6/28 & 6/29 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
6/28
AMPS 366 2.4 U
+4 273
+6 271
PMPS 280 2.4 U

6/29 more movement today
AMPS 365 2.4 U
+4 236
+7 182
PMPS 221 2.4 U
We have a vet appointment tomorrow at 4:30. Nothing particular wrong, just a check up and shots, will take his journal/spreadsheet.
 
Hey finally a 50% drop! The numbers are a little high overall and you could still see more drop, but at least it's something that looks more like a curve, YAY! Heck yeah, maybe you need Kim's new magic vial!
 
Funny you say that I was just thinking I might get a new vial to try since we've been working this one since April/May.
Not sure I want any of Kim's hoo-doo vial of Prozinc! nailbite_smile
I don't have nerves of steel and already am a big chicken s#**! Got enough to worry about with my cousin starting 6 days of chemo to kill off immune system before a bone marrow transplant next Thursday.
 
I'd be tempted to try a new vial, and lower the dose back to what was working well a while ago, I don't have the SS in front of me, but I think 1.8 or 2u used to be decent, right? It's been a little spooky that you haven't seen results on these recent dose raises. So maybe that's it? That's really going to make me mad! How can people afford a new ProZinc vial every couple months, jeeps!!!!!!!!
 
I'm kinda thinking the same thing. Seems like when a vial is fresh, good movement most days on less insulin.
I have asked my vet several times and she says ProZInc manufacturer says it should last until expiry date if properly stored and handled, but she is beginning to question it too.
Makes it complicated when you are used to a general range for dose and then you get something with a new vial like Kim is experiencing. They need to study this more and update their fact sheet for ProZinc if people keep getting these kinds of differences between an old vial still in date and a new vial.
He was on 1.8-2 U range before.
 
I am curious about this thought of the insulin pooping out near the end of the vial...so I am gonna think out loud here...

When you guys draw the insulin, do you draw a little more into the syringe than the dose, then push back in what is not needed to arrive at the correct dose?
So like if you need 3 units, you draw 3.5 and push back to 3...

Maybe that action of the insulin getting pushed in and out of the needle more than once might harm the delicate molecule... and by the end of the vial most of what’s left has been damaged?

This might be dumb but its just a thought.
 
I got my vial April 1st & I have treated it awful. Hubby left it out for about 3 hrs then I left it out for about 10 hrs & dropped it on the floor the same day. I thought for sure it wasn't any good after all that but I'm getting good #'s now so I'm sticking with it. I'm pretty sure Robin had been using hers for a year. BUT, Kim sure got a blast from her new vial last night!

Donna, you might have a point? I hadn't been doing that but over the last week or so I have cause I discovered it was easier to get rid of air bubbles that way. I'm now using the Relion syringes but I do think I have more trouble with air bubbles with them. I actually draw a lot more than just an extra .5....I've probably been drawing more like 4 units then pushing it back in to at least .2 more than I need and adjusting after I remove it from the bottle. Grrr...I hate this sugar dance and hope I never have another diabetic kitty! I'm too much of a worrier & there's too many variables.

Angela, I'm sorry about your cousin. Hope all goes well! :YMHUG:
 
I use the BD U100 syringes and I draw more to get rid of the bubbles too. Curious what others do.

When the vet shows you how to draw and shoot insulin right after you get the dreaded diabetes dx, you are so stressed out and they don’t show you little nuances of what is right and wrong.
 
Ideas on getting rid of bubbles:

To eliminate bubbles: If drawing insulin from a vial, set the syringe plunger to the dosage you want to draw, put the needle into the top of the vial while the vial is still upright, and push all the air out of the syringe. This will maintain air pressure equilibrium in the vial once you draw the dose and, because the vial is upright, will not cause air bubbles to mix with the solution. Turn the vial upside down and draw the insulin slowly. See note.

If you do get air bubbles into the syringe, it's ok with most insulins to re-inject the insulin into the vial and draw again until the air is gone[22]. Check that this is ok with your insulin. See also injecting insulin. Slower draw is less likely to draw bubbles. ( Sue: Is this okay with ProZinc? I never did it with PZI.)

Another way to get rid of syringe air bubbles is to hold the syringe upright and give it a tap or two with your finger. The problem with having air bubbles in the injection is that you will not be getting the full dose of insulin; the bubbles take the place of it[23].
Some people prefer to gently jiggle their vials to make any air bubbles rise to the top, away from where the needle will draw[24].
 
I use the method Sue posted for drawing the insulin, thats what vet showed me and ProZinc brochure shows.
The last package of 100 U-40s I bought have all been bad to get air bubbles in them almost everyday, before I'd get one once in a while. I don't know if these are defective or what, I ordered from Hocks. Have about 2 weeks supply left of them.
I am using them now because the U-100s are so hard for me to see.
I do turn the bottle back down and shoot the insulin back in vial when I get a bubble unless I catch it as soon as I start drawing then sometimes I remove syringe from vial and shoot the bubble out. I don't like to do that though because it dulls the needle.
My vet said it was ok to shoot it back into vial.
But thats a very good point, Donna. Becuase otherwise, I have handled the insulin gently by rolling vial between hands and gently tipping vial, keeping in box not in door of fridge and correct temp. haven't ever left it sitting out. Hmmmm.
 
Thanks Barbara for the well wishes for my cousin. She is really more like a sister, we are double first cousins, our mothers are twins and our fathers were brothers 1 year apart. Her brother is 100% match so doctors think risk of bone versus graft disease are minimal but there is a chance of rejection. She is on second day of chemo to destroy her immune system before stem cell transplant next Thursday. She is near where I live at teaching hospital (Shands) so I am going to visit her tomorrow. She will have to be in hospital a month after transplant and stay close to area for 2 months or so afterwards.
 
That is great info guys! Our first vet never showed us that method or any brochure. Just got a bottle and some needles, here you go :)
Thanks tons, good discussion.

Good wishes and healing to your cousin too :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top