?6/28: Morgaine's AMPS 188,+2 166,+6 176,PMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
From yesterday:
Morgaine's first day

Good day all!

Morgaine continues to remain pretty flat. Her AMPS was 188 so I fed her and dosed at .50 and we are off and running.

Feeling a bit better about all of this as I get into the routine and review all the advice etc. I now have my hypo kit just in case.

She was a little difficult to test this AM because she is so used to getting her food right away but I convinced her she had no choice and she reluctantly agreed. I am sure she will get the habit down quickly. Her current food is 10% carbs. She wouldn't eat the lower carb flavor so I tried the FF Roasted Chicken with a very nice lower fat ratio and she loved it. I prefer a lower carb diet but she has to eat to get insulin and she has to eat low fat too so I guess, if it does effect her numbers we will have to adjust the insulin for now. My vet feels we MUST lower her triglycerides as a priority and BTW, she is thrilled I have started insulin. Her recommendation was exactly .50u bid. Nice that she is in agreement.

Where do most of you inject? I have found that if I dose her while she is eating she has no clue although today she growled but I think it was because she was eating not because it hurt. I have been getting a nice pinch of skin on her side, above her belly and have been successful with that.
 
Re: Morgaine's AMPS 188

Hi Rosalie,

Glad to hear you and Morgaine are getting in the groove. So that your condo doesnn't get lost in the crowd here, please edit your title to start with the current date, for example "06/28 - Morgaine's AMPS 188"

Glad to hear you have your hypo kit!

I would shoot BK in his scruff, immediately after putting his shot time food bowl in front of him and as fast I could. It was the only way. Occasionally I got a growl and I too felt like it was because he was eating, not that I hurt him.

Keep up the good work!
 
Re: 6/28: Morgaine's AMPS 188,+2 166

Things seem so much more manageable today. I am testing a little less and will see how things go.

Also, I spoke, at length, to my vet. She really is pretty much on board with what i am doing. I think she generally is concerned about people who might not want to take the time for all the home testing so she keeps those cats within a different range to keep them safe. She is familiar with the Queensland study and supports their finding and now realizes I am capable of knowing not to shoot insulin into my cat if she is really low and wait and see where her numbers go. So, that too, is a great relief as it is important to have a vet to rely on in times of need. Her goals are to keep the cat in the range of 80-120 (alpha track numbers)ideally with home testing and to hope for remission. Sounds right to me.
 
Re: 6/28: Morgaine's AMPS 188,+2 166,+6 176,PMPS 166

Another day with good results for Morgaine, so far. She remains on a flat curve and I am doing much better.

I have been reading about the shed and understand that Morgaine may not have a drop in numbers for several days due to this. I didn't really understand that but now I do and it makes sense now. so, the .5 may still be the best dose since she is not that high to begin with. My next task is to get the nadir and I am specualtin gthat I may not really know that until the shed is full. Is that right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top