, so I’m guessing that’s not the issue. Except for the high glucose tests he seems normal. (Dr Google didn’t help much, I read an article at 2am that said only 10% of cats survive over 5 years after diagnosis and Tucker is at 6 years 2 months…). He has his 6 month physical with bloods, urine scheduled for next Tuesday with the owner/best vet at the clinic.
 
We only have this year’s spreadsheet to look at. What do you feed him? Max had chronic pancreatitis which I think caused him to become diabetic. How long has Tucker had it? For what ever reason his insulin needs are not being met. How about following TR provided he’s on a low carb wet food and you can test as needed. I only looked at the ss and didn’t catch how long Tucker has been diabetic. Sorry about that.
 
We only have this year’s spreadsheet to look at. What do you feed him? Max had chronic pancreatitis which I think caused him to become diabetic. How long has Tucker had it? For what ever reason his insulin needs are not being met. How about following TR provided he’s on a low carb wet food and you can test as needed. I only looked at the ss and didn’t catch how long Tucker has been diabetic. Sorry about that.
Thank you for the reply. Tucker has been diabetic for 6 years and 2 months. He had one terrible pancreatitis attack 5 years ago and the emergency hospital told us they had never seen a cat so far off the scale recover- but he did. We follow a strictly low carb and low phosphorus wet food diet. We add extra water to every meal. I test at least 3 times a day but our spreadsheet was locked/corrupted so I was just keeping the numbers in a notebook. That was fine when he was stable (for years) on 1 unit twice a day with tests usually in the blues. We are trying to figure out what’s happened to rather suddenly need more insulin. He saw the vet today and his initial urinalysis was good. His specific gravity hasn’t been this good since 2020, pH was 6, no white blood cells or ketones. (He will have his full bloods and annual physical in 6 days, they squeezed him in to make sure his blood pressure was good and he didn’t have a uti.).
 
Back
Top