6/29 Pat's Shadow AMPS=317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
6/28
AMPS=350 ~.75u Lev (4th cycle)
+4=339
+8=308
PMPS=329 ~.75u Lev (5th cycle)
+4=401
+8=330
AMPS=317 ~F.75u Lev (increased dose 1st cycle)

Yesterday
Shadow has 4 Ps today. He ate his breffis after getting his meds....

and Dyana....the script was for half a 4mg tab of Cyproheptadine so that is what I have been giving him.....
Do you suppose that 1/4 a tab would do the trick?
Likewise with the Ondansetron 4 mg tablet....script says one half tablet....

He has been eating consistently and I don't want to mess that up but I will try cutting it in half if you think that might be enough....we could try 1/4 a tablet I suppose.

He met me in the bathroom this morning and seemed like his old self. I ordered Paw Lickin chicken on Ella's recommendation so I hope they like it. I guess Raja had enough to eat since she left the plate unattended and Shadow went back for fresh turkey and the remainder of his breffis after about an hour or so. He cleaned the plates. Love seeing him eat!!!
Hope you all have a great day! Hugs!
 
Hi Pat, I just re-introduced Paw Lickins Chicken to Mags, and she's eating it. Well, she loves the gravy part more than the bulk. :lol: I hope Shawow likes it. Hugs and scritches from us.
 
My prescription for Ondansetron says 1/4 tablet twice daily and my prescription for Cyproheptadine says 1/4 tablet daily. They are both 4mg tablets. I don't know if it's okay to give more. If Shadow's eating that is good. Maybe you can taper off to 1/4 tablets twice daily once he's used to eating well again (I mean in a day or two).
 
This link from Tanya's CRF Site has some information on Ondansetron doses and this link has some information on Cyproheptadine. I don't know if Shadow has kidney problems, but I find a lot of information from browsing Tanya's Site.
 
Hi Pat,
I hope Shadow is doing well today. Paw Lickin' chicken has shreds of chicken, not chunks and not pate. I cut them up a bit more with the edge of the spoon. Rusty loves this food. Sometimes he leaves bits of chicken shreds (he only has 5 teeth), but he does well. And it has good nutritional percentages: about twice as much protein as fat and only 3 % carbs. You can find the percentages on the Weruva website:
http://www.weruva.com/weruva-cat-cuisine-nutrition.php

Have a great weekend.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Pat, in my condo you asked where I buy the Paw Lickin, just in case you don't want to buy a case online. The Paw Lickin Chicken can only be bought in the Ma and Pa smaller stores or pet stores where they only sell the higher end brands, like Merrick, Wellness. I buy mine at PetPeople here, as I can buy just a few cans when needed. Sometimes I don't want a whole case or can't afford it at the time. I bet on their website there might be a place where you could add your zip code and see which stores sell it near you. I like wag.com and also PetFoodDirect for ordering by the case and the convenience of door delivery.
 
Thanks for the input everyone. I really don't like him to be on meds...guess you all feel the same way. but, if they are needed, then there's nothing like 'em!! I might try cutting the half tablets in half. My vet doesn't use either medication so I guess she got the info from some manual when writing the script....
It has worked for him with minimal yowling.
His kidney values were ok in the last blood test....she wanted to be sure of that.
Anyway, he seems okay so now after the initial dosing, maybe we can taper off to 1/4 tab. I will see how he does on that dose for both.
Many thanks to you all!
And my order has already shipped from WAG....so I am looking forward to trying the new food....
(hope they will be equally as happy to try it....if not, we have Roxie downstairs and she is a great sport when it comes to eating!!) Hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top