6/29 Hoot PMPS 237, +2/220 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
6/28 Condo

AMPS - 263
+2 - 185

JEEEZZEEE!!!!!!! I am getting ready to give Hoot his PMPS shot and the DH emptied the cooler this morning when we got home and put the Lantus in the freezer :shock: :shock: :shock: And I just discovered it :shock: :shock: :shock: So now I can't use it, right??? Poor Hoot, I think that will be the last time we go anywhere grr_red
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

From the sticky on handling Lantus:
In-use and unopened Lantus and Levemir should be stored in the refrigerator between 36 to 46 degrees F (2 to 8 degrees C).
Be careful your refrigerator is not so cold that the insulin freezes. Do NOT use Lantus or Levemir if it has been frozen.
I hope you are using pens and have an extra. :sad:
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

NOt sure if it always damages it or "can" damage it. Was it a whole vial or just one pen?
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

Wendy&Neko said:
From the sticky on handling Lantus:
In-use and unopened Lantus and Levemir should be stored in the refrigerator between 36 to 46 degrees F (2 to 8 degrees C).
Be careful your refrigerator is not so cold that the insulin freezes. Do NOT use Lantus or Levemir if it has been frozen.
I hope you are using pens and have an extra. :sad:

That was the first thing I did was read the sticky :sad: And no, couldn't get lucky enough to be using a pen :-x
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

Oh No I'm so sorry, that Bites (((hugs to Hoot)))
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

Marje and Gracie said:
I would not use it.

I'm going to have to skip his PMPS and his AMPS before I can get anymore Lantus. Man I could just kick myself in the A#$%$*& for even going on this little trip!! Hoot's the poor one who is paying for it grr_red
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

I just called my Vet to see if he had an after hours # and it referred me to the after hours emergency vet. Should I call them, or just wait till his PMPS shot tomorrow?
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot AMPS 263 +2.5/185 Frozen Lantus???

Call the pharmacy where you filled Hoot's script. You may have refills available. Our vet authorized 3 refills. Paws and fingers crossed.
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 215 Frozen Lantus???

Your vet can call in the prescription to a local pharmacy. You do not have to purchase your Lantus at your vet's office. I get my Rx filled at Walgreens.
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Well just another reason I love this board and all the people in it ♥ Jane and Cleo live close to me and Jane filled me a couple of syringes to get me thru till I could get my new bottle of Lantus tomorrow flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat I know you're not supposed to pre fill them but desperate times call for desperate measures!! And at least Hoot won't have to skip 2 more shots :sad: That would not have been good :sad: I do have refills on my script, but Walgreens pharmacy was closed till tomorrow. Thanks everyone for all the advice again! Hoot is actually doing good and VERY glad to be home. He was such a good boy. He didn't eat much, just his chx snacks. He is drinking water today, which he doesn't ever do. I hope I can get him back on track, poor guy!! And Jane, I can't thank you enough for being there for me :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Please know I will be there for you if you ever need anything, don't hesitate to ask ♥
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, yay!!
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

I'm so sorry this trip was stressful. I was hoping it would've been a good experience for you guys and Hoot.
I'm sure Hoot will be back on track in no time, especially now that you're all home.
Enjoy your evening! :-D
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

That was very generous!! The people here are wonderful.

Just a thought... Is there a 24 hour Walgreens near you? If so and if the pharmacy is open, they can fill the prescription. The stores are electronically linked.
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Sienne and Gabby said:
That was very generous!! The people here are wonderful.

Just a thought... Is there a 24 hour Walgreens near you? If so and if the pharmacy is open, they can fill the prescription. The stores are electronically linked.

I thought of that too, but I'm not sure where one is, but you can bet I will find one now nailbite_smile Have a great night and thanks again :-D
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Pam --

Since you're going to have to replace your insulin, you might want to think about asking the vet to call in an Rx for the Lantus Solostar pens. If you mess up one syringe, you have more left! This is a link to a coupon for the pens. When you fill this out, don't say it's for a cat. Indicate you don't have insurance and that the coupon is for someone over 18yo.
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

I think the most awesome and generous people in the world are right here in LL.

Jane...you ROCK!!!!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Pam --

Since you're going to have to replace your insulin, you might want to think about asking the vet to call in an Rx for the Lantus Solostar pens. If you mess up one syringe, you have more left! This is a link to a coupon for the pens. When you fill this out, don't say it's for a cat. Indicate you don't have insurance and that the coupon is for someone over 18yo.

So don't even use the bottle and syringes, just the pens?
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

No, hold on to the syringes. You'll use those with the pens as well.
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Pam, You are very welcome. It was absolutely no trouble at all. :-D

To use the Lantus Pens, you will need a RX from the vet (they can call it in). You do use a syringe to draw the insulin out of pen and inject as usual. I know the local Targets will sell one pen at a time. Not sure about Walgreens. It is definitely worth the time to get the coupon.

I bet Hoot is thrilled to be home!!

Jane
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Cleo & Jane said:
Pam, You are very welcome. It was absolutely no trouble at all. :-D

To use the Lantus Pens, you will need a RX from the vet (they can call it in). You do use a syringe to draw the insulin out of pen and inject as usual. I know the local Targets will sell one pen at a time. Not sure about Walgreens. It is definitely worth the time to get the coupon.

I bet Hoot is thrilled to be home!!

Jane

Yes he is :-D :-D He's on my bed waiting for me to get there so we can get a good nights sleep tonight! I-) I just tried to print out the coupon but it wouldn't print. Think it might be my computer :roll: So I wrote all the #'s down from the coupon. I'll call my vet tomorrow and have him order the pen for me instead of the vile. Is there any special way he should order them?? Sorry, I just never used the pens before, but after today, I definitely will $$$. Thanks again Jane and have a good night :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

Carl & Bob said:
No, hold on to the syringes. You'll use those with the pens as well.

Oh, ok, it's all new to me @-) :lol: Thanks Carl :smile:
 
Re: 6/29 Hoot PMPS 237 THANKS JANE!!!!!!!!!!!

The Rx should be for Lantus Solostar pens 5 x 3ml. (That specifies 5 pens that are 3 ml each.) There are 5 pens in a box. It will be more expensive since you're getting a total of 15ml and a vial is 10 ml. If your vet is unsure how to write the Rx, have the vet either look on the Lantus website or speak directly to your pharmacist.
 
the smaller mom and pop pharmacies are the ones willing to sell you one pen at a time. You have to call around and ask.
I have one that I paid $50 for in the fridge. I think that's higher than the others have paid but the freedom to get one when you think you don't need a large quantity is helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top