6/3 Tommy +14.5 232, PMPS 333~.5R

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good morning LL Fam ~O) ~O)
Is there anything more heart wrenching than to spend a half hour opening a condo and hitting the preview button only to escape that window without hitting the submit button.. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Yours truly just did that. So here goes again!
First, I am so sorry that I did not get back on yesterday to update you about Charlie! I should have done so and for that I really do apologize :sad: . I was out of it yesterday and my tank was literally on empty.
I'm not quite back to normal, don't know that will ever happen :-D , but i'm here and i've missed you all so much. I feel awful that I didn't get to condos yesterday, I feel like i've missed out on hearing how my (family) is doing! I will be able to catch up today!
The power of LL prayers, even works for droolers :-D
Charlie is going to be fine, It's just a fatty tumor and in a place that looks worse than it is. She took a sample of the fluid from the area, put it under a scope and showed me the results. It just looks like a clear oily liquid. She said nothing to worry about right now. The reasons he could be having trouble getting up and down, could be (1) because he's 13 and has arthritis or (2) he may have tweaked his hip getting up or twisting funny. We have him on Tramadol BID. She wants me to call back in 3-4 days and let her know how he's doing.
recap from last night:
PMPS~ 477~ .5R 11u
+2.5~ 380
+5~ 256
+10 248

...And Tommy, look at those numbers for today so far. I'm so proud of my boy. He is doing remarkably well. His eyes still look a bit dilated, but he's eating fine, being affectionate and loving. He hasn't thrown up or been wobbly. He just looks like Tommy, only with pretty toofes now :-D :-D
I did shoot an hour late this morning. First time that's happened for me. I rolled over and shut off alarm on my phone and when i woke up it was almost 7am.. ohmygod_smile
Thank you all again for the prayers the other day for Tommy and yesterday for Charlie Bear. I was so relieved to find out that it's just a fatty tumor and nothing more. Plus he also has freshly trimmed nails that make him even more handsome!!

Finally, when you have nothing better to do with your time, I have my Photoshop online albums up and running. There are about 560 or so photographs separated into different albums. I hope that you enjoy them. I have only begun. It will probably take 6-8months to have it just the way i want it, but I really wanted to get this up and going, so for now it is a work in progress.

I am going to step out now and catch up on condos before I go mow the property and bake in the 95 degree day :smile:. Hopefully I will have remembered to hit the "submit" button this time.
Hugs to you all and have a great Friday :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183

Hi guys .. These numbers look fantastic and I love the report on Charlie! A very nice condo to stop in and read! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183, +5 57

All righty then............. Working on putting the breaks on this one.. I just gave him 1tbsp of 24% HC and 1/2tsp of Karo. I'll check again in 30min.. I'm guessing a little too much Lantus this a.m. . I thought this might happen but I didn't think this fast and this far down.. Keep you updated!
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183, +5.25 57, +5.75 74

I agree MJ :shock: :shock: ..
Libby it looks as though he listened.... for now!
I just gave him 1 1/2oz of his normal LC FF and i'll check again in just a bit..
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183, +5.25 57, +5.75 74

Oh my goodness, looks like someone was trying for a dose reduction?

Awesome that Mr. Handsome is feeling better! Sounds like he's a little high?

Have a good day.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133, +7.5 153

I like these numbers for now, so long as he continues to just surf in the blue..
Tracy, a dose reduction sounds wonderful to my ears as well!! We'll see. He did recover nicely today.
I think that Leo is the cutie pie but you already know that ;-)
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133, +7.5 153

Lauren: So glad to hear Charlie is fine and I'm thrilled with Tommy's numbers!!! Hey....we all need a break some time so don't worry about condos. I didn't get to any yesterday and may not until late today. I hope to get the chance to see your photos this weekend....I'm really looking forward to it!! I'm sure they are amazing!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133, +7.5 153

