6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +4.5(199) +6.5(176) +10(216)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
6/27 Hershey

HAPPY FURSDAY!!!!

Looking forward to hearing a good report from Doug appointment this morning.

All is well with Hershey. He and Oreo have been wrestling more the last few days. Last night, I caught them grooming each other, of course, Hershey stopped when he saw us looking. :roll: He's eating well, rarely drinking, using the LB.

I do have a question. I see some people give Miralax to their kitties. Did the vet tell you to do that or what made you start? Hershey's stools are tootsie roll consistency and hard. Not like uber hard, but I don't usually catch him going (so maybe it's been a while) and he won't cover them up (so maybe that contributes to what I see). I just don't want him to need assistance and me miss it.

After PM +10 (261), Hershey presented AMPS (269) +12 - Shot .5u at 7:00am. Maybe he'll get used to the yellows, then not be scared by the blues I hope to see in his future?

I hope y'all are having a wonderful day filled with awesome numbers!

Libby ((& Hershey, too!)

+4.5 (185)
+6 (124)
+9 (80)

PMPS (118) +12 - Shot .75 at 7:05pm
+1 (192)
+2 (221)
+4.5 (199)
+6.5 (176)
+10 (216)
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269)

The liver does need retraining to recognise what normal numbers are, it gets used to higher numbers and gets frightened by lower numbers when they've been high for a while and then likes to flex it's muscles It's nice to know the liver is functioning well, but it's even nicer when it gets retrained!

Do you mix some water in with the wet food? If he doesn't have a big problem that may be all he needs and it's also good for the kidneys and a general system flush :smile:
 

Attachments

  • liver_cartoon_-flexing-muscles.jpg
    liver_cartoon_-flexing-muscles.jpg
    10.7 KB · Views: 1,358
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269)

Morning! A nice start today for Hershey - maybe come blues later on Hershey? That would be so cool!

I hope Doug gets a good report today - paws crossed that it goes well.

I haven't done the miralax route here, so can't help with that one. Love the wrestling story - you guys rock. Pay well now, OK?

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269)

Hey LIbby -

Looks like Hershey's settling in nicely. Hope you see blue today too! And stay cool... ;-)
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185)

+4.5 (185)

Vyktors Mum said:
Do you mix some water in with the wet food? If he doesn't have a big problem that may be all he needs and it's also good for the kidneys and a general system flush :smile:

:-D LOVE the liver picture! Looking forward to his getting retrained. I do add water to Hershey's food and have even gotten Oreo used to having a few Tablespoons added each meal. I don't even measure Hershey's anymore. Sometimes it's about half and half. Hershey is very forgiving if you over-water. Once, I dropped his bowl into the sink, water running. I saved the food but it was more like bouillon. He lapped it up without complaint! :lol:

@Michelle - Thought I would've heard from Doug's appt by now. I hate sitting home waiting to hear instead of being there. But, two cars - three drivers and I'm the odd one out. (In lots of ways ;-) ) Hershey must've been listening because he hit BLUE! :-D

@Lu - I hope Hershey continues to like the dose. We have a heat advisory starting tomorrow. You probably do, too. The Wake County Animal Shelter guy was saying not to let pets stay outside more than an hour at a time. I don't know what that means for the ones who live outside... "Hey, let's be careful out there." (Okay, dating myself, again. I LOVED Hill Street Blues!)
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185)

We give Zener and Tillie our civie some miralax because of hard poos. Mix the miralex with some water then mix in the food. Start low, like 1/16 teaspoon once or twice a day. Then increase after a couple of days and if the poo is still hard. I have seen some people comment that the vet recommended Miralax but too high of a dose. You can imagine the result. :roll:

Too funny about Hershey stopping grooming when he saw you see him! Kitties are so cute. Nice to see that blue, too. :-D Paws crossed for Doug's people vet report.
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124)

+6 (124)

Thanks, Liz. I may try A LITTLE ;-) of the Miralax. I've read about kitties needing manual cleaning out and enemas and sure don't want that if it's something we can head off. I don't even want to THINK about the results of the overdosing! ewwww

Thanks for the well wishes for Doug. I finally heard from him - was about to send out a search party when it was TWO hours past appt time! He said one doc had called out and the others were trying to see his patients, too, so everybody was pretty far behind. They've scheduled him for his first PT this afternoon and put the idea of surgery on the back burner. The doc said it was good Doug is in such good shape because his shoulder muscles are strong enough to be holding everything together right now, which means less pain. This doc said he could do surgery but it's 50/50 as to whether it would help so he wants to chart his progress over the next couple of weeks. And, he said he can go without the sling at home (like he hasn't been doing that for days ;-) ).

