6/28 Checkers pmps 96 +3/103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73947

Good Morning All

With a +11 of 83, I figured Checkers was probably surfing, and 89 was a shootable number.
He wasn't very interested in breffis. Ate just a little.

It's still cool out, so need to go rake up all the weeds I cut down yesterday. It's supposed to get hot later.Yuck!
syringes being not so precise, and I, being not so perfect, maybe he got a tiny drop more than the desired dose.

QUESTION
IF I gave micro drop too much this morning, would it have shown up this cycle.....thus the 37?
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 89

Morning Barb and nice green for Checkers. :mrgreen: Yes terrible heat your way as I was watching the Weather Channel. We're expecting 80 degress, and that seems cool compared to most of the states your way. Keep cool and hydrated.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 89

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: AWESOME Checkers! WOO HOO, and what a start today. Keep on surfin' for your bean. :cool:

Enjoy that weed raking... blech. well just think how good it will look when you are done. Enjoy the weather - sounds like it will be a nice day in NY.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 89+1/80+2/40+2.5/37 Dose question

+11 before amps~83

amps 89~~.5 lev
+1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion meter ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food

Question:
I don't like to reduce, on the basis of one or two low numbers, because I'm not certain that I didn't inadvertently give a slightly higher dose.
With syringes being not so precise, and I, being not so perfect, maybe he got a tiny drop more than the desired dose.

So.....will that extra small drop show up in the same cycle as given? I'm not in a hurry to reduce if I don't have to.
Checks doesn't hold reduces, even shaves, well.

edited out many unnecessary words.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 89

I don't have a solid dosing answer, but wow - lookit Checks go! If it were Trix, I'd probably shave with that 37, even though she doesn't hold reducies well either. Anything below 40 makes me a bit nervous. Maybe others will have different ideas, though....

BTW...you need to edit your original subject line, so your dosing question gets seen :cool: !

Have a great day, Barb!!
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 89

Oh thanks Amy. I didn't realize I edited out the 'question' part :-D

Oh my, seems I edited out all the numbers too :lol:



amps 89~~.5 lev
+1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food
+3/57
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 Dose Quest

wow, Checkers.. now you are just showing off!!!!! way to go!!! hoping Rupert gets back down to the green floor to play with you today!
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 Dose Quest

Barb....yes it could have shown up in this cycle if you gave a micro drop too much. It's something to consider if you are pretty certain you did.

If I eel there might be just a bit more insulin in the MJ hub on a specific dose, I write it down after I pull the dose so I can see if her numbers that cycle are really low, it might be that.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 Dose Quest

Impressive numbers this morning, Checkers. It could have been his lack of appetite early on too. How is he eating now?

I didn't realize you were using the Presto meter. Why the switch? I was thinking of picking one up as a backup since I found out the Up &Up meter at Target is the Presto WaveSense. The strips are the same price as the Relion at Walmart.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 Dose Quest

Thanks Marje. I wasn't sure how soon it would show up. My dose was at the edge of the black .5 line, instead of smack in the middle as it usually is. I wondered if it mattered.

45 minutes hour later:
How does my daughter always know when I'm on here, and call me? Spy cameras? :lol:

Ann, Presto is my meter of choice. Relion is nice, cause it takes a smaller drop, but I always forget to push the strip in all the way, until it double clicks, and ruin the strip grr_red
Also I can get Presto strips cheaper on Amazon, at around $15 per 50...no shipping.
Relion is always $20 per 50. Only thing is, I can drive to Walmart to buy them, if need be.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

amps 89~~.5 lev
+1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food
+3/57
+5/47....gravy

So I'm going thru the house looking in all his favorite hiding spots, no Checkers. Mama's starting to panic, and the voice is getting higher......there he is, with his head hanging out of the cube, watching me. :YMSIGH:

Looks like I'm not getting hair cut today.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

Sir Checkers! Where ya goin'? Let's not visit that shallow end - der's dangerous roks der!

HUG Barb - yep, guess he likes your hair uncut....and shame on the naughty kitty just watchin' while you hunt everywhere! That's Snow's favorite trick. To find KT, I just have to plug in a strip in his Relion meter that beeps - he comes running for treats as soon as he hears it.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

Barb...glad you found him.

The fact that you are working to get him up and he has been below 50 on the dose when you drew it accurately makes me suggest you might want to think about shaving down and see how he does. It is your call though and I understand if you prefer to leave him here given that the dose was off. And with the syringes as inaccurate as they are, it is something to consider.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

Relion is always $20 per 50. Only thing is, I can drive to Walmart to buy them, if need be.
That's why I was looking at the WaveSense, I can get the strips at Target in an emergency and you can get a box of 25 for $10.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

Hi Barb,

I'm still not supposed to be typing and sitting, but I couldn't help myself, when I saw the 37 :o I had to see how Checkers was. Great job keeping him safe, hope he surfs for you. Sorry, I don't have dose advice.

