? 6/3 Jimmy AMPS 353 how log is NDW

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan G & Jimmy G

Member Since 2017
At this dose Jimmy's numbers are the highest they have been in awhile. It can't be NDW...this is the 5th cycle that number have been consistently over 300+. It seems he was showing better progress at 4.75. Advice? Insight? Other than these high numbers his activity level is good, eating and all ok in the litter box too. A little confused.
 
Hi there Susan, NDW is usually a cycle and lots of times it is cycle 2 after the increase so doubtful the numbers are reflecting NDW.

I read through your comments and looks like Jimmy suffers from constipation. My two cats do also and the pumpkin helps with constipation and diarrhea. I use a tsp a day in 2 meals a day. Constipation can really play havoc on the numbers . But recently I started adding Natural Moves to his meals twice a day. I give him a 1/4 capsule twice a day in his food and it has made a big difference. the poop is a lot moister looking. I get it from PetAlive 1800 683-1235 . They run a buy 2 get 1 free deal all the time.

You are testing enough to catch any low drops so it looks like he hasn't found the right dose yet. Are you checking for ketones? It might be a good idea while he is hanging in these pinks and higher yellows.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Hi Susan and Jimmy, I haven't visited before, so a much belated welcome to LL:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I agree with Bobbie, I don't think this is NDW, the numbers, look about the same on this dose as on the 4.75, and getting some ketone checks in would be advisable. Is there anything else going on with Jimmy?
If he is in discomfort from constipation, as Bobbie says it can play havoc with numbers.

As you are following TR, unless you see blue tonight, I would think of taking him up a dose, tomorrow morning (if you are able to monitor, just in case).
As he is on 5u, you might want to consider taking him up to 5.5, instead of 5.25.

Here's the reasoning for that

If you think in terms of % increases 0.25 increase is a 12.5% increase when your cat is on 2u.
But if your cat is on 5u, a 0.25u increase is only 5% increase in dose.
A 0.5u increase when your cat is at 5 u is a 10% increase in dose.

I would like some others to take a look at the ss and post their thoughts though before.

BTW here's Jimmy's last condo (thread)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-jimmys-amps-284-2-295-5-260.178686/

We usually link the previous days thread in the new condo, it makes it easy to look back through the history, useful when folk are trying to help and perhaps havent visited with you for a few days.
 
Thanks. The pumpkin worked for a few days and then it didn't. Trying a little Miralax today to get things jump started.

I'm up for trying the increase tomorrow at 5.5. That isn't TR protocol but perhaps the bump at this higher dose will help. Any other "high dose" kittehs out there that have bumped up like that successfully?

I thought about posting that last thread but there wasn't anything too insightful to share. The SS basically tells the story.

I did test for ketones a few weeks ago and will go ahead and try to get another one today (and mark on SS).
 
That isn't TR protocol but perhaps the bump at this higher dose will help. Any other "high dose" kittehs out there that have bumped up like that successfully?
It's a modification of TR, that is adopted, as kitty gets into higher doses.

I've messaged some members who have dealt personal experience with dosing at higher doses, so they can give Jimmy's ss a look and make sure I'm not missing anything.

I did test for ketones a few weeks ago and will go ahead and try to get another one today (and mark on SS).
Good idea to keep on top of that, especially if numbers are consistently high, but even more so if they are high you suspect something is up or if Jimmy were to go off his food.
 
It's a modification of TR, that is adopted, as kitty gets into higher doses.

I've messaged some members who have dealt personal experience with dosing at higher doses, so they can give Jimmy's ss a look and make sure I'm not missing anything.


Good idea to keep on top of that, especially if numbers are consistently high, but even more so if they are high you suspect something is up or if Jimmy were to go off his food.
Thanks for your help...I'll keep checking back.
 
I'm up for trying the increase tomorrow at 5.5. That isn't TR protocol but perhaps the bump at this higher dose will help. Any other "high dose" kittehs out there that have bumped up like that successfully?
Yes, we move to 0.5 unit increases (or decreases) when getting up over 5 units in dose. If you are seeing some greens, you might move up by 0.25 unit amounts now, but otherwise 0.5 units increases work best at this point. Good luck with the increase when you do it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top