? 6/29 Tigger 279 AMPS 273 PMPS Vacation dose advice

Breanna H

Member Since 2019
Previous post

Hello all!
Sorry for a possibly lengthy post. I am leaving for a beach house on July 5th (Sunday) to July 11th (Saturday), so just under a week.
My sister usually watches Tigger for me. She usually checks his sugar and gives his insulin and stays at the house the whole time while we are gone. She does work 8 hours during the day. I have an auto feeder for both day and night. However, Tigger has never liked her.
She is rather aggressive with him and he does not respond well to that. I have had her over to "practice" with him multiple times recently since it has been a while since she has watched him and I think it just makes him hate her more. He is a peach for me and my husband and we never have any problems. But she is all I have to watch him. Vet boarding is 70 dollars for 24 hours and I don't think he would handle that stress well and even in home pet sitters are so expensive.
My question is, with his numbers being higher, do you think just feeding and shooting is okay for the time I am away? He even gets mad at her over the shots, where he doesn't even notice them for me. I didn't up to 9u today because I wasn't sure what I should do for dosing while we are gone. I hate to have her just feed and shoot, but honestly the anxiety and the stress it puts on me thinking about her checking his sugar is a lot.
He growls, hisses and tries to wiggle away. It takes her multiple ear pokes to get enough blood (despite my multiple teachings) which makes him more angry and his ear sore. I realize there is that "one time" he could be too low, but I feel like the chances of that happening with his current numbers just isn't really going to happen.
It is an 8 hour car ride and it is not possible for him to come with me like he normally does on weekend trips.
I thought about just having her check him a few times throughout the week to reduce stress. So what do you all think is a safe dose while I am away without checking? Should I lower it while we are away? Should I up to 9u before we go or just continue holding until we get back?
Thank you!!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top