6/27 Neko PMPS 416 +2 335 +3 232 +5.5 119 +6.5 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73924

Recap
Flat pink day: PS 376 +2 480 (meter error?) +4 366 +6.5 317 +9 324 which leads to, ta da!!
Interesting night: PS 387 +2 332 +3 257 +5.5 102 +6.5 87 :mrgreen: +7 100 +8 111 and then to bed, followed by the AM bounce.

I've seen it said in LL that flat yellow leads to interesting cycle. In Neko's case, it's flat pink does the same. :o :lol: Neko slept through a lot of the testing. At her lowest points she barely moved, and I thought she was still asleep until the treat bag rattled!

And yet another successful dosecrease threat. Neko is happily camped in front of her autofeeder, and I'm btb for a bit.

From the tail end of yesterday's condo:

@Marje - thanks for your quick response the the PM. The dosecrease is on hold until we see how she responds to the latest green. She was sitting on the chair looking over my shoulder again.

@Sienne - thanks for the note. Hope to see yet more green.

@Pip - Neko didn't spend much time in green this time, but did want to see who else was down there last night.

@Gayle - I've been doing more reading on acro and a lot of what I read says to get the check done if you are at 1.5*body weight in kg. We aren't there yet, that would be a dose of 9U. I am keeping the blood draw in mind if I have to go much higher. She is seeing a bit more green at this dose.
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415

Wendy&Neko said:
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73924

Recap
Flat pink day: PS 376 +2 480 (meter error?) +4 366 +6.5 317 +9 324 which leads to, ta da!!
Interesting night: PS 387 +2 332 +3 257 +5.5 102 +6.5 87 :mrgreen: +7 100 +8 111 and then to bed, followed by the AM bounce.

I've seen it said in LL that flat yellow leads to interesting cycle. In Neko's case, it's flat pink does the same. :o :lol: Neko slept through a lot of the testing. At her lowest points she barely moved, and I thought she was still asleep until the treat bag rattled!

And yet another successful dosecrease threat. Neko is happily camped in front of her autofeeder, and I'm btb for a bit.

From the tail end of yesterday's condo:

@Marje - thanks for your quick response the the PM. The dosecrease is on hold until we see how she responds to the latest green. She was sitting on the chair looking over my shoulder again.

@Sienne - thanks for the note. Hope to see yet more green.

@Pip - Neko didn't spend much time in green this time, but did want to see who else was down there last night.

@Gayle - I've been doing more reading on acro and a lot of what I read says to get the check done if you are at 1.5*body weight in kg. We aren't there yet, that would be a dose of 9U. I am keeping the blood draw in mind if I have to go much higher. She is seeing a bit more green at this dose.

Sure you can wait to do the testing, but if you find that you have a positive result for IAA, you are going to need to be much more aggressive with dose changes because IAA needs you to fight the antibodies and not let them increase.

With your feeding raw, you have pretty much eliminated a food cause of the high dose need, and with the dental out of the way and no dent made in the numbers following that action, I think it's time to look for the cause of a 7u dose that cannot hold numbers under renal threshold. There are some acros and also some IAA kitties who are low dose. One IAA kitty is around 3u BID, and my Shadoe was a low dose early on and did drop to 2.5u BID after her dental from 14u, plus she also had strings of greens like you have seen with Neko.

I think if your vet has ruled out all sorts of infections, and b/w shows all values within range, you may want to ask your vet for an estimate to have the acro and IAA tests done because 7u is not a normal dose for a typical otherwise healthy diabetic kitty.
I don't know where you purchase your Lantus, but you could look into Levemir as it may help to level out Neko's curves.
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415

That treat bag! :lol: :lol: They know that sound. Neko, come on down, no need to bounce like that.
Liz
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415 +2 450

Yep on the treat bag.....rustle rustle.....here come the kitties!!!!! :lol:

Come on down Neko. You bounced high enough now.
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415 +3 450

Originally a typo in my subject, it's actually +3 450 and the bounce firmly in progress. I think Neko wanted a small pokie break today while we both catch up on our sleep.

@Gayle - I first have to convince my vet there might be an issue. When last I talked to her she said "There are just some high dose kitties" and didn't seem concerned.

@Liz - hoping this bounce is short lived, she has been getting better at that. Treats rule!

@Barb - it doesn't matter what kind of treats, it's one way to make sure Neko gets some exercise running!
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415 +3 450

Wendy&Neko said:
Originally a typo in my subject, it's actually +3 450 and the bounce firmly in progress. I think Neko wanted a small pokie break today while we both catch up on our sleep.

