6/3 Mikey PMPS 139 +2 104 Darnit...and a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 203
+2 180 First yellow since 4/23 leaves me feeling frustrated. Pretty sure it's a bounce from last night:

6/2 PMPS 110
+1 59
+1.45 47
+2 52
+2.5 53
+3 66
+4 75
+6 139 He got a little gravy at +1 and +1.45, but not enough that it should have effected his BG this morning, so I'm thinking bounce, as he still does that from the 50's sometimes, though not this much in a while. Hopefully he'll come down for tonight.

I wish the protocol was more specific on the 3 numbers below 50. Last time was more than 2 weeks ago, but wondering if I should shave a teeny drop off his dose for a few cycles stating tonight? Thoughts?

We didn't have a condo yesterday, but SS is UTD. Generally, I'm thrilled with his numbers, though I wish we'd ahve a little more progress toward an OTJ trial.

Lots of good thoughts and vines going out today!
 
Re: 6/3 Mikey AMPS 203 +2 180 Boing, darnit...and a questio

did you see Sienne's suggestion in yesterday's condo to try a snack at +9? The preshots are usually the last number to come down. Often when a cat is this close to OTJ we find that giving a little snack at about +9 (when the Lantus is losing its steam and the numbers usually start to rise) will stimulate the pancreas to produce insulin, helping to hold the PS number down.

About a reduction, that's up to you. To me it really doesn't look like he is ready for a reduction yet, until you can get the preshots down. Can you feed differently to prevent the drops?
 
Re: 6/3 Mikey AMPS 203 +2 180 Boing, darnit...and a questio

I missed Sienne's suggestion from Friday-thanks; I will try a little snack around 4 and see what we get tonight. Mikey generally does a double dip, so we'll see what a snack does for him.

I'm not sure how I could feed any differently early to slow the diving. He doesn't always dive, and that huge dive at +1 last night was way weird for him. Right now, he gets 1/2 a 5.5 oz can or a 3 oz can at shot time, then another 1/4 of a 5.5 at both +1 and +2. He nadirs at +3 so I try not to feed after that. If you have other suggestions, I can try something different.
 
Re: 6/3 Mikey AMPS 203 +2 180 Boing, darnit...and a questio

+9 was 158, fed 1/4 of a 5.5 oz can of LC

PMPS 138 So...the snack didn't raise his BG, but I suppose it will take a few days of trying this to see if the lower PS was due to the feeding or to Mikey's tendency to have a second BG drop in the second half of his cycle. I so need an auto feeder; 4AM is going to suck. Maybe I'll find the money tree this week...

+2 104, coming down nicely!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top