6/28 Samwise 172 pmps 238

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/28 Samwise 172

hi sue - i'm glad to see a condo from you. i've been hoping your DH was out of danger. is he still in the hospital - for how long? how are you managing with the broken leg?

it must be tough trying to make the switch from PZI to lantus - lots of differences. those stickies really do help - i reread them regularly.

hugs, julie
 
Re: 6/28 Samwise 172

oh hi,
hey, you mentioned in previous condo:

Thank you for all the advice. I will start doing the PM tests. It's hard for me to get them with people coming over to the house at odd hours, Sam runs outside and hides. But, no excuses, I promise to at least get one test in before bed. I am still not sure of this insulin, it's so different from the Pzi. I'd hate to put Sammy into hypo, that terrifies me. I had forgotten about the shed too. I need to read the stickies again and print them out and put them in the bathroom where I can access them before a shot.

Sam does have access to a high carb food at night. He wakes me @ around 5 for a meal too. He also has a diabetic tag on his collar with our #. We live out in the country and really have no close neighbors, everyone works in the day but my BIL. He keeps an eye out for cats.

(in bold) when he wakes you up, THAT is a perfect opportunity for a quick spotcheck, splash some water on your face and poke him!
every little bit helps Sue.
It's just really hard to suggest much more - whats going on? is it a bounce? well, hard to say, you know what I mean?
Lantus Land is a data happy forum, thats not to say you have to test like a madbean (no names) but every little bit, one or two checks will help alot, and that is how we learn what's going on in each cycle, and how to proceed.

I'm glad to know thou, Samwise has a kitty tag on his collar. Good!
Take good care of yourself Sue, speedy recovery for both you and DH.
 
DH still in hospital but out of ICU as of Monday. He is now on a progressive care floor. Less expense but we can't pay it anyway as he's got no insurance, his medicare doesn't start until July 1st so I am worried about our home, though I know they can't take it, it still makes me nervous.

The leg still feels weird and I'm still on the painkillers. It's hard to wake up in the mornings and get moving. I tend to do things in a daze. @-) I did go back to work Monday. Had to. But, this is not permanent, happily! Thank you all for the encouragement. I am trying to get in more tests, I would have done another last night but Sam has found a new hiding place and I haven't located it yet. It's hard to dig a cat out from behind the couch when you can't stand or use both hands. :YMSIGH:
 
(((((Sue))))) :YMHUG:

I don't know Lantus, but I would think maybe just keep the dose at the 0.5 level with so much else going on? Stab in the dark though, so don't listen to me!!!!

Just for a little background for anyone helping Sue, when Samwise was on PZI he was really stuck in high numbers for ages and he only started getting good numbers regularly when Sue started shooting more aggressively. And then whenever she would try to reduce the dose even a little, he would go higher and stay there. So in contrast to most beans I've seen who are often pretty scared of green numbers, Sue is more scared of undershooting and getting stuck up in high numbers. At least that's how it's seemed to me.

Hope you don't mind my speaking for you Sue. :-D

If I am on target Sue, I don't think you need to have that same fear anymore. That was some rebound going on that you aren't seeing now, and it's a different insulin. He's responding really well and on a low dose, and so you know you can get good numbers for him. So I don't think there's that same pressing need that I think you felt before to really stay right on top of the numbers and not allow him any room to go higher.

Well anyway, back to PZ Island! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks JOANNA WHAt IS UP with the capitals? Shift button was stuck. I am scared of getting more high numbers out of him but now he's going low!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Just for a little background for anyone helping Sue, when Samwise was on PZI he was really stuck in high numbers for ages and he only started getting good numbers regularly when Sue started shooting more aggressively. And then whenever she would try to reduce the dose even a little, he would go higher and stay there. So in contrast to most beans I've seen who are often pretty scared of green numbers, Sue is more scared of undershooting and getting stuck up in high numbers. At least that's how it's seemed to me.

If I am on target Sue, I don't think you need to have that same fear anymore. That was some rebound going on that you aren't seeing now, and it's a different insulin. He's responding really well and on a low dose, and so you know you can get good numbers for him. So I don't think there's that same pressing need that I think you felt before to really stay right on top of the numbers and not allow him any room to go higher.
Sue I am not sure if I have posted in your condo but I have been following along.
I realize you have a lot on your plate with DH in the hospital and your broken foot, taking painkillers etc. It sounds pretty tough for you right now. I hope DH is feeling better and you are able to get around.

Now for Samwise.....high numbers are certainly not desirable but he is much safer in higher numbers than lower ones especially when you have no idea how low he is going. I know you said you have a hard time getting him at night.....is there any way to keep him in the room with you so you don't have to go looking for him to test?

Joanna....that is nice of you to clarify for Sue but as far as not seeing rebound from higher numbers that seems to be what is happening......those higher numbers are most likely a bounce from Samwise going very low. What Sue should fear is that fact that she has no idea how low those numbers are.

I really feel for you Sue because it sounds like life has you struggling but we are all here to try to help you keep Samwise safe....I am sure with so much going on you certainly don't want to worry about him any more than you already do.

So please, please for safety sake could you really make an effort to at least get one test at night before you go to bed.
 
Miriam and Putty said:
Joanna....that is nice of you to clarify for Sue but as far as not seeing rebound from higher numbers that seems to be what is happening......those higher numbers are most likely a bounce from Samwise going very low. What Sue should fear is that fact that she has no idea how low those numbers are.

My bad! I was thinking of the chronic rebound pattern he seemed to be in on PZI. Not meaning there's no rebound at all any more, just didn't say it clearly. Thanks for clarifying!
 
Just a little example of what I am talking about.
Putty's numbers today.

AMPS 369
+3 328
+8 191
PMPS 234
+3 210
+6 75

I can tell you with certainty that Putty will have high AMPS again in the morning because he is a bouncer. If I had not tested him I would not have known that at +6 he was 75 which is quite a drop from the 210. If I had not tested him I would have assumed he needed a dose increase which as you can see is not the case. That is why it is important to get some spot checks at night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top