@Gayle - I first have to convince my vet there might be an issue. When last I talked to her she said "There are just some high dose kitties" and didn't seem concerned.

@Liz - hoping this bounce is short lived, she has been getting better at that. Treats rule!

@Barb - it doesn't matter what kind of treats, it's one way to make sure Neko gets some exercise running!

Wendy,
Neko is YOUR cat and the tests will be paid with YOUR money, and your vet is merely one to test what you ask.
I had issues with my old vet when I wanted to have Shadoe tested, and I started badgering my vet when Shadoe was around 7u... the vet put it off and ignored my requests until one day, I took in copies of the 2 tests I wanted done, and had the info on shipping via FEDEX, slapped them on the front desk and said I want the tests done; book the time for the blood draw now, right now.
I have dealt with a vet who knew little/nothing about acromegaly other than what was mentioned in passing in the vet training. The vet was shocked that her results were positive... Shadoe was female and petite with tiny face and head and paws and no pot belly, and on and on. I said so what. They even disputed the result of 120 as it was close to the 92 max, and after her dental when she dropped to 2.5u, they still thought she was not acro.

Bottom line is Neko is your cat and stuck with high BG on a high dose. Unless your vet can come up with a reason why Neko is NOT regulated on that dose, then there should be no issue having the tests done. Your vet could possibly have a case IF Neko was regulated right now, with very nice BG in the 100s on 7u, but that is NOT the case.

Print out copies of the MSU test sheets, and take them to your vet.
Acromegalic cats DO have health issues, so it would be good to know Neko's condition. I had Xrays and u/s done for Shadoe after her positive result so that I could know the state of her organs as you want to know about enlarged organs and heart issues. You want to know about soft tissue growth which affects acros.
Tell your vet that maybe she is not concerned but you are, and you want to rule out any insulin resistance conditions.
 
Re: 6/27 Neko AMPS 415 +3 450 +5 428 +8 387

+5 428 +8 387
Gradually getting rid of this bounce. I wonder if that means she's getting ready for a repeat performance of last nights show? Why bother guessing.

@Reagan - yes, these cats sure keep us on our toes. Got to learn to be flexible. Fortunately I am able to go rowing tonight instead of this morning, although I was actually up at the normal time we get up for rowing :lol: I feel like I need a nap.
 
Re: 6/27 Neko PMPS 416 +2 335

PMPS 416 +2 335
The PMPS was one point off this mornings AMPS, but the +2 is quite the drop. Looks like I might have another interesting night ahead of me. If so, that would be a nice quick bounce recovery.
 
+5.5 119 +6.5 95 :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Green two nights in a row. Now if only would could change that to the day with the bounces at night. Oh well! I'll take it. :-D

@Helen - Neko passed Rosy on the blue floor and went down another floor.
 
whoa Neko! you zoomed right past Rupie again this morning! hoping you gave him a shout out to let him know where you were going! Hope you stay down on that green and blue floor for the rest of the day! Chill dude!!!!

hope you get some more support from your vet. I found the first vet we were using, whilst 'in tune' enough to put us on Lantus right from the get go, was 'surprised' when I had a spreadsheet and graphs, etc. for our next visit, and when I tried to explain to her that I thought he had a tooth issue she refused to agree, or even really look, and said she wouldn't test until his BG was lower/regulated .. duh? so after that fight, I fired her, went to a vet who is a dental specialist, and she did the work. She admitted that she wasn't familar with the new protocols but that the other, younger, vet in the clinic was and that on our next visit we should talk to her if we had any concerns or questions. haven't been back yet since Rupie is doing reasonably well so far..... but I have more faith in them at least. Hope you can convince your vet to do the other tests. After all, why are they so resistant? it's not like they aren't making money off us and WE are the paying customer. very frustrating sometimes!
 
I'm happy to see this dose can get Neko into green! Perfect!

One comment I'd like to make about lev. It does not flatten out the curve for every cat and I wouldn't make a change in the expectation that it would. There are still plenty of cats who have been on lev a long time and still bounce. However, I do believe that the manner in which a specific insulin actually works can be a major factor in how the cat does. Some cats do great on lantus, others do better on lev.

You may want to consider a change at some time but I wouldn't do it because I Had the assumption it would flatten out her curve.....it "might" if it is the better insulin for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top