6/29 AMPS 317 PMPS 128? need advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Joey

Member Since 2011
Hi Joey is at 128 Since he's been diagnosed this is the lowest number I've seen. I even used 2 strips to make sure it was accurate. He just ate about 3 oz of food, not as hungry the past 2 days. He is up and about more today. Acting more like himself. I'm supposed to have given him his shot at 6 PM, but I'm afraid to. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reading
Tara & Joey
 
Hi I was supposed to give him his shot at 6 but didn't. I fed him and just tested him again. He's up to 202. Not sure what to do. nailbite_smile
 
if you give his shot now, can you still shoot 12 hours from now tomorrow? Or do you have to leave for work at a certain time?
 
Giving a late shot is like a dose reduction. I see you are feeding low carb. wellness too.

Joey's rise may be partly do to food, we normally don't feed if we stall. We wait to see the actual rise as the insulin wears off. Joey's rise is pretty strong. Can you test again in 15 minutes and offer him no more food?

Plus with a late shot this evening are you able to shoot at say 6:45am tomorrow? We can only move the shot back by 15 min. per shot or 30 minutes once a day to get you back to your original shot time.
 
You were smart to post but if you are stalling, please don't feed for the very reason you are seeing now. We don't know if the 202 is a food spike (most likely) or if he was coming up anyway. You don't want to shoot a food spike because if he was dropping when you got his +12, then he might continue to drop when the food spike wears off.

If it were me, and others may have other suggestions as there are different ways to handle it, I'd probably not shoot this number; I'd retest in 30 minutes and see what he's doing. How long can you continue to stall and still be able to shoot in the morning and get a test before you leave?

When we stall, we can't just go back and shoot at our regular time the next cycle unless you stall 30 mins or less. You have to gradually get back to it in either a 15 min segment in the a.m. and again in the p.m. or a 30 min segment in the p.m.
 
Tara:

If you are 45 min. off of your usual shot schedule, can you shoot now or will you be unable to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight?

Not knowing Joey, it's hard to know if his numbers would jump up this much as a result of food. It seems like a big rise, at least to me, from food alone.

Also, do you have extra strips and high carb food in the house in case is should be needed?
 
ughhh I didnt know about not giving him the food, but it definitely makes sense. I usually leave for work at 730 AM, but will be late if I have to. I pulled his food and will retest again in 30 min. I will keep you posted. Thanks so much!!!!!
 
It is OK...most of us have made this error of feeding and then thinking we should have stalled...

Iti is oK, we all get through it.

I agree with Sienne the rise is pretty strong and if it were me I'd shoot. But, we also must do what we're comfortable with and what we're prepared to handle.

As Marj points out having extra test strips on hand and some high carb foods for the evening may be helpful.

In my first post to you I linked a helpful guideline you may wish to review for the next time. There are numerous choices and decisions in regards to low numbers and "when to shoot."
 
Tara: as I said, there are different ways to approach this. Beth and I are giving you similar advice but please read Libby and Sienne's posts. They are some of our most experienced folks.
 
Ok here we go

At 5:30 he was 128 (thats when he ate 3 oz of food)
At 645 he was at 202
At 730 he's at 288

He's rising fast, I really wish I didnt give him that food :(

If I do shoot, what would the suggested dose be? he's been on 2.25 units twice daily.
 
You're good to give your usual dose. Joey's numbers are rising. Remember, Lantus onset isn't for a couple of hours. You can also give him the rest of his dinner. You may want to get a +1 and a +2 (although think a +2 by itself will be fine).
 
If you go back to Blue's (Beth) earlier post, she linked a post about what to do when you get a low pre-shot number. What I think is important, is that aside from not feeding when you're stalling, you want to test about every 30 min. When you see a substantial rise, that's when it's fine to shoot. The less you delay, the less effect it has on the shed.
 
Hi Tara: It's great that Sienne was able to get back to you with great info.

As Beth said, we all have made errors. It's not always cut and dried as to what to do so the bottom line is that you have to do what you are comfortable with that keeps Joey safe.

Good job tonight!!! Hope he comes back down when his lantus kicks in.
 
One other suggestion...

Remember to put Joey's name in your subject line.

Since you shot when Joey's numbers were at 288, that's your PMPS. The other number was his +13.25 (an hour and 15 min. past your PMPS or +12). You'll need to pt the other numbers in the comments section of your SS or you can look at how I add numbers into the cells on Gabby's SS. (You will need to change the colors manually.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top