Checkers you look so nice in green, :mrgreen: Stay safe for your mom bean, and no more hiding, K?
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47

Hi Barb,

I'm still not supposed to be typing and sitting, but I couldn't help myself, when I saw the 37 :o I had to see how Checkers was. Great job keeping him safe, hope he surfs for you. Sorry, I don't have dose advice.

Checkers you look so nice in green, :mrgreen: Stay safe for your mom bean, and no more hiding, K?
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47+6/69

Thanks Marje. You answered my question about the change of dose, showing up in current cycle.

I'm going to stick with .5, as close as I can to get in the middle of the line. He seems to feel better on low blue numbers, as opposed to green.
I've noticed many times, that he's more active in low blue.

But the green sure does look good in the subject line. :lol:
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47+6/69

You're welcome. I know you monitor him very closely and even at night if you see a need to. Jill was saying recently on someone's condo that Alex got into the high 30s but she didn't do the reduction because she had remarked that day on how off the syringe looked and so she figured she gave her a little much.

I do think, though, that if he gets below 50 again even though you are certain you dial the dose in correctly, you need to reduce him. Sometimes as they settle in more to a dose, you start to see lower numbers.

You're the best. Sending you love and hugs from me and from that little brown girl!
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +1/80 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47+6/69

amps 89~~.5 lev
+1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food
+3/57
+5/47....gravy
+6/69..napping (Checkers)
+8/46.gravy food

ohmygod_smile ...never assume you know what your cat will do. I was so positive he would rise at +7, that I ignored to test.
Only reason I tested +8, is 'cause I wanted to see how far up he went on all the HC fuds he had.

I think I will shave tonight, because I know I can't test all night.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +2/40+2.5/37+3/57 +5/47+6/69+8/46

wow Checkers! another reduction! Congrats! he's really on a mission isn't he! so great to see, it wasn't so long ago you were so sad that he was in the high high numbers all the time! looks like the switch to Lev did the trick?!!! Rupert is closely watching. I'm HOPING we are on a bit of a roll now but we have a long way to go, if he keeps bouncing much longer I too will consider Lev.. Checkers is the poster boy for it! hope you can get some sleep tonight, but wow, nice to see those greens and on such a low dose!!
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81 +2/40+3/57 +5/47+6/69+8/46+10/70

amps 81..slightly skinny .5 lev oops, I meant slightly fat.
1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food
+3/57
+5/47....gravy
+6/69..napping (Checkers)
+8/46.gravy food
+9/58 MC
+10/70 LC fancy feast
+11/75 no food

I'm not liking this nailbite_smile ......it's too close to shot time for this green. Whhhhhaaaaaaaaaa!! Mommyyyyyyyy!!

Yes rising number, but food related.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers amps 81+3/57 +5/47+6/69+8/46+10/70+11/75

:lol: @ Liz. Someone put a curse on me, through my cat? :lol:
Uh oh, gots a half hour to find my printout of 'shooting low numbers'

I don't even know what a safe number is,to shoot. Checkers seldom goes this low at preshot.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers pmps 96

amps 81. ~.5 lev
1~80...Presto meter..last strip
+2.~40...Relion ..gravy food
+2.5~37....gravy food
+3/57
+5/47....gravy
+6/69..napping (Checkers)
+8/46.gravy food
+9/58 MC
+10/70 LC fancy feast
+11/75 no food
pmps 96...gave skinny .5

This was an interesting day. I don't remember when he last had a totally green day.
He wasn't very active today, and spent a good deal of time, lounging in a cube, or the bathtub. I hope it was just the weather, altho the house was comfortable..
Maybe the low sugar bothered him. I wasn't stingy with the gravy food; he could have eaten more than he did.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers pmps 96

Hi Barb, I was thinking of you and Checkers today and wondered about his PMPS. I thought it would be higher with all the gravy. Good luck with the new dose. t's amazing how sensitive they are th the slightest change in drop. Checkers, how about a nice, safe surf for your wonderful Mom! Hope you get some rest when you can, Barb/
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers pmps 96

Thanks Ann. Ya know, I too, thought it would catch up with him all at once, and have a high pmps.
He rarely goes low, during the night. *crosses fingers*
I don't know how some of the beans on here, are able to test all night.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers pmps 96

I think it was a good plan to reduce the dose.

I does seem like Checkers decided to keep you on your toes. First the low numbers and then hiding in the cubes. I think they giggle at us when we're searching.
 
Re: 6/28 Checkers pmps 96

Wow, Checkers!! Such a NICE day!! And, yes, I think they're laughing (quietly, so we don't hear them) at us when we're searching high and low for them. I've heard kitties are color blind, but Hershey must know he's black because he usually finds something black to hide on/in and does a good job of blending in.

He used to come running to be tested, but doesn't always do that anymore. Couldn't SPOIL me, now could he? :lol:

My hat is off to y'all, shooting at such low numbers. I hope to join your ranks one day :-D

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top