6/27 Moonie AMPS 323, +4.5 237, PMPS 165, +1 134 [MC 1.5 tsp], +3.5 137, +4.5 122, +5.5 145

Connie & Moonie

Member Since 2026
6/26 Moonie AMPS 185, +2 173, +3 202, PMPS 100, +2 144, +3 161, +5 256

I think with this recent bounce, Moonie has officially earned herself a dose increase tomorrow, barring anything crazy happening today. We’ve seen decent nadirs on this dose (low 100s) but 3.25u just doesn’t seem to be strong enough to pull her out of these pinks and yellows.

I felt guilty not going up to 3.5u this morning (since we’ve already done 10 cycles on 3.25u), but I already skipped dinner last night with my partner’s parents who are in town after her 100 PMPS, and I didn’t want to get into another argument with him. So we’ll have to go up tomorrow when I can monitor her more carefully.

As Christie advised us yesterday, hopefully with time, I’ll get a better handle on her patterns and feel more confident leaving her if needed without the +2 check. Right now as she’s only bouncing or breaking a bounce, I’m always on edge without +2 unless the preshot is a super high number.

Happy Saturday everyone from me and Moonie! Thank you as always for your encouragement and support. I can’t overstate how amazing it is to have a community of people who just understand, especially when almost everyone else thinks what you’re doing is crazy.

IMG_1437.jpeg
 
6/26 Moonie AMPS 185, +2 173, +3 202, PMPS 100, +2 144, +3 161, +5 256

I think with this recent bounce, Moonie has officially earned herself a dose increase tomorrow, barring anything crazy happening today. We’ve seen decent nadirs on this dose (low 100s) but 3.25u just doesn’t seem to be strong enough to pull her out of these pinks and yellows.

I felt guilty not going up to 3.5u this morning (since we’ve already done 10 cycles on 3.25u), but I already skipped dinner last night with my partner’s parents who are in town after her 100 PMPS, and I didn’t want to get into another argument with him. So we’ll have to go up tomorrow when I can monitor her more carefully.

As Christie advised us yesterday, hopefully with time, I’ll get a better handle on her patterns and feel more confident leaving her if needed without the +2 check. Right now as she’s only bouncing or breaking a bounce, I’m always on edge without +2 unless the preshot is a super high number.

Happy Saturday everyone from me and Moonie! Thank you as always for your encouragement and support. I can’t overstate how amazing it is to have a community of people who just understand, especially when almost everyone else thinks what you’re doing is crazy.

View attachment 79056

Moonie is so precious ahh 💗 I hope her numbers are good today 🙂
 
Hi Connie, please don’t feel guilty about not giving the increase yesterday. Today is a new day and she will be fine 🥰
Sorry about the extra agg in your household. It can be a challenge to keep peace in the house.
(I speak from experience on this one. My DH isn’t thrilled that I won’t go anywhere more than 30 minutes from the house, even after almost 4 years of this situation).
He is going to a wedding out of town in the Fall without me (there’s no way I can leave Ivy) 🤷‍♀️

You are in good company here, we understand all of the issues.

Good luck with the increase. Have a safe surf Moonie, and enjoy the weekend 🌊🐈‍⬛🐾🏄‍♀️😻
 
Nothing wrong with giving Moonie another day on the dose based on your desire to want to monitor the day of the increase. I will also say I did this FD dance with Maverick for many many years, all by myself. Just as people can follow TR with a full-time job, I was a firm believer in learning how my own cat responded to insulin and carbs. It certainly didn’t happen overnight, but over time I gained more confidence in seeing patterns so I wasn’t chained to my cat. Did I change plans last minute, if I didn’t like what I saw? Absolutely. I used to say to family and friends, sorry, can’t, gotta go poke my cat 😆. But I’d like to think I was able to balance the sugar dance with a life.

By the way Connie, for future reference, if you really have something important, with kitties who don’t have history of DKA or ketones, you can skip a shot and pretend it was a fur shot. The cat will surely get back to business, and it isn’t the end of the world. Just my 2 Canadian cents, for what they are worth.
 
