6/28 Boo PMPS 167,+4 122,+5 131,+8.75 198,+11.5 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmcd65

Member Since 2011
Well, she didn't come up as high as I thought after not shooting her last night. She threw up a little this morning and peed on 2 piddle pads (outside the box)during the night, so I know she felt weird.... but I expected to see a red number this morning. She also needed some clean up work on her tail, so I'm thinking she had a little tummy upset of the #2 variety.

Gonna shoot her new reduced dose and see how we do.

Thanks for talking me off the ledge last night, Marj. Sleep makes everything look a little different.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317

Not sure if this is a slide or close to fairly normal. ;-)

Be back at lunch to see what's what.

Have a great day, everyone........
xooxo
Carla and Boo
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317

As you adjust the dose, she will "hopefully" show you better numbers :-D

Have a great day. Breathe innnnnn, breathe ouuuuttt :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317

I went back and added the weeks of blind shooting to Boo's spread sheet. It makes me sick at my stomach to think of how many times she must have been in distress and I didn't know it.

UGH!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317

Morning Carla!!! I hope you got some rest. Boo is looking good this morning....I knew a skipped shot wouldn't overly affect her progress!!

Try not to think back on the blind shooting. You were just following your vet's advice. Now you have us and all is MUCH better!!! You are doing fabulous and Boo will get better.

I hope Boo's tummy settles down; you might have to experiment with foods to find one that doesn't cause her problems or it could be just her trying to adjust to the change in diet. She did convert pretty quickly and that can cause tummy
upset for a few days. Hopefully, soon, the incontinence will stop.

Big hugs to you today, Carla!!! I knew the world would look better after sleep. Here's a funny thing for you to laugh at: one night I was up all night, Mike was working, and I went to do a test and put the glucometer instead of the rice sock in the microwave. :lol: :lol: :lol: It wasn't funny at the time since I fried it but thankfully I had a backup!! Sleep....what an amazing thing!

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317

Thanks Marje and Melissa... will be interested in seeing what she reads at lunch. I look forward to the day when I actually expect good numbers on the monitor instead of having sweaty palms, racing heart, and anxiety during each test.

You all should get medals for bravery and patience. And free manicures for chewed nails.
:smile:

Carla
 
Re: 6/28/11 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

Not as severe a drop between +2 and +6 today. I'm sure she'll have a surprise up her sleeve for me later. :-D

It seems like she "feels/acts" best when she is in the 200's. Not sure what that means. Maybe it doesn't have as much to do with the actual number as how quickly she might be sliding past it up or down.

xoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

Hi Carla and of course you too Boo!
I agree with the sweaty palms, racing heart, and anxiety during each test, does it ever really leave, not sure.
I still take a ketone reading holding my breath .... maybe it takes time, and you are just now realizing all that is involved, the tighter you track. I just think that makes you a good bean. :RAHCAT

Nancy and Payne
(who still surprises me each and every day ..... )
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

I look forward to the day when I actually expect good numbers on the monitor instead of having sweaty palms, racing heart, and anxiety during each test
:lol: :lol:

I agree with Nancy...does anyone actually not have sweaty palms, racing heart, and anxiety during each test? ;-) :razz: :razz: If Gracie is high I am nailbite_smile nailbite_smile because I worry she's too high, if she's low I'm nailbite_smile nailbite_smile wondering if I can get her up :lol: :lol: :lol: And I imagine the people with OTJ cats do the same every time they test!

I talk to Gracie and say "little baby...a nice, safe number would be GREAT now!". Once I asked her for a "200" and lo and behold...that's what I got. How cool would that be if it was always that easy!!

I think others have observed that their cats seem to feel better in that range; I think if that's where they spend most of their time, that's what they adjust to. I know when we were taking Gracie back up and had cycle after cycle of mid 200s, she was feeling really great; when she got back into green, she was a bit sluggish at first until her body readjusted to happy numbers!
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

Hey yall! I have done lots of laundry this week because I actually sweat bullets when I get nervous over this cat! ;-)

So, I'll be interested to see what happens at shot time. I'll probably get a +11.25/+11.30 ish test in and then decide.

If it's another steady and continual fall like yesterday, do I skip shooting AGAIN? I've been reading a lot today about protocol and I don't see much about encouraging that particular action.

Marje? Anyone? What would be my lowest number at shot time to shoot her .75? As long as I see it's going up from +6 251? Or does it need to be really close to the AMPS 365?

Still reading... still needing help!

Thanks!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

Carla: If you had not been so exhausted last night, I would definitely have suggested you shoot her PMBG. But safety first and shooting it would have required monitoring even if you had shot a BCS.

Now that she is off dry food, it's time to learn how to shoot lower numbers!! Notice I didn't say "low" because you don't yet have enough data to shoot below 100. Have you read the link in my signature block regarding low preshots? That's a good place to start.

