6/28 Guinness AMPS 204 Shot Moving Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Hi, I'm hoping I can quickly ask a question regarding moving shot times with Lantus.

Currently I shoot Guinness at 4:30am/pm and have to move his shot to 7am/pm. I plan to slowly move it in 15 minute increments and should be able to get it at 7am in the next few days. His AM and PM shots correspond with meals. I test him prior to a meal and shoot him as he is eating. My question is...can I still keep his meal schedule the same and just move the shot time. He would be getting his shots 2 1/2 hours after his meal. He won't be getting tested pre-shot because my pet sitter won't be able to do it, but I plan to reduce his dose while I am away from 11units to 7 or 8 units. This would only be an issue for a few days while we are gone and a few days before and after we return until I can move the shot time back.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I've never shot independent of a meal before and don't even know if I can.
 
I would shift his food schedule with his shot schedule. You want the food and insulin working with each other. You don't want Guinness' numbers to drop because food isn't there.
 
He would get fed by automatic feeder at 10am (3 hours later), so at onset, he would get a meal. I seriously don't think he will allow me to move his meal time that drastically. He cries and begs for his 4:30am meal at 3:30am and I lie awake for an hour listening to him.

I could have the pet sitter feed a second meal at the 7am shot time(first meal at 4:30am) and then another meal at 10am (maybe splitting that meal into two - it basically would be two snacks because his meals are pretty small to begin with. Thoughts about that? I already test him at 7am currently (which is his +2.5) and he gets a small snack of chicken breast then anyways, so he's used to getting something at that time. Thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top