Hi Squirrel, so glad to see your condo and hear the good news about Charlie. I remember my Siamese kitty had one of those lumps with a clear fluid, and it scared me to death thinking it was the c...word. So I can imagine how worried you were at the time. Tommy is really on a roll since his dental. It does look like he wants a dosecrease. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133, +7.5 153

so glad you got good news on Sir Charlie! that's up there for a german shepherd and i was afraid your absence was because of bad news.

and yay tommy! nice numbers today!

yeah, we'll all manage through this. i'm in the information gathering stage now. just call me a hunter gatherer! :lol:
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy AMPS 245,+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133, +7.5 153

My bad for not being there of you yesterday!! Soooo glad Charlie is ok!! All my droolers had those fatty thingys--They were all terriers(except for a Russian wolfhound) and all got those harmless things!
Congrats on the dose crease--57!! You handled it GREAT--Hugs from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

Glad to hear that Charlie is doing well and that it was just a little scare and he is going to be ok. And look at Tommy...wow!! Congrats on the dose decrease.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

I like what I'm seeing here. :smile:

I think a reduction sounds like a good plan. Last time Tommy got a 0.50 reduction he didn't hold it, so we discussed trying smaller reductions next time. That was pre-dental so things could be different now. Also since he hasn't bounced yet, you might want to be conservative and try a 0.5 reduction. You can always increase again if it doesn't work. Up to you. :smile:
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

You all keep freakin me out. Has the terminology changed.? ohmygod_smile . I thought that when you went up it was called a dosecrease and when you went down it was called a dose decrease.. I don't need to be confused any more than I already am @-) @-) . When I start to see long timers around here calling it the wrong thing, I tend to think I'm going batty :shock:.. good news is I know what you mean, so now that i've dribbled on about that, thank you all so very much. I'm not sure what's gonna happen now with tonight's dose given the drop from +9 to +11.. I just don't know what to make of it..

Marje, Thank you also about Charlie, yeah i'm in a much better place in my heart today.
I think all of the photos are amazing, but i'm biased.. Not all of them are great, but I sure hope you enjoy them.
Ann, Julie and Roni, You're all very correct. I was really scared yesterday and i just got drained from worrying about that, Tommy's dental the day before and the serious need for some sleep!
Roni, don't you even apologize for one minute for being absent yesterday, You visit me regularly and i love to hear from you and to visit you and hear about Moonie's day and your special spirit visitor who brings you feathers...Ahhhhhh!! that was a nice memory from one of your condos..
Julie, Hunter Gatherer :lol: :lol: , you so funny. We're gonna be just fine!

Georgia, Yeah, just a little scared. They're my kids and I don't do well when they aren't feeling so good. Thank you for dropping in and the congrats on the decrease..
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

Libby, he is looking very good right now, but i don't know what to make of the hefty drop way past nadir. If i have much more of a drop at preshot i'm sure i'll be holding off. what do you think? No way should i go down to 10u when i do shoot? you think only .5?
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

you can do what feels right to you. You don't really have data yet on how Tommy responds to reductions, so all I can say is try it and see what happens. Everything is fixable if it doesn't work, and it might work!

The late cycle drop is a pattern Tommy has shown often in the past. It's the famous Lantus "double dip" and usually it is ok to shoot double dips. The key is that he already had a nadir in this cycle, went up, and now he is dipping again into preshot.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+3 183,+5.75 74,+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103

Yeah, I agree that he has been known to drop before preshot, I just don't recall one this big.. Since I slept an hour past his morning dose, I won't be shooting until 6:30 cst.. So I still have a bit.. I almost forgot and got ready to test,feed, shoot because my pm alarm went off for him and, well, I was awake for this one.. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103, +12 78

Looks like we're playing the stalling game. I just can't shoot this number right now. I'll hold off on feeding anything and check in 30 and give food then if it drops any more. I was shooting a half hour early tonight to make up for the hour late this morning.. but that's not gonna happen..
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103, +12 78

yep, I would wait.

