6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95 +6 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Good morning LL!

Yesterday's Tests

AMPS 93
+5 92
+6 95
+7 93

PMPS 97
+5 110
+6 88

Junior was hysterical this morning and it didn't help that I accidentally sat on his feet. I'm going to give his ears a break today and catch the +6's. Hopefully we can get more data again tomorrow. Also starting to note his mealtimes on his spreadsheet.

I don't think I got enough R&R yesterday so I'm going to try and stay off the boards today. Maybe that'll help the flu run its course faster.

Have a great day everyone and hope your kitties have a great Wednesday!
Bonnie
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110

Poor Junior...but he IS looking good, despite the stress of the pokies.

I hope you're feeling better ASAP!
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110

You mean Junior didn't like being a cushion (and not just a pin cushion)?

I hope you feel better. I think you get some snuggle time with Junior today. It's bound to chase the flu away.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110

Rest up and feel better.
Junior will calm down and forgive you, cats are great that way
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110

Hi guys ... love the numbers junior has been tossing out .. Sorry to hear you are not feeling well, rest up!!
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 Yikes!

Bump

Not feeding him till I hear from y'all.

Edit: Actually, I'm going to retest him to make sure that 48 is right (sorry Junior!)
Edit #2: He's not letting me test a 2nd time.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 Yikes!

Do NOT shoot a 48. I don't even shoot a 48.

This is a "please stall" scenario. I'd also give Junior a tiny bit of LC. In general, the rule is to "feed the 40s."

BTW, Junior just earned a dose reduction.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 Yikes!

THANK YOU SIENNE!

I'll go feed him now. Will try to test him again when he cools off. OMG, I don't know if I'm sweating from my fever or from the 48!
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 +0.5 126

Did you feed HC?

That's one heck of a bump from food. (Or did Junior take a piece out of your arm?)
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 +0.5 126

Ok I just fed him 1 tsp LC at PMPS. His 126 is probably b/c of stress-- he bit me a few times. Can I feed him? I'm guessing more tests are in store for him tonight.

Edit: Yes, he did take a piece of my arm. Could've been the cheesecake I had an hour ago! :lol:
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 PMPS 48 +0.5 126

Bonnie: that scared the carp out of me, too. I thought you shot a 48. When you get a chance, could you pls change it to:
+12 48 +12.5 126

We only use PMPS if we shot. Whew...I'm so glad you did not.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior AMPS 110 +6 70 +12 48 +12.5 126

Go ahead and feed the critter and give him his shot. Just get a +1 and keep an eye on his numbers.

Reduce the dose though. You're now shooting 0.25u.

Marje's right. Your PMPS will be 126.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

Junior is getting more and more irate again so it comes to pokes, I want to make sure I get blood.

Both his ears are pretty bruised up and remember when I poked on it this morning, nothing came out and I did a panic poke on the other ear. Is it ok to poke on the bruised part or will it be tender and anger him more?

He clawed me pretty bad when I poked his paws last week so I'm hesitant to fall back on that.

If I do one poke, should I do the +6? He just ate LC at +3.5 so there may be a food spike.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95 Poking Question

If you use a bit of Neosporin with Pain Relief, you will probably be OK poking where it's bruised. Poking around nadir sounds like a good plan.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

Good to know. Got my HC and Karo ready in case he hits <50.

Thanks again for jumping in earlier tonight Sienne!
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

you know if you slather on that neosporin about 20 minutes before you're going to poke, then wipe off most of it when you're ready to poke, he might be a lot happier. i think it really helps a lot, especially when ya got a poke fest going on!
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

Good to know! I usually put it on 3-5 minutes before. Ok, going to go slather some on him now. Can't stay awake much longer and hope to poke by 1:10am CST.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

bonnie, i was just looking at the drop with his +1 - usually it's up from the preshot number because of food. you might have to really watch the next little while, i would think.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

I think his +1 is more spot on than his PMPS. He was really stressed out at PMPS probably b/c he got poked 3 times within 1/2 hour. Once for the 48, a second time to see if the 48 was accurate, and then the 126 a half hour later which became his new PMPS.

Unfortunately he was still ticked off at +2 and +3 so I couldn't get any readings.

He's been sleeping like a baby so hopefully it'll be easier to poke him now. Time to wake the tiger.
 
Re: 6/29 Junior +12 48 +PMPS 126 +1 95

sorry, i just saw your post - punkin has acro. that's a tumor on the pituitary gland. the tumor is almost always benign, but it produces hormones that cause the need for increasing the insulin. same with the other kitties that have acro - maybe you were traveling when they all got diagnosed. tommy, gus, bogey, punkin - all were diagnosed within 2 weeks, i think. bogey passed away yesterday, but i have read that the acro itself doesn't cut their lifespan short by that much. unfortunately, it does cause them to keep growing and their internal organs growth can be a problem - think enlarged heart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top