Well, guess I should tackle my 'to do' list, so I can come back and catch up on some condos!
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124)

Anne is a PT and she says "Do what your PT tells you to do." I'm sure Doug will but lots of people don't.
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124)

Hi Libby,
I think that the added water to Hershey's food might be all you need (I know that doctors tell people not to get dependent on laxatives, and that dependency might not be great for cats, either--unless of course there is a medical reason). Rusty never drinks from his bowl, but I do add water to his food. His stools are on the hard side, but they have been that way ever since he came to live with us. It may be the natural thing for him, and possibly for Hershey, too (unless you have noticed a change from the way it used to be). I think cats are all different in this regard.

Nice descent from AMPS, Hershey!

You might want to try adding FortiFlora to Hershey's food. This is a pro-biotic that you can get at your vet's or online. Some cats like plain yogurt with active cultures. Either of these might be better than starting on a laxative.

Ella & Rusty

I'm glad the doctors gave a favorable report on Doug's shoulder.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124)

Liz - You want DOUG to obey?! :lol: :lol: He will...to a point. ;-) A few years ago, he had ACL surgery (Jan or Feb). When he started PT, they laid it all out for him. He said - April starts softball season. What do I have to do to be ready to play? They were like - oh, not this year. He said, you don't understand. I'm GOING to play. Just tell me what I need to do to be ready. They said he progressed faster than most of their patients. So, maybe that stubbornness is an asset? :roll: I'll tell him what Anne said...and watch him like a HAWK! :lol:

Thanks, Ella. I thought FortiFlora was just to make them interested in eating. I didn't realize it was a pro-biotic. Maybe I should check that out.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124) +9(80)

+9 (80) GREEN! GREEN! GREEN! 'Let's go racin' boys!' (Sorry - a little NASCAR comin' out ;-) )
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124) +9(80)

Hi Libby, I've been reading but haven't posted to your condo in a while, so just stopping by to say hello and hope all goes well with Doug and the pt. Hershey is looking good and nice on the +9! Have a good afternoon.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey AMPS(269) +4.5(185) +6(124) +9(80)

Nice green Hershey! PTs would much rather have patients like Doug who are anxious to get moving again than those who would rather have a pill. :lol: You can get fortiflora at amazon.com, much cheaper than at the vet.
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) A little nervous...

Hey, Ann - Good to see you. Thanks for the well wishes. I hope Hershey continues to like the dose and gives us a calm evening :smile:

Thanks for the info, Liz. I love Amazon.com - shop there often...maybe too often ;-) but I like having it shipped to my door free!

Doug said PT went well and they gave him some exercises to do at home. He didn't much like the new set of X-rays where he had to hold the 10-lb weight, though...


PMPS (118) +12 - Shot .75 at 7:05pm And, I don't mind telling you I'm a little nervous...will be checking at +2. I'm still a little fuzzy as to when to slow the drop with food. He nadired so late this AM and I know I have to consider that...Any enlightenment would be appreciated. nailbite_smile

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) A little nervous...

Nice shooting! I would suggest that you get a +1 test and see how that compares to the PMPS. If it's higher, that is good. If it's the same or lower, you should give him food. When and what do you normally feed him?
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) A little nervous...

Ummm...... Most of the time FortiFlora is used to deal with diarrhea. It could be constipating. Adding fiber (e.g., canned pumpkin) would have a better result than FortiFlora. Unless Hershey is straining in the litterbox or there has been a marked change in his poop, I'd leave well enough alone. Canned food can make a difference in the consistency of the waste that's produced. More nutrients are extracted from the food.

How about getting a +1 and +2 so you know where these numbers are heading. I'm going to guess that Hershey may bounce, but you never know.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) A little nervous...

Hi Libby. I have no advice or useful comments about anything. :smile: I just wanted to drop in and say "hello" :-D

Barb
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192)

Thanks, Liz and Sienne.

We feed Wellness <6% at shot time and +6 (although sometimes it varies from +5 to +7).

So, no FortiFlora. I've given him pumpkin a few times. Several years ago, he'd go and hang out in the litterbox often and for long periods of time, so I thought maybe he was constipated. Ended up taking him to the vet (didn't see our regular one that day) who couldn't find anything wrong with him. I hadn't thought about 'more nutrients extracted from the food' - makes sense.

Hershey is a bouncer, sometimes more than others. I do wish he'd ease up on that, but 'nobody listens to andrew' or mom, either! ;-)

@Barb - Thanks for stopping by! It's nice to see a smiling face :-D . Come visit any time!!


+1 (192)
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221)

+2 (221) - Wondering if I still need at +4, since the (221) may be food inflated...or maybe +4.5, then +7?

