6/28 Taz, AMPS-132, +3-73, +3.5-71, +4-78, +5-93, PMPS- 135, +2-131

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
Ah Taz, you're killing me here. He was high last night and went higher at his +1, so I decide to give us both a night off. We both desperately needed the sleep. Woke up this morning and he was 132. Didn't see that one coming and now I wish I would have gotten up to take a test or two. I still can't figure out if he's nadiring at +3, 4, or 5 now.

I have a question. He's going to the vet's tomorrow and has to be there at 8:45. The vet is 40-45 minutes from us. Taz eats and gets insulin at 8:25 every morning, so I'm pretty sure I'll have to give it an hour early tomorrow. We'll be leaving the house around 7:45. I've given him insulin an hour late a couple of times and worked my way back to normal by 15 minute increments. But I didn't realize that this appointment will affect his schedule tomorrow until just a little bit ago. The only thing i can think to do, is to give him insulin 30 minutes early tonight, then another 30 minutes early tomorrow morning?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-27-taz-amps-185.265125/
 
We suggest 30 early only every 24 hours. What about bringing the insulin with you and giving it at the vet’s office? Giving early tomorrow and in the morning jive night before can act like a dose increase. Sone cats are lower at the vet and others higher.
 
Last edited:
We suggest 30 early only every 24 hours. What about bribing us the insulin with you and giving it at tge vet’s office? Giving early Toni and in the morning can act like a dose increase. Sone data are lower at the vet and others higher.
That's what I figured. I think I'll try to feed him at 7:40 and give him insulin at 7:50 as we're walking out the door. Hopefully that still gives us enough time to get there with a little time to spare. I drive slower when he's in the car with me sho I try to leave earlier than I normally would.
 
Lots of typos in my last post. Please read again. :p
I have a question. Taz is at 73 at his +3. Do I give MC or let him ride this out/monitor? We use Alphatrak, so need to see a 68 to reduce.
 
Last edited:
It may not be necessary to give the mc as he is pretty close to nadir and you dont want to spike him. Try a tsp LC and test in 30. If he is any lower then we can bump him with some mc
 
It may not be necessary to give the mc as he is pretty close to nadir and you dont want to spike him. Try a tsp LC and test in 30. If he is any lower then we can bump him with some mc
Thank you for responding. I've been holding off because I was scared of giving him a big bump. I did give him a little LC at each test though. If it was at night time, I would have given a little MC just because all of the vet's are closed except for the emergency one 45 miles away. But I'm able to monitor him more easily right now than if I was half asleep. He's only been this low one other time, so I'm kind of curious how he handles these lower numbers (continues to drop, surf's, etc.).
 
Last edited:
Thank you for responding. I've been holding off because I was scared of giving him a big bump. I did give him a little LC at each test though. If it was at night time, I would have given a little MC just because all of the vet's are closed except for the emergency one 45 miles away. But I'm been able to monitor him more easily right now than if I was half asleep. He's only been this low one other time, so I'm kind of curious how he handles these lower numbers (continues to drop, surf's, etc.).
Hopefully the LC will help him surf. Be prepared for a bounce though. He did drop kind of fast. And he isnt used to the lower numbers yet.

Get a test 30 mins after last test

This is awesome that he made it there though tr looks good on you Taz :bighug::bighug:
 
78 is too close to 71/73 to call it rising just yet.

I like Elise's idea of taking insulin with you, and giving injection either on the road (pull over part way) or at the parking lot. Given how low he's going on this dose, not sure you want that early a shot. I've done shots on highway pullovers or exit ramps, ferry line up, or even on the ferry.
 
78 is too close to 71/73 to call it rising just yet.

I like Elise's idea of taking insulin with you, and giving injection either on the road (pull over part way) or at the parking lot. Given how low he's going on this dose, not sure you want that early a shot. I've done shots on highway pullovers or exit ramps, ferry line up, or even on the ferry.

I thought about this, or doing it in the bathroom at the vet's, but my fear is that he will be too scared to eat anything. I won't be in a room at the vet's with him tomorrow, as he's being fit in between patients and they only have two rooms available. They'll take him into the back to be checked by the vet as he's passing by. I don't think they'd give him his shot, not to mention the vet doesn't know he's on this high of a dose yet (3 units). The vet thinks he's still getting 1 unit. I absolutely dread telling him tomorrow.
 
How long will he be at the vet's? Sounds like it might be undetermined. You have some time after the shot and before onset. I guess I was lucky that my cat would eat almost anywhere. Plus being in the car with me was more relaxing for her than being in the vet's office in a strange room.
 
I think I'm going to leave my house at 8. If so, then I can give it to him right before we go. That will be about 20-25 minutes earlier than normal. That should be ok, right? I'm not sure how long we'll be there. I'm hoping not long, but since we don't technically have an appointment and are being squeezed in, it could be a while.

Taz hates the carrier and going anywhere that isn't home. We once had to go stay with my mom for three days and he refused to come out from under our bed the entire time, except to eat, drink, and potty, but then he went right back under. The vet said it's probably a good thing to give him a bit of gabapentin before bringing him in because of how scared he gets. :(
 
Back
Top