Hi Connie, please don’t feel guilty about not giving the increase yesterday. Today is a new day and she will be fine 🥰
Sorry about the extra agg in your household. It can be a challenge to keep peace in the house.
(I speak from experience on this one. My DH isn’t thrilled that I won’t go anywhere more than 30 minutes from the house, even after almost 4 years of this situation).
He is going to a wedding out of town in the Fall without me (there’s no way I can leave Ivy) 🤷‍♀️

You are in good company here, we understand all of the issues.

Good luck with the increase. Have a safe surf Moonie, and enjoy the weekend 🌊🐈‍⬛🐾🏄‍♀️😻
Thank you for your kind message! The funny thing is that he loves Moonie too and he’s obsessed with our cats. So I don’t know what it is. He did backtrack pretty quickly and tried to do a lot of damage control after.

Maybe it’s that we don’t live together yet, so he doesn’t see the numbers in Moonie’s body like I do. When she’s in the pinks, I wake up to big puddles of pee because she’s so thirsty. When she’s in the blues and greens, I can see her start to come alive, stalking leaves in the garden or chasing toys. So how can I not want that moment of relief for her, you know? You know :)

We’ll be increasing tomorrow am after his parents leave. This is our third dose increase on TR so maybe third time’s the charm 🤣
 
There used to be a list of LL cats and their beans and location. People used it to find local members. FDMB currently has the members map which is helpful but doesn't show members who opt of of being on the map.

I'm basically a hermit. Everything has to be worked around Leroy. I have no one to help out.
I wish that the feature could come back with more opt-in details and preferences! It would be nice to meet other members (and their kitties) and have a local network of people who can help each other.

You’re an amazing caregiver. It takes so much love and courage to reorganize your entire life around a vulnerable being who depends on you. It’s sad that more people don’t experience this kind of love. It’s easy to say you love someone but it’s much harder to live it every single day at a real cost. And that’s what you’re doing with Leroy.
 
Last edited:
Nothing wrong with giving Moonie another day on the dose based on your desire to want to monitor the day of the increase. I will also say I did this FD dance with Maverick for many many years, all by myself. Just as people can follow TR with a full-time job, I was a firm believer in learning how my own cat responded to insulin and carbs. It certainly didn’t happen overnight, but over time I gained more confidence in seeing patterns so I wasn’t chained to my cat. Did I change plans last minute, if I didn’t like what I saw? Absolutely. I used to say to family and friends, sorry, can’t, gotta go poke my cat 😆. But I’d like to think I was able to balance the sugar dance with a life.

By the way Connie, for future reference, if you really have something important, with kitties who don’t have history of DKA or ketones, you can skip a shot and pretend it was a fur shot. The cat will surely get back to business, and it isn’t the end of the world. Just my 2 Canadian cents, for what they are worth.
Thank you! That’s really helpful to know. Your insights are always so helpful. And besides 2 Canadian cents are worth a lot more now vs. 2 US cents ;)

We’re hosting his family for Thanksgiving this year. I’m going to go ALL OUT and make this place like a freaking bed and breakfast hotel so that we can keep hosting everything and I can be near Moonie’s little ears.

But barring that, I’ll be taking your advice so thank you again.
 
Ok first, I love waking up and seeing that adorable little Moonie face on my feed! 💜
Second, I know it sucks when no one else gets it. I live with my fiance, he sees Khloe everyday and knows her numbers, and he still doesn’t get it sometimes. I have a friend who is a vet, and even she doesn’t get it and thinks I should prioritize going out vs monitoring Khloe. (Haha, no)
They aren’t part of our club so they don’t get it, and probably never will.
If Boston wasn’t so far away, I’d watch Moonie for a few hours in a heart beat!

You’re doing to best you can and in time, everything will work out.
That was a nice PMPS last night! And good luck on the increase! (*pulls Moonie to the side and whispers* listen Moonie, I really need you to touch green in the next few days for your mom, ok? Here’s a churu as a bribe.)
 
