6/27 Simon PMPS 328

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I got back from my trip out of town on Tuesday -- 3 days away with my family. DH was in charge of Simon and Missy and he did a fabulous job with giving fluids, meds, and insulin. I was very worried about leaving Simon, but I should have been worried about DH. He ended up getting food poisoning from eating a tuna sandwich at a fast food place. He is fine now but a friend of mine took him to the ER where he had to get a full bag of IV fluids. As he was at the ER, he said that now he knows what it feels like to get fluids just like Simon. The doctor also gave him Ondansetron for nausea. I could have saved some money and given him Simon's Ondansetron! Poor DH, here I was worried about Simon and had no idea it would be DH that would need looking after.

Simon is doing pretty well. I increased his insulin dose again due to the prednisone and he is on day 9 of the antibiotic for the UTI. He is continuing to cry at night and we figured out that he just wants to go downstairs and sit. I am sad that he doesn't want to sleep on the bed very often anymore. I'm not sure if it is because of his illness, the meds or restlessness or even that he wants to be where it is cooler. He is still finding pleasure in lots of things and even chased his toy yesterday. I love my little snuggle bug!
 
I'm glad Simon is doing well!!! Their habits do change on a whim sometimes...hopefully he'll be back to snuggling at night again!!

Poor DH....food poisoning is horrible! I'm glad he's better, too....

Great to see you guys!!
 
I'm glad Simon is doing pretty good. Nice to hear he played with his toy. I'm sorry about your DH. I hope he's better now.
 
Hi Georgia :):coffee:

So Sorry for your DH. I am glad though that he is better. wow, what an ordeal for him.

Many vines for Simon. All in all it is a great WCR for you Simon. :cool: It is tough when they are fighting illnesses, and can't really let us know what it is they want when they cry. Kudos to you for figuring it out. We are unusually warm here in the PNW, and our Elsa too has taken to preferring the downstairs. Cooler for her, more enjoyable I think.

Enjoy your evening Georgia!
 
Don't take it personally, Georgia. Both my girls sleep on our bed all winter, but in the summer they spend most of the night elsewhere - too hot on the bed with all those bodies! I miss them, but I appreciate it, too, as they make me too warm!

It's good Simon is finding pleasure in things and playing. QOL is so important for them.

Sorry about DH's food poisoning. He's a trooper to take care of Simon on his own while you were gone, and this is what it gets him!! Vines for him.
 
I agree about the temperature. Mine will not sleep on the bed with me in the summer except in the morning....
my dh gets her first breakfast since he gets up at 7 if not earlier. He puts her food beside my pillow and she stays with me.... it's cooler
by that time.
I"m glad Simon's playing.... I got a little of that today with Shadow too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top