6/27 Ruby AMPS 122/+3 72/+6 102/+9 201/PMPS 192/+3 149

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Ruby-doo, Brave and True. :cat:

Ruby's appy is not great. She eats during the AM cycle but then barely eats in the PM, probably because the pred I give her in the morning makes her hungry but as it wanes, so does her appy. I might try some anti-nausea meds in the evenings again to see if that helps. And we've gone from runny poo to literally no poo.

As for increasing faster, no to that either. You got a 46 just four days ago on 0.5 units. Going to multiple drops for reductions is definitely worth trying though.

Thanks, Wendy, I was doubtful that was a good idea especially given how low she went the other day. Right now .5 looks like a good dose for her and I'll hold it for a while. We did get a lowish blue number at AMPS today, so that gets a ✅.

Yesterday was a rough day here for kitties going ahead. The brevity of our time together is always so difficult to face. Hold your kitties tight, my friends. Have a beautiful Sunday, everyone.
 
Good Morning:). The anti nausea med PM is a good plan Katherine. I hope it helps her out later today if her appetite wanes again:bighug:

Between the appetite issues & BM issues, clearly, things are flared up for poor Ruby :( and are playing a part in issues with the glucose control vs this being a Pred only effect. If you look back to prior days/times when she has had GI issues…she was in the 200s—this was before you ever gave her Pred. It is actually really nice that you have both the current and the prior data along with detailed clinical info going into treatment because it will be extremely helpful for your oncologist/team Re: info to help with determining how things are going and making treatment decisions along the way.

Hoping you are able to make some headway with moving her oncology appointment up. In the meantime, hang in there! I know patience in the face of anxiety provoking situations is extremely hard:(, but sometimes temporary inaction is the best action at times.

The brevity of our time together is always so difficult to face. Hold your kitties tight, my friends.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Between the appetite issues & BM issues, clearly, things are flared up for poor Ruby :( and are playing a part in issues with the glucose control vs this being a Pred only effect. If you look back to prior days/times when she has had GI issues…she was in the 200s—this was before you ever gave her Pred.
Thanks, Amy! I do get that there might be a flare happening causing a rise in the BGs, but it's always helpful to be reminded. :) She seems otherwise fine today, pacing around the house with her tail up, jumping, sprawling herself next to me on the couch.
 
It is actually promising to see that the combo of a flare with the Pred is not causing her to be pushed into even higher #s given that treatment is not optimized at this point & also that it is being managed with such a small amount of insulin. Buying time….won’t be long until you get in with your expert :bighug:!!

I love to hear that she is up and about….jumping and seeking attention :). Has to make you feel a little better….I hope :rolleyes:.
 
It is actually promising to see that the combo of a flare with the Pred is not causing her to be pushed into even higher #s given that treatment is not optimized at this point & also that it is being managed with such a small amount of insulin.
I am rather heartened by this as well as it shows Ruby's pancreas is still doing some of the work here, which is great. Go Mr. Pancreas!
 
I am rather heartened by this as well as it shows Ruby's pancreas is still doing some of the work here, which is great. Go Mr. Pancreas!

upload_2021-6-27_10-10-32.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-27_10-10-32.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-27_10-10-32.jpeg
    129.3 KB · Views: 125
Patience is rewarded. :D I've seen some cats with pred added have to increase a lot higher in dose. Thankfully Ruby's body is taking some of the load.
 
Thanks, Marina! It seems like we're having a good numbers day today. Hope Chico has recovered from his cashew binge! :bighug:
Chico is much better, thanks for asking. I think we will “gather the fruits” (to be read as diarrhea) of this mistake for a while still but i feel very relieved to see him playful again o_O
 
Aww, poor guy! Glad he's playing, and hopefully the SEB and S. boulardii will start working for him soon. :bighug:
Thank you, we started giving him digestive enzymes as well so hope this will do the trick :cat:
I somehow missed to register when Ruby had diarrhea :( did it start with the pred? so sorry it goes from one extreme to the other, i wish we had a magic wand to help them a bit :rolleyes:
 
Thank you, we started giving him digestive enzymes as well so hope this will do the trick :cat:
I somehow missed to register when Ruby had diarrhea :( did it start with the pred? so sorry it goes from one extreme to the other, i wish we had a magic wand to help them a bit :rolleyes:
It's rare for Ruby to have diarrhea; I'm usually genuflecting before the poop gods for relief for her constipation. :arghh: The cause could have been so many things but I'm glad now that it's over and she is feeling better.
 
We saw fewer yellows today. Ruby's been really sweet, ate more food than yesterday and she even chased after her kitchen twine this afternoon. Feeling relieved.
 
Hi Katherine, I'm still up 2:30 AM , have to check in on all my kitties
Ruby had a good day today , Happy to hear she pooped and she was playing with her twine. I'll check in on you tomorrow Ruby ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top