6/29 Rocket AMPS 171 PMPS=? +1.5 198-results from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
praying for all who are having challenges (beans and kitties)....and as always still praying hard for those who are still in mourning....

AMPS 171

i don't know the specifics on the numbers from his lab report...but this is what the vet had to say via email yesterday....i just checked this morning and it is making my morning so far ...fingers crossed i don't jinx it....

Hi there,

Rocket continues to amaze me....his blood tests are looking really quite good! His CBC is fine, liver looks great, thyroid is fine, all his electrolytes are within normal limits and no signs of bladder infection. His blood sugar is mildly elevated but not to the point I am worried. His kidneys remain relatively stable as well with his creatinine at 258 which is pretty consistent with previous values.

So at this point, I would recommend continuing on with his current medication regime. The only question is do we try to reduce his prednisolone to once daily and see if there are any changes. Reasons to consider this would be that long-term steroid usage can be hard on the heart and kidneys (and he already has both heart and kidney issues), and can cause glucose intolerance leading to diabetes (and he is already prone to this). Reasons not to change the dose would be that we don't know exactly what else may be going on in the body and it is possible some of his old symptoms may return. I know you ahd suggested considering a recheck of his abdominal ultrasound and poss chest x-rays. This is definitley something we can do in order to get a better idea on prognosis. However, i am not sure how much it would change our decision.

Please let me know what you think and if you have any questions.

Kind regards,


so far not much food consumed....he woke me up at 4 am! so will be drinking lots of ~O) ~O) at work....pred is in half hr then i head out....will make sure he eats his second breffis....

i believe your prayers and well wishes are keeping Rocket alive! thank you and please whatever you are doing please DON'T STOP....we need your daily prayers....

will visit condos later...i promise....

have a good one....

yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46534
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Good morning! Lots of prayers and healing vines from us for Rocket! Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Claudia I don't think my heart can get any more full after reading your update on Rocket. You must feel like you are walking on sunshine. What an amazing, awesome, wonderful update. Rocket continues to amaze us all. You knew he had it in him and you both showed them. You ROCK Rocket.
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

More prayers and positive thoughts for Rocket and calming vines for you to get thru the day at work. Hugs.
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Claudia - This is a wonderful update on Rocket! The prayers for you two continue, as always...

Amy
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Hi guys, what a wonderful report to read on rocket! I think he amazes us all .. and will continue to keep you in our thoughts and prayers ... have a great day!
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Claudia, my heart is just about leaping out of my chest! Rocket, you are an amazing kitty. But, I think your momma bean is even more amazing. It is to your credit, Claudia, that Rocket is doing so well! You have absolutely made my day!!!

Hope the new job is going well, too!

Big scritches and hugs to Rocket, and prayers will continue...
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

I think Rocket continues to amaze ALL of us.
I am so *so* happy for you both.

MJ&Donovan&Butthead's spirit
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Hi Claudia,
I've been thinking about you and your new job. I hope it is going well and that its not too stressful. I am really happy to read Rocket's vet report! That is just so great! I hope he continues to do well and that you don't have to worry so much.

Sending continued prayers for you and Rocket. Give him a kiss from me, please.
Ele
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Now this was a wonderful report to read, so full of hope and good news.
Continued prayers for your sweet Rocket
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Oh Claudia, this Rocket report just made my day! The boy is doing so well!! (thanks to you--and, of course, to Rocket himself). We are continuing to send our prayers and positive thoughts.

Hugs, many hugs,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. This good report will make it less worrisome for you to go every day to your new job. That's great!
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

My heart is Bursting with Joy for you my friends!!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
Rocket is always in our minds & we know what a great boy he is--Also has a doting, loving, devoted bean & DH bean to keep him going--Love is the bond that keeps Rpcket doing well--
Thank you for such good news--Soooooo Happy!!!! Joyous Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

(((Claudia))): what an AWESOME report and it's all because of what an incredible bean you are!!! Rocket is amazing but he is evidently doing his best for you. I am so happy for this wonderful report and for his progress since last winter when he just stayed in the tub!! WOOOOTTT!!