Hoping for no bounce...
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) & Q about tomorro

Tomorrow, I will be gone most of the AM cycle. I'll be here until about +4 and probably won't be back until +9? I know, oftentimes, using ProZinc we'd reduce if we weren't going to be around. But, it doesn't work that way with Lev - right?
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) & Q about tomorro

You can reduce the dose. The difference with PZI though, is that the reduction depletes the depot and you have to wait 6 cycles for the dose to re-stabilize. If Hershey will eat on his own if his numbers are low, it's best to leave food out.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221)

Libby-Glad to hear your DH is starting PT! It does work. Saw that Hersey Had some GREEN today-!!
Whooot!
Moonie gets miralax everyday 1/8 tsp. which she has been getting for a few yrs now, but her brother Copper(GA) really needed it. He had been given pumpkin too for his constipation, & graduated to Miralax.
Pumpkin is very natural, but could raise the bgs a bit..I also add water to her food & always have for digestion.
I also give her olive oil 2 drops for hairballs & poo management :lol: She hardly ever has hairballs.
There are lots of things to try to help the poo problems :lol:
Who worries about poo more than us?? :lol: :lol: Have a good night-Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) & Q about tomorro

Sienne and Gabby said:
You can reduce the dose. The difference with PZI though, is that the reduction depletes the depot and you have to wait 6 cycles for the dose to re-stabilize. If Hershey will eat on his own if his numbers are low, it's best to leave food out.

Would rather not lose momentum...

So, since he's a good eater, is it pretty safe to proceed with the same dose and leave food out for him? Maybe we should also leave the auto-feeder with food, in case Oreo eats what we leave out...thinking out loud here...sound like a plan?
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221)

Roni and Moonie said:
Who worries about poo more than us?? :lol: :lol: Have a good night-Hugs & Love from us!

Thanks for stopping by, Roni. Yeah, I hope Doug sees great progress with PT. I know he was HURTING by suppertime, but that's kind of par for the course, especially starting out.

I haven't tried olive oil. Been using wiping a little Vaseline on his leg at shot time every now and then. And, bought the furminator. Hoping those two things will help with hairballs. His problem is he pulls his hair out. Been doing that for several years. We thought he had fleas. No fleas. We thought his surgical hip caused pain. Cortisone shot didn't help. It was suggested that he was stressed by new person/furry friend. Oreo is the most recent and he's been here for 5 yrs. Get over it! My nephew said his cat takes psychiatric drugs to make him stop. No thank you!

Thanks for the hugs and love - I can ALWAYS use those!!
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

There isn't a "happy" medium but if you need to reduce the dose, safety is always the primary concern. Leaving food in the autofeeder is fine. You can gauge whether to leave a higher carb food depending on what the AM numbers look like.

Have you considered whether Hershey has allergies? Adding an Omega-3 oil (e.g., fish oil) to his food may help. It can take a couple of weeks to kick in but it is good for itchy skin or allergies.

My vet recommended the following:
There are several options—there is a product called Allerderm which is applied once weekly to the skin which can be quite helpful for itchy or dry skin. Additional fish oil omega-3 fatty acids, 200-250 mg daily, are often helpful, but may take up to 2 weeks to really have an effect. Antihistamines are often helpful—we seem to have the best success with Zyrtec, which is over-the-counter, or hydroxyzine which is a prescription medication.

We have Allerderm here, but you may be able to order it online. Zyrtec dosage is ½ of a 10 mg tablet by mouth (in food…) twice daily, or about every 12 hours, try for 7 days. Watch for drowsiness or restlessness, although side effects from Zyrtec are not likely or are very mild. Use plain Zyrtec, or cetirizine, only—no combo meds. The fish oil product we use is AllerG3, or you can use human products.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

Nice day for Hershey today..great to see him tip his toes in the green lagoon.

Enjoy your day away tomorrow, Libby. Sending Doug more healing vines.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

I had wondered about allergies. I take Zyrtec and Omega 3 daily, so I have both of those here. I think I'd like to try the Omega 3 - do I just break it open and pour over his food? Just noticed mine are 1200 mg, so would need to buy something different for him...
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

Thanks, Marje. Meeting my older daughter for lunch after her OB appt, then errands. Won't be out any longer than I have to since it's supposed to be hotter/more humid than we've ever had. Makes me concerned for my son who works at a summer camp. I just got off chat with him and asked what the plan is for these dangerously hot/humid days and he said, "We just carry on." Great. Especially when he said he can tell he's already dehydrated... :YMSIGH: It was so much easier when they were little...

But, we pray over them and entrust them to God. I hope you have a restful night -
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

If the omega3 Is oil in a capsule, you can stick it with a pin and squeeze some on his food. We tried it with Zener and wouldn't touch it, even with just 1 drop. :roll: We have the pet version if you want us to send it to you.
Liz
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +1(192) +2(221) +4.5(199)

Anne & Zener said:
We have the pet version if you want us to send it to you.
Liz

That would be great, if you're sure you won't need it. THANKS!! I'll PM you our address.
 
Re: 6/28 Hershey PMPS(118) +2(221) +4.5(199) +6.5(176)

+6.5 (176)

I know y'all are used to seeing these numbers and better, but Hershey has NEVER had such a nice cycle and I am tickled...BLUE!!! :-D

I hate to go to bed and miss testing at +9, but I need a little sleep. It's my plan to be back at +10...

Goodnight, all......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top