6/28 Kit AMPS 78, PMPS 60, +0.5 64, +1 58, +1.5 63, +2 62, +4 83, +6 97

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

The other day I said a morning dive to limes would be nice. I was not entirely correct. It means waking up and not sleeping a couple more hours instead of staying up and not sleeping a couple more hours. *insert vague gesturing that emoticons just can't convey*

Also, as someone in the Wisconsin, I hope folks in the states affected by the wildfire smoke are staying safe. It's gross out there.
 
Good catch today! Even if it did mean you lose sleep.

Fire smoke is gross. Don't have any where I live now, but seems like almost every year at some point it shows up. Stay safe.
 
I figured with her low preshot that I should be getting a +1 and +2, and at the +2 I accepted I needed to be awake and not rely on sleeping/waking to alarm/sleeping/etc.

A question as she potentially starts to get to lower preshot numbers. I know the reduction point is under 40, but what is the no shot number. Is it also under 40? When she's in the 40-50 range I'm usually feeding her high carb to get her moving upwards. I know that for lower numbers I should stall and see if she rises, but I don't what my cut off for "now you should stall is". My lowest preshot to date is 68, I think? Just wanted to check as I couldn't find it. Thanks!
 
She went up to 60 after 20 minutes, so I decided to go ahead and shoot. I have all the stuff, and am able to monitor as I have nothing until 2 pm. I'll be testing a bit more frequently during the first few hours to make sure she doesn't go to low.
 
Clarifying question - when you say only feed LC if in the 40's, do you mean if that happens at preshot? During the cycle itself I should still feed MC or HC, correct? Thanks so much! Your help is greatly appreciated!
 
From here:
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
Back
Top