He is still on pain meds too, and sometimes those can bring numbers down (not necessarily the pain med itself, but the lack of pain).
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+6.25 133,+9 155, +11 103, +12 78

Libby thank you for the input. I'll be testing in just a few minutes and go from there!!
"Holding my tongue" :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+9 155, +11 103, +11.5 78, +12 77 Libby?

I was just wondering if Libby was still out there? I haven't shot yet? and I'll be testing in about 15min.. I'll probably make a decision then as to just skip his shot for the night and go ahead and feed.. @-)
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +11.5 78, +12 77, +12.5 71

Giving him another half hour to come up on his own or no shot tonight! unless I hear other wise.. Any thoughts on that would be appreciated!
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy+9 155, +11 103, +11.5 78, +12 77 Libby?

still here, trying to eat dinner on the couch while being "helped" by four cats. It's not going well. :lol:

Your plan sounds good. Shooting 70s would probably turn into a very long night, and with pain meds on board is probably not a great idea. See you in a few.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +11.5 78, +12 77, +12.5 71Still Stalling!

You're so funny, I'm sorry that I interrupted your dinner along with the kitters.. I sent you a pm but i'm not sure if you got it yet..
He certainly is surfing nicely right now and i'm about to lose some digits real soon if he doesn't get fed :lol: :lol:
Thank you for responding back.. :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +11.5 78, +12 77, +12.5 71Still Stalling!

sometimes skipping isn't a bad thing. You do have R and know how to use it, if you need it later. He might surf for a while, which would ordinarily be a great thing but it's a lot more convenient when they don't do it at shot time.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +11.5 78, +12 77, +12.5 71Still Stalling!

Thanks Libby, sounds like a plan.. I hope you got to enjoy at least some of your supper, kitty free :-D
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +11.5 78, +12 77, +12.5 71Still Stalling!

A tough day in LL. I have you, Julie, Tommy, and Punkin on the brain. A lot of thinking as well. You have your plate full tonight. We'll have to talk soon. Good luck, Lauren
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +12 77, +12.5 71, +13 93 Still Stalling!

Looks like we might shoot after all.. That's a nice rise in a half an hour.. I'll test again at +13.5 and probably go ahead and shoot if he's gone up a bit. Thought's Libby?

Bev, Yeah I've been thinking about you guys also today.. I sure wish Gus's mouth would just hurry up and get better...
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +12 77, +12.5 71, +13 93 Still Stalling!

just thinking of you, i don't have advice but realize that as our doses get bigger we should likely have a higher "no shot" number to avoid dipping our guys too low. i might be more conservative with our new information.

what are you thinking about it?
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +12 77, +12.5 71, +13 93, +13.5 97 NO SHOT!

Well my boy has supper in his belly and I just couldn't give a shot tonight.. Numbers just weren't coming up enough on there own.. I feel good about my decision and i'll just watch him through out the night..

Julie, I'm not quite sure what you mean? I don't really have a problem with Tommy finding the green floor and he responds well to LC when he does. I don't want him going too low, but I know that we all have our own thoughts on that safe number..
I'm going to finally get some supper myself. My husband came home early :-D , so we actually get to have dinner together. It's been a reallllllly long 2 days and i'm pooped.. I'll check back in on you all before i hit the hay..
I hope all of you are having a beautiful Friday ;-)
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +12 77, +12.5 71, +13 93, +13.5 97 NO SHOT!

You have to go with what makes sense to you. You know Tommy best.

The good part of skipping is that you don't have to worry about low numbers. Enjoy your dinner and get caught up on sleep.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +12 77, +12.5 71, +13 93, +13.5 97 NO SHOT!

i think you made a good call, lauren.

i just mean that i suspect the issue about going into the green numbers is directly related to the size of the dose. so you take a large dose, combine with a large shed (because those 2 are related, right?) and then add in the insulin from your cat's pancreas - my thought is that it is the combo that makes it riskier for some cats to get lower numbers than others. So for kitties that get one drop, i've seen people shoot a 55 just this week. but if you have a large dose, large shed, and insulin from a working pancreas, you probably need a higher number that becomes your "no shoot" line. of course your experience & data with tommy figures into that number. does that make sense?
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +13 93, +13.5 97, +14.5 232

Now of course i'm guessing i made a mistake.. i had no idea he would jump that much in an hour.. So I'm wondering if my window to shoot is gone or should I.. :shock:

And Julie, I don't understand much right now, I think my brain is in shutdown with what's going on..
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +13 93, +13.5 97, +14.5 232

wow - what a day fr you! Wonderful numbers too! Skipping I think was a wise choice. Good luck tonight.

