? 6/28 King AMPS 84, +3 74 PMPS 104

yesterday I took King for urine culture. the vet did not culture him and injected him with baytril. today we went to a new vet and he told me to do a culture but because he injected baytril yesterday it might not come out right. we will see the results on monday and if they are not correct we will re-cultivate on wednesday. until then King will be without antibiotics because we don't know if he has a UTI or not. today our numbers are blue not green. maybe because he has a urinary tract infection and his blood sugar is rising. I can't give him an antibiotic until we see if the culture is correct. that means many days without antibiotics. :-( if the sugar increases, should I increase the dose?
 
Last edited:
If you start to see mid to higher blues, you could probably increase, but I'd hold for now as they are just low blues.

Out of curiosity, at what point in the cycles are you feeding King?
 
If you start to see mid to higher blues, you could probably increase, but I'd hold for now as they are just low blues.

Out of curiosity, at what point in the cycles are you feeding King?
the king eats a little and many times. he definitely eats after the injection and after a little over 2 hours until +6
 
With the size of dose that King is on, his pancreas is clearing sputtering back to life. You may find it's helpful to feed him a small snack (a few tsps of LC food) around +8 or +9. That can kick in the pancreas and bring those blue preshots down to green. Note, this is a suggestion only for kitties on very low doses of insulin.
 
With the size of dose that King is on, his pancreas is clearing sputtering back to life. You may find it's helpful to feed him a small snack (a few tsps of LC food) around +8 or +9. That can kick in the pancreas and bring those blue preshots down to green. Note, this is a suggestion only for kitties on very low doses of insulin.

I inject King 9:30-21:30. I stay with him until 4 in the morning. at +8 +9 I usually sleep. but at noon I can do it
 
Back
Top