911 6/27 Penny AMPS 134 bottoming out today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robyn and Penny

Member Since 2013
Okay Penny is bottoming out just as we are getting power again for the first time in 5 days lol. I just got power back and was able to update her SS. The reason why I gave FF Gravy Lovers on a 54 is if you look at her numbers, this is very not like her and she's unpredictable. I also gave Tempations treats @2.5h on that 102 because we had been at a hotel during the power outage and were fixin to check out and I didn't want her to bottom out on the ride home. She has no typical nadir but I would guess it's around +12 and she's still dropping. gonna test again in a few mins and keep giving gravy food till she rises, but if she doesn't, should I rush her to emergency vet?
 
Is this on a human meter? I'm going to predicate my comments based on a human meter since there's no note to the contrary in you signature.

A 54 really isn't bottoming out when it's at +8. I would have tried some LC food and re-tested in 30 min. and either repeated or made a decision if HC was needed if the numbers were dropping further. There's a very good chance the numbers will come up on LC given that it's late in the cycle, although with Lev, you never know. I would suggest you concentrate on getting some tests later in the cycle since you're not sure where her nadir is.
 
Is this on a human meter? I'm going to predicate my comments based on a human meter since there's no note to the contrary in you signature.

A 54 really isn't bottoming out when it's at +8. I would have tried some LC food and re-tested in 30 min. and either repeated or made a decision if HC was needed if the numbers were dropping further. There's a very good chance the numbers will come up on LC given that it's late in the cycle, although with Lev, you never know. I would suggest you concentrate on getting some tests later in the cycle since you're not sure where her nadir is.

For Penny with her toxicity it is bottoming out. She had Temptations treats on that 102 at +2.5h and even after a car ride (which she hates) home from the hotel
(we had a power outage and no water since Tuesday) she still dropped to 65 at +8. I fed Fancy Feast Classics Liver & Chicken at +8 and she was still dropping at +9. Because her nadir floats and she's been so unpredictable, and we just got power back and are under a tornado watch, I really didn't want to take her to the Emergency vet if I could help it! Not after THIS week! lol She rose to 63 fifteen mins after the FF gravy lovers and rose to 74 a half hour after a little more gravy.

Her nadir floats anywhere from +6 to +12, depending on her mood. So even what she was doing a week ago doesn't matter b/c she has been ever-changing and unpredictable since she came out of remission.

PS yes it's the Relion Confirm meter. She was acting a little confused before that 54 and was laying in the bathtub, which she NEVER does. And it's not hot in here so that prompted me to test earlier than I had planned. Now she's napping in the basement, which is her usual routine this time in the evening.
 
That was a beautiful run in normal numbers for Penny, albeit a little frightening for you :bighug: I'd be really surprised if what you noted were symptoms of hypo being that 54 is in the normal range. The 50 cut off for HC does include a safety buffer. I would think it more likely that she was acting a little oddly because the strange circumstances of the last few days have unsettled her.

Paws crossed the tornado misses you :nailbiting: and Penny continues her awesome streak
 
Keep in mind what you're describing as her nadir is not atypical with Lev. The nadir is later than with Lantus. The nadir is rarely static -- it moves around.

Given your circumstances, how you handled Penny's cycle makes sense. The other thing to keep in mind is that Penny may be a kitty who's numbers drop (vs. rise) with stress.
 
Hi Robyn,

Penny's ss looks good today, although a bit disconcerting for you. I'm seeing on her ss that you're skipping her shot this evening - I just wanted to suggest that one option besides skipping is to wait til it starts to rise and then shoot the regular dose. With Lev you're often going to be shooting the nadir, so if you want to get control of her blood sugar, that's going to likely become your norm.

This dose looks pretty good for her and you're finally seeing progress. Congrats on that! She's likely to bounce since she hasn't spent much time in normal numbers lately.
 
Sounds like you've had quite an eventful few days away from home. :eek:

The thing about Levemir, you have to get used to shooting lower. Neko often has her nadir around preshot, and sometimes even a little bit later. The flip side is that it's quite a few hours until onset so I have a number of hours to get food into her and raise her numbers before onset. When you are home and have the opportunity to monitor, try shooting some of those lower numbers. You'll find the cycles get very flat. That's one thing about Lev that I love. This does look like a good dose for Penny. :)

When you've got a moment, could you remove the 911 tag on the title? Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top