6/3 MILO AMPS 137 +3 124 +6 103 +10 135 PMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
I'm trying to control my shaking, Miley had a hypo an hour ago, thankfully my daughter was still awake! The weirdest thing is that before I went to bed, I went over the hypo symptoms and treatment with her (just in case) and then 15 minutes later I heard her yelling out to me and he was staggering around in the middle of a hypo. DD had already started administering honey...I know this, because the Ebony Prince was a very sticky ball of fur! But also his numbers rose quickly...oh speaking of numbers Dduhhhh:

PMPS- 104
+1- 79 <--------hypo-ed just after this
+1.25- 77
+1.5- 90
+1.45- 108
+2- 140
+2.25- 135
+2.5- 128

EDIT: Miley had his first lot of home subq's today at AMP +7, I managed to get about 50mls before I panicked and stopped. Milo had a full 100mls given to him at the vet surgery on the 5/31. Added this in case it affected him some how. He had had no subq's prior to the 31st.


In the year Milo has had diabetes, he's only had 2 hypos and both in the last 2 weeks at numbers that are what I would think are too high to even have hypos at (BG 83 on 5/23 and then the one tonight at 79), considering he's had so many other numbers around and even under those. The vet has checked him out and has ruled out other causes, and said since he responds so well to the hypo treatment that it's definitely a hypo and not a stroke or anything like that which would not respond to the honey and high carb food.

I'm so stressed out now, as you can see from Milo's SS, i've spent a lot of night's awake lately monitoring him and it's wearing me done. The rest of my family have work and baby to look after so this is up to me. I also wrote a '911' thread over on the cat health forum in case no one is around over here. I'm lost as to why he has hypos at some numbers and then is fine when they are lower or around the same at other times.

Should I reduce his insulin? I know it's not protocol on tight reg, but he doesn't seem to want to follow the rules of 'under 50', his body seems to stress out on these lower levels. I'm also feeding him a LOT of food, I started free feeding after his CKD diagnoses to get his weight up, so he gets fed around ever 3-5 hours (or when he 'asks'). So so lost at the moment (and also greatly lacking in sleep), looks like another long night. :YMSIGH:


Wishing everyone the brightest and happiest of days...oh and for the sugar babies and civies- long sunny naps and dreams filled with fields of catnip.

Bebe and Milo
 
(((Bebe))) Jeesh, that is scary! DD did well to get the honey in him. And great job on the subq's. :-D That is scary too. Milo is a lucky kitty to have you as his bean.
Liz
 
I feel like a real failure with this, I'm doing what I can and he's still having the odd hypo...I guess I will have to move over to the other Lantus forum, as it seems Milo is unable to follow the tight reg rules. I think if he hit 40ish to reduce his dose it would probably kill him. Thanks everyone here in tight reg for your help, i've really appreciated it and the support!

Bebe and Milo
 
Hi Bebe, what a scary night! I'm glad he's gotten over it so quickly. Good job by your DD.

There are a number of people here who follow the SLGL or Start Low, Go Slow approach, where deductions are done when the cat hits 90. Some SLGS followers still post in this forum, but put something in their signatures so people know what protocol they are following. This board is a bit busier than the Relaxed Forum so you could still post here if you wish.
 
You are not a failure at all!! You're doing a great job. FD is a tough, tough disease and cats are hard to regulate in general, especially compared to dogs and people. So give yourself a lot of credit for taking this on. Keeping Milo in the blues is really good. As Wendy said, you can follow the SLGS approach and post here. We are happy to help you with whatever protocol you think works for Milo.
Liz
 
Thanks for all the posts and support, I have updated my signature and will continue to post here. He's had another low day but i'll post that shortly!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top