If you can monitor tonight, even if it's test/sleep, test/sleep, I think it would be better not to skip another shot unless she is WAY low. If she continues to come down into PMPS and is lower than 200, then you are correct...post your +11 or 11.5 and ask for help.

With assistance, what do you think about the possibility of shooting on time, .75u, if she is above 150? Just want you to think about it so if she is and you ask for help, you'll be comfy with your decision by then.

So the plan (always good to have a plan):
1. do your +11 or +11.5
2. if she is below 200, post and ask for help
3. in the interim, just think about what number you are comfortable shooting on time, .75u

How does that sound??? And perhaps someone else will have some suggestions, too!!!
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251

Marje, I have tried to click on your sig link several times and it tells me it does not exist.
:?:
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251, +11 258

Sorry Carla...I did not know they did that. Glad Julie sent you the direct link.

Thanks Julie ;-) ;-) Guess I'll have to work on that.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251, +11 258

Thanks Julie!

Well, she flattened out on me. I will see what her PMPS is in an hour, but if it hasn't dropped any, should I just shoot the regular dose? She ate right after her +6, but I took up the food when I went back to work... so she hasn't eaten in several hours.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365, +2 317, +6 251, +11 258

Never say never but I bet she doesn't drop below 200 at PMPS....she's pretty flat right now. BUT, we have a saying in LL that flat yellows can mean action so she "might" be interested in some lower numbers tonight...you'll find out by testing :-D

If she stays flat, I recommend you shoot the .75 on time. If you are worried about her dropping from there, you can do a +1 but personally, I'd probably just get a +2 and see where she is going. Then you can decide from that point whether you need to do a test or two before bedtime or just your bedtime test.

How does that sound? Doing ok???
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 Thoughts?

I'm ok... the *only* reservation I have is that she is acting a little like the day (this past Thursday 6/23) that she bottomed out around this time. She is licking the bottom of the couch and talking a lot... both of which aren't like her. I will see what the +12 looks like.

Thanks!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

I thought I recognized that behavior... she's dropping fast.

Help?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Unbelievable. Well....you certainly know your cat!!!!

You can either shoot this and monitor closely making sure you have HC/HC gravy/karo or you can stall. That's a pretty big drop in one hour so she's probably going to keep you busy. You can also shoot a reduced dose but that doesn't necessarily mean she won't still drop.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

I am going to be here tonight. I can stall if I need to, although I've never done it. I can also shoot and monitor. Which would be better for her?

xo

(and P.S., next week at this time I will be at rehearsal/work)
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

If you stall what you are waiting for is for her to come up so you can shoot the .75u. However, if you stall, then you are off schedule tomorrow depending on how long you stall. How long can you afford to stall and still shoot tomorrow and have a chance to get in a test in the morning?

This is where data really helps. With Gracie, if she is coming down like this, stalling does not matter...she won't come up within the two hours I can stall. I have no idea what Boo will do.

If you shoot, you must stay on top of it. With that drop, I'd be vigilant...I, personally, would get a +.5 and +1 to start with to see if she is maintaining that drop.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

I can stall 1 hour... that would put me shooting her at 7 a.m., and I could get a +1 and then I'm off to work.

What should I do?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Last Thursday when she did this, she went straight down to a 64 before I started Karoing her.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

(((Carla))): I can give you options but I can't tell you what to do. You have to be comfortable with what you do. If you want to stall an hour, rechecking every 15 mins to catch any rise, you can. But also be prepared that in one hour, she *might* be lower.

If you decide to shoot now, you need to test, test, test to make sure she is coming up or so you can be prepared to offset fast drops with food.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

If I shoot now, should I shoot the entire dose or a reduced one?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Just saw your post.

When Gracie has a big drop, I usually start her off with higher carb food at her PS feeding. So instead of feeding 4%, I'll feed her 10%. That helps HER drop stop. I don't know your kitty. 10% could skyrocket her or not even have an effect.

I'm probably not the BEST in this situation because if I have anything above 50, I shoot because I have tons and tons and tons of data and I know what Gracie will do.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Carla:

Do you have the flexibility with your schedule to stall. In other words, if you shoot late tonight, can you shoot 12 hours from whatever the shot time will be in the AM?

Also, do you have extra strips and HC food in case it's needed?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Carla.....it's ok to stall....it is a dropping number. Don't feel like you have to shoot.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Too late now. nailbite_smile I shot a skinnyish .75 and she ate a mixture of LC and MC wet food. She was gobbling it up so I took up the bowl after she had eaten quite a bit.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

Will someone be watching me/us?

Should I change my subject Box?
Thx
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo AMPS 365,+2 317,+6 251,+11 258 +12 167???