Hope the job is going well.
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171-results from vet

Oh my goodness, what wonderful news!!! I am just crying here with tears of joy for you and Rocket. I do believe your amazing care of Rocket and all the prayers that are surrounding you and Rocket are definitely helping him remain stable. You certainly deserve great news and I know you must have had a wonderful day, even though you didn't get much sleep. I just am so happy for you!!!
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171 PMPS=?-results from vet

well this really sucks...

i had PLENTY of strips....more than 50....this am for shot time i had to use up 15 of them cause i kept getting an error (lately it's been that way....for those of you who don't know....my mom is a diabetic and so she "gifts" me Rocket's strips and lancets...hence why we use the same type of meter....sooooo she mails them to me....but for whatever reason the last boxes she sent me don't work even though she tested them....her gut feeling is that once it goes thru the postal service it gets scanned and it destroys the coding on them....my thoughts as well.....so i've been using them up faster even though i only test him very little....)

i poked him for pmps time....and nothing....it was not registering....then i poked myself to avoid bruising his ears further....and nothing....so i used up all 51 strips i had left and no PMPS number

i shot blindly....so he got his regular dose of 3.5u....

i changed meters in this whole ordeal....i have 3 meters the same....so i'm off to buy strips and new meter and new batteries for the meter.....i'm not a happy camper....and i assume Rocket isn't either....

he ate very little while i was gone....but ate at +11 so hopefully wherever he was NUMBER wise...he will be ok me shooting blindly....

will test him when i get back :sad:
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171 PMPS=?-results from vet

(((((Claudia, DH, Rocket, and sweet Comet too)))))

I'm sorry about the strips. But the rest of your news is so very exciting. Rocket is doing amazingly well!!! :dizcat . And a new job for you! You guys really were due for good news and good fortune. I am so happy for you!

Scritches to Rocket and Comet.
 
Re: 6/29 Rocket AMPS 171 PMPS=?-results from vet

thank you all for visiting our condo today and wishing us well and i'm happy Rocket is doing ok....though i sent an email to the vet and asked her if she can book us in to go see the IM vet as that is how he would get his ultrasound and xrays...

i was not happy about the strips....but i had to look at him and tell him to be good while i got back to test with a new meter and new strips....

so at +1.5 198 so it's a good thing i did not skip his shot....

pred is now in place too...and more food....he is comfy sleeping....

off to visit condos...

and yes...i believe it is because of all of your prayers and well wishes that Rocket is still here....i am willing and able to help him fight whatever it is....so long as he has GOOD QUALITY OF LIFE....that is what matters...

i strongly believe he is out to prove everyone (the vets) wrong....they all sent him home to be forgotten but he is letting them know he is STILL HERE....
 
Great news on Rocket, but bummer on the strips. I would contact the company. Being sent in the mail shouldn't effect them, most of us have strips mailed all the time. Double check w/ the post office too to see if there is a way to prevent scanning if that does turn out to be the problem.
 
Ann & Tess said:
Great news on Rocket, but bummer on the strips. I would contact the company. Being sent in the mail shouldn't effect them, most of us have strips mailed all the time. Double check w/ the post office too to see if there is a way to prevent scanning if that does turn out to be the problem.
the post office was on strike until today....or yesterday....but i will call them up to find out....it is different boxes with different codes so they can't all be bad from the manufacturer.....see what i mean?....and mom sends them at different times....hence why we wonder on the scanning stuff....
 
Claudia,
Could it be the control solution? I ask, because that's what happened to me about 3 weeks ago. I went through several strips from different stores, and the meter gave strange numbers, so I bought new solution, and that was it! All the strips were good. So, just wanted to mention it. I think the solution is good for 6 months after opening.
 
awesome report from the vet, claudia! you must be thrilled!!! not so thrilled about the strips and error codes, of course, but at least you can replace those.

go pet that sweet rocket for me! cat_pet_icon

ps, punkin has acro, hence the high dose.
 
Hey Rocket - wanted to let you know we are thinking of you & your Mom. We love your white markings on that beautiful grey coat. Sending you hugs & lot's of chin scratches!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top