Great news about charlie too!

have a great evening!
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +13 93, +13.5 97, +14.5 232

photosquirrel14 said:
Now of course i'm guessing i made a mistake.. i had no idea he would jump that much in an hour.. So I'm wondering if my window to shoot is gone or should I.. :shock:
nope. you didn't make any mistakes. you've collected more data to learn from. this is a good thing! :mrgreen:

if you're not married to your schedule, you could go ahead and shoot now... and then gradually work your shot time back.
 
Re: 6/3 Tommy +13 93, +13.5 97, +14.5 232

for learning purposes, i want to go back to something libby said earlier...

The late cycle drop is a pattern Tommy has shown often in the past. It's the famous Lantus "double dip" and usually it is ok to shoot double dips. The key is that he already had a nadir in this cycle, went up, and now he is dipping again into preshot.

there's a huge difference between shooting a dropping number when kitty is clearing a bounce and sliding into a low preshot number and shooting a "second dip" at the end of the cycle when kitty has already had a discernible nadir. once you see that your kitty is one of those who experiences these "second dips", you'll know you can go ahead and shoot because kitty's numbers will soon be rising... usually before onset.

tonight, the smartest thing to do was stall because tommy is coming off of a dental AND has pain meds on board. your gut was right. no mistakes made!
 
Things can change so quickly for our kitters.. I'm glad i checked when i did.. I went ahead and shot and now I just back the times down a 1/2 a day until we can get back on schedule..
Michelle, thank you for the good wishes and also about Charlie being all right.. I'm very, very happy about that.. I Hope the rest of your evening is great as well.

Jill, thanks again for the confidence boost.. I'm lacking that these days in more areas than i care to discuss.. Thanks for the explanations and why it was a good thing to stall.. I feel so much better now and i'm glad I was able to shoot instead of using just R to get him through.. It's a never ending learning process huh!. Thanks for quoting what Libby said again. That double dip is something he is notorious for and you both pointing it out again, I am coming to understand that so much better now.. Next time I won't be afraid to pull the trigger..
I'm gonna go spend a little more time with DH before we have to hit the hay.. I'm one exhausted puppy!!
Have a great rest of your evening all.. If i'm still awake after DH goes to bed i'm going to try and hop into a few more condos before Ni Ni..
 
Hey Squirrel, you have certainly had quite a day. We are so glad that Charlie is fine. And Tommy is keeping you on your toes. We are all learning a lot from your kitty!!
I can't help you with any of your questions except one, which I don't think anyone answered: a "dosecrease" can be either a dose increase, or a dose decrease. (This always confused me at first, too, but if you look in the LL slang dictionary, you will see the definition.)
Have a good night's sleep tonight. You did great today.
Ni ni,
Ella & Rusty
 
lauren, sorry to be mucking about - i'm thinking out loud, that's all. i don't mean to add to your load!

i always say increase or decrease because i find the 'dosecrease' to be massively confusing! :lol:

good job with tommy - have a nice relaxing evening!
 
Hi Squirrel, sorry, I can't get used to the name, "Lauren". I am just catching up with your condo and good job with Tommy. You really know your cat and went with your gut feeling, and with help from the experts on confirming what you were doing re Tommy; we're all learning from your kitty. You have more to think about with the "R" added into the mixture. I also get confused with "dosecrease" and end up called it decrease or increase just for myself. Hope you're having a good sleep and so happy Charlie is okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top