Good luck with the increase tomorrow. And don't be too hard on yourself for cancelling plans or leaving early/arriving late. Navigating FD and purrrrrrsonal lives is never easy yet somehow we all do it. I cannot speak too much on the subject as I'm lucky enough to have a very steady kitty (who's in remission meow anyways)

Moonie is so very cute and those green eyes 😍
And her siblings are also super cute ( I peaked at your condo from yesterday, and boy am I glad that I did)

Happy Caturday!
🙋🏻‍♀️🐾🐈‍⬛🐈🐈✨❤️🌿🌻🏄🏻‍♀️
 
I feel the same way you do Connie, about wanting to learn Mister's patterns better so I feel more comfortable leaving him. And I hold my breath for those +2s too. I get nervous even going to the grocery store, and always rush to get home. No one else gets it, but that's okay. We will get there❤️

I've waited to give Mister the increase he's needed for one cycle when I knew I couldn't monitor the same way I normally do too. And he was just fine. Things happen, and you haven't done anything wrong! I'm glad you are in such good company here and can hopefully give yourself a little break today. We can be so hard on ourselves sometimes but from an outside perspective, I see nothing but a loving CG who gives Moonie the best care and life she could possibly have. Good luck with her increase. Let's see some more greens Moonie!
 
Good luck with the increase--let's go Moonie!
I'm two years into the fulltime job of feline diabetes caregiving, and I'm almost, like Squeem, a hermit. I work, but my social life is pretty much in the toilet. And Jude's treatment--the ups and downs, etc.--are often my main topic of conversation🤦‍♀️...my poor friends...so kind to tolerate such boredom...I literally try to time myself and limit FD discussions to about a minute only. I've instructed each of them to give me the sign ✋when they've had enough if I get over zealous, which often happens. That said, I echo Christie's sentiments: you're going to begin to see some patterns and there will be a measure of consistency and you'll be able to find some freedom and live a life.
 
That's the member's map I was referring to :) You can opt out of being there. There's a setting in your profile preferences.

I thought I had downloaded that LL list way back then but I don't. The saved Google link I have says the file was deleted. The list wasn't updated after awhile as members moved on anyways.
 
Ok first, I love waking up and seeing that adorable little Moonie face on my feed! 💜
Second, I know it sucks when no one else gets it. I live with my fiance, he sees Khloe everyday and knows her numbers, and he still doesn’t get it sometimes. I have a friend who is a vet, and even she doesn’t get it and thinks I should prioritize going out vs monitoring Khloe. (Haha, no)
They aren’t part of our club so they don’t get it, and probably never will.
If Boston wasn’t so far away, I’d watch Moonie for a few hours in a heart beat!

You’re doing to best you can and in time, everything will work out.
That was a nice PMPS last night! And good luck on the increase! (*pulls Moonie to the side and whispers* listen Moonie, I really need you to touch green in the next few days for your mom, ok? Here’s a churu as a bribe.)
Thank you! I know, I would happily watch precious Khloe for you - if only you guys were closer! To be fair to my partner, he was very remorseful after but man did it make me mad at the time!

I think your bribe worked! Now I’m back to asking to confirm the dose increase, because we started out at 165 AMPS, then she slid down to 134 so I “overdid it” with 1.5 tsp of FF gravy, and I’ve just come back after 2.5 hours to 137. It makes me wonder how much lower her numbers would have gone without the intervention…

I’m seeing Khloe is throwing you some beautiful blues today! Let’s keep it going pretty girl!
 
Good luck with the increase tomorrow. And don't be too hard on yourself for cancelling plans or leaving early/arriving late. Navigating FD and purrrrrrsonal lives is never easy yet somehow we all do it. I cannot speak too much on the subject as I'm lucky enough to have a very steady kitty (who's in remission meow anyways)

Moonie is so very cute and those green eyes 😍
And her siblings are also super cute ( I peaked at your condo from yesterday, and boy am I glad that I did)

Happy Caturday!
🙋🏻‍♀️🐾🐈‍⬛🐈🐈✨❤️🌿🌻🏄🏻‍♀️
Aww thank you Karolina for your kind words! It’s hard not to beat yourself up for little things when you’ve got a precious vulnerable kitty trusting you and depending on you. But I’m learning and hopefully with time Moonie’s patterns will become more predictable too. Nestle is so handsome! I still remember his birthday condo 🥰🥰🥰
 
