sueandsamwise
Member Since 2010
AMPS 172 .5U dancing_cat Hope this is not a bounce.
PMPS 238 .75U
+13.5 173
PMPS 238 .75U
+13.5 173
Thank you for all the advice. I will start doing the PM tests. It's hard for me to get them with people coming over to the house at odd hours, Sam runs outside and hides. But, no excuses, I promise to at least get one test in before bed. I am still not sure of this insulin, it's so different from the Pzi. I'd hate to put Sammy into hypo, that terrifies me. I had forgotten about the shed too. I need to read the stickies again and print them out and put them in the bathroom where I can access them before a shot.
Sam does have access to a high carb food at night. He wakes me @ around 5 for a meal too. He also has a diabetic tag on his collar with our #. We live out in the country and really have no close neighbors, everyone works in the day but my BIL. He keeps an eye out for cats.
Sue I am not sure if I have posted in your condo but I have been following along.Joanna & Bix (GA) said:Just for a little background for anyone helping Sue, when Samwise was on PZI he was really stuck in high numbers for ages and he only started getting good numbers regularly when Sue started shooting more aggressively. And then whenever she would try to reduce the dose even a little, he would go higher and stay there. So in contrast to most beans I've seen who are often pretty scared of green numbers, Sue is more scared of undershooting and getting stuck up in high numbers. At least that's how it's seemed to me.
If I am on target Sue, I don't think you need to have that same fear anymore. That was some rebound going on that you aren't seeing now, and it's a different insulin. He's responding really well and on a low dose, and so you know you can get good numbers for him. So I don't think there's that same pressing need that I think you felt before to really stay right on top of the numbers and not allow him any room to go higher.
Miriam and Putty said:Joanna....that is nice of you to clarify for Sue but as far as not seeing rebound from higher numbers that seems to be what is happening......those higher numbers are most likely a bounce from Samwise going very low. What Sue should fear is that fact that she has no idea how low those numbers are.