? 6/3 Black |+9, 55 | Fighting Lows

zerovector

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-3-black-amps-304-wont-eat-before-shot.264118

I'm unsure with how to proceed with his dosing, I'm pretty much in constant fear of him going into hypo. He keeps creeping low 50's with every dose reduction, he's creeped down into the 40s and 30s from his last last reduction in just 6 cycles, and now at 1.25 he's getting too close for comfort.
He didn't eat that much today, but when he did I used the opportunity to give him some high carb to keep him from dipping.

It it unusual for a cat to keep dropping like this? It also seems his highs now are just responses to the lows. I really don't want to take him back to the vet so soon since he's still not over yesterday's visit.
 
He's just getting over doses pretty quickly! It's a good thing, even though it may not seem like it in the moment lol Yes, it happens. Not eating as much makes it a little challenging.

Why are you considering taking him back to vet? The eating issue?

You are correct - he is bouncing from the lows. Very normal, especially in relatively-newly diagnosed cat.

What you're seeing today is a typical bounce breaking cycle - a late nadir, he may even continue to go down towards shot time.

With TR you do wait for a drop below 50. That said - if you need a break, if he doesn't come up by shot time and you're still having trouble getting him to eat, you do have the option to skip or do a one-time reduced dose (I don't see ketones mentioned anywhere, but if he has a history you'll want to avoid skipping if it all possible)
 
He's just getting over doses pretty quickly! It's a good thing, even though it may not seem like it in the moment lol Yes, it happens. Not eating as much makes it a little challenging.

Why are you considering taking him back to vet? The eating issue?

You are correct - he is bouncing from the lows. Very normal, especially in relatively-newly diagnosed cat.

What you're seeing today is a typical bounce breaking cycle - a late nadir, he may even continue to go down towards shot time.

With TR you do wait for a drop below 50. That said - if you need a break, if he doesn't come up by shot time and you're still having trouble getting him to eat, you do have the option to skip or do a one-time reduced dose (I don't see ketones mentioned anywhere, but if he has a history you'll want to avoid skipping if it all possible)

I didn't want to have to take him back re: hypo. Also, there are times when I just can't be here, like when I missed his 30 drop yesterday - I'm usually home by 12, but if work happens I sometimes can't get away. He seems to be over the eating issue as of +7, he's eating again for the 3rd time in an hour. I just don't want to hurt him.
 
also re:ketones, I haven't tested, but he's also never had ketones at the vet even when his BG was bonkers.
 
Do you have an auto feeder? That can be set so he gets food while you are at work, not home, and asleep.
 
His PMPS is 66. I don't know how comfortable I am shooting him in the green like that, when he has tendancy to go 40's when I shoot him in the blue.
 
Back
Top