I feel the same way you do Connie, about wanting to learn Mister's patterns better so I feel more comfortable leaving him. And I hold my breath for those +2s too. I get nervous even going to the grocery store, and always rush to get home. No one else gets it, but that's okay. We will get there❤️

I've waited to give Mister the increase he's needed for one cycle when I knew I couldn't monitor the same way I normally do too. And he was just fine. Things happen, and you haven't done anything wrong! I'm glad you are in such good company here and can hopefully give yourself a little break today. We can be so hard on ourselves sometimes but from an outside perspective, I see nothing but a loving CG who gives Moonie the best care and life she could possibly have. Good luck with her increase. Let's see some more greens Moonie!
Thank you so much for your kind words! I still feel like I “cut it too close” today as I ended up leaving Moonie on 165 PMPS, +1 134 with 1.5 tsp of FF gravy and lots of LC food for 2.5 hours. I came back to a flat number at +3.5 which freaked me out imagining how low she could have gone without the FF gravy, which I thought was excessive intervention at the time.
 
Good luck with the increase--let's go Moonie!
I'm two years into the fulltime job of feline diabetes caregiving, and I'm almost, like Squeem, a hermit. I work, but my social life is pretty much in the toilet. And Jude's treatment--the ups and downs, etc.--are often my main topic of conversation🤦‍♀️...my poor friends...so kind to tolerate such boredom...I literally try to time myself and limit FD discussions to about a minute only. I've instructed each of them to give me the sign ✋when they've had enough if I get over zealous, which often happens. That said, I echo Christie's sentiments: you're going to begin to see some patterns and there will be a measure of consistency and you'll be able to find some freedom and live a life.
Thank you! The funny thing is that I never had much of a social life anyway and there isn’t anything that gives me nearly as much joy as my kitties. But my partner’s parents came all the way from Ohio and they’re a super close family and his parents have been so kind to me - I just felt bad skipping two dinners in a row. I did end up leaving dinner early tonight after 2.5 hours to check on Moonie but it was a start!
 
Thank you so much for your kind words! I still feel like I “cut it too close” today as I ended up leaving Moonie on 165 PMPS, +1 134 with 1.5 tsp of FF gravy and lots of LC food for 2.5 hours. I came back to a flat number at +3.5 which freaked me out imagining how low she could have gone without the FF gravy, which I thought was excessive intervention at the time.
You did good, and it all worked out! And sometimes I think it would be a better idea to give them too many carbs just in case, and have their numbers go up, than not enough and have them dip too low you know? So you did the right thing! I can imagine how anxious you probably were to get home to her, but this is why they tell us the more data we collect, the easier it becomes to know what to do for next time (and easier on us mentally to be able to leave them for a little while when we have things we need to do) I'm proud of you! 🥰 ❤️
 
You did good, and it all worked out! And sometimes I think it would be a better idea to give them too many carbs just in case, and have their numbers go up, than not enough and have them dip too low you know? So you did the right thing! I can imagine how anxious you probably were to get home to her, but this is why they tell us the more data we collect, the easier it becomes to know what to do for next time (and easier on us mentally to be able to leave them for a little while when we have things we need to do) I'm proud of you! 🥰 ❤️
Thank you! I have to say I was out from 11-545pm and again from 7-920pm and I had never been away from Moonie this long. I’m surprised I didn’t have a panic attack 😂

But she’s fine, I’m fine (minus a horrible sun burn from watching a Red Sox game in the sun) - so I can breathe a sigh of relief.
 
Think of tonight as a learning experience with carbs. Over time, I learned how much of what carbs and at what time of the cycle that I had to give Neko if she was below 70 on the human meter and I had to go out for a couple hours. Better too high than too low.
 
Think of tonight as a learning experience with carbs. Over time, I learned how much of what carbs and at what time of the cycle that I had to give Neko if she was below 70 on the human meter and I had to go out for a couple hours. Better too high than too low.
Thank you so much! I’ll file it away for the future.

Honestly I was shocked that she gave me 137 at +3.5 after I fed her 1.5 tsp of FF gravy at +1 when she was 134. Maybe all of it was out of her system by then, but the last time I did that, she went from 96 to 142 in 30 mins and stayed high the whole night.
 
Back
Top