It's ok. You're gonna test her I know.

Yes...change your box to show your PMPS. I'll be watching. What time did you shoot so I know when your +.5 is. And please do get a +.5 :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167

I shot her at 6:20. She ate a little
Tested her at 6:35 207! yay!
Ate a little more
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167

She acts like she's starving... I keep picking up the dish in case I "need" her to eat later. :shock:
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167

Ok...so you stalled 20 minutes while we posted :-D

The 207 is ALMOST within the 20% meter variance. 167 x 20% = 200. So she may have started back up from the stalling; I'm not sure if Boo shows a response that fast to feeding. Do you? That would be a good thing to learn as you are feeding/testing.

It would be really nice if she came up more before she onsets. If you get a test at 7, then you can get back on the hour/half hour schedule instead of in between. How does that sound?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167

I do not know how quickly she responds to food... She's only been on it a few days. :-D I know that Karo didn't spike her out the roof. Not sure about food.

Am I doing right by taking the bowl up after she's had a bit? She is really hungry.

I found some clear throw up that i'm assuming is hers in another room. :sad:

Yes, I will test at 7.

THANKS!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167

By the way...nice shooting. Just a thought here....if you get a number dropping faster than that one in the future, you might want to stall a bit. Once you get ALOT of data on Boo, then you can decide how you want to deal with higher numbers that are dropping fast.

So now you have lots of opportunity to see how she responds to food!! It's really good to keep a chart on how much you feed her each time and the %carbs in it. If you look at Gracie's SS and also Champ's, you'll see how we track it.

Yes...I wouldn't let her just gorge herself. If she comes back down, you will want her to already be too full so that she isn't even interested in gravy. It's going to be trial and error. Normally with a kitty on a wet food diet where the bean has some idea how kitty reacts to food, we recommend giving gravy if we are dealing with lower numbers or perhaps 1/2 tsp of food (HC if in 40s and LC-MC if in 50s). We don't know with Boo how her BG will react to any of it.

Will check back at 7 your time.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

Miriam and Putty said:
NIce hooting....and yes there will be eyes on you. :shock:

Thank you sweet Miriam! Boo is never boring! I hope you are having a nice evening!
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

Nice!!! How about a +2 now that we see she is not still dropping like she was between +11 and PMPS?

Doing ok???
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

I'm doin ok! Thanks for asking!

I'm calling 7:00 "+1"..... +1 is "actually" between 7:15/7:20

So +2 shall be 8:00?

If so, I will finish my workout video. :-D

I'm trying on a new attitude. :cool:

xoxo
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

Hi Carla-

Just stopping in to say "Hi"! Boo is certainly keeping you busy these days...and what an amazing call about the couch licking behavior and her sudden drop!! It's fabulous that you were able to convince her to eat wet food so quickly! I'm sure her tummy will settle once she gets used to the new diet. Great work!!!

Amy
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

TrixieCat said:
Hi Carla-

Just stopping in to say "Hi"! Boo is certainly keeping you busy these days...and what an amazing call about the couch licking behavior and her sudden drop!! It's fabulous that you were able to convince her to eat wet food so quickly! I'm sure her tummy will settle once she gets used to the new diet. Great work!!!

Amy

THANK YOU AMY. That means a lot to me. Thanks to you guys, I'm not flying blind here!!!

xoxox
Carla
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

furhidleutsie!! I was looking at the +1 in your subject line when I said to get a +2. In all reality, 7:30 would be closer to your +1 since you shot at 6:20. If it were me, I'd probably change the 193 to +.5 and then call 7:30 my +1. That puts you much closer to when you shot.

Although you didn't stall long, here is a quick guideline on how to make up time. When you stall, you have two options for making up the time and getting back on schedule:

1. you can shoot 1/2 early ONCE a day OR
2. you can shoot 15 mins early at each PS

Either way, it's 30 minutes/day. Since you shot at 6:20 today, you are easily within the 30 minutes to shoot at your regular time of 6 am tomorrow.

Enjoy your workout!

eta: if, because of me, you missed the 7:30 test, it's ok.
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +1 193

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: We shall make you a testaholic!!!

So go ahead and call that your +1.25. Normally we say that if the +2 is alot lower (50) than the PS, then you need to stay really vigilant. You are not even there yet and she dropped 30 in one hour from the last test.

How is she doing? If you test her at 8, she may be a little different but I'm not sure if the data is worth the extra pokey as you might be poking alot tonight.

If you test her at 8:30, we would expect she'll be at least another 30 lower if not more. But you still have some room. What would you like to do?
 
Re: 6/28 Boo PMPS 167, +.5 193, + 1.75 164

She is a little spacey looking. I would like to test at 8:00. I'm very confused by the times in my subject. I'll concentrate and try to fix that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top