6/27 maybe the Vet was right? 6/26 Zeus AMPS 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

knolet

Member Since 2012
Why can't he go low when I'll be home to monitor him and the affect that food would have on the BG with a full dose? I did a curve over the weekend... couldn't have happened then ;-) Little stubborn stinker has done this a few times (LOL), but it's on days that I have to work so I don't shoot because I won't be here to monitor. The Vet said it was OK to shoot this low as long as I was feeding him, but I just don't dare to without being able to test and monitor.

ETA: +7 = 329
ETA: PMPS 360
Edited again: PM +4 = 392.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 109

Thanks BJM, I'm not sure if I've seen this exact sticky (I have read and re-read so many), but I know that I've read some similar to it. Tonight, Zeus' number was 86. I did not shoot, but I did feed him as normal. I'm going to get in a couple of tests tonight to see what his numbers do.

Thanks again,
Kathie

ETA: PM fed as normal, no shot, +2 = 360.
 
Re: 6/26 Zeus AMPS 109

Hmmm, maybe the Vet was right. PM + 4 = 392 and I am feeding his 4th meal now, which will spike again. Perhaps I should have given a shot? Based on Zeus' spreadsheet, what would you have done?
 
Actually after looking at his spreadsheet I would drop his dose back to 1u bid, and hold for 7 days then run a curve and base my dosing decision off the data collected then.

What I am seeing is that even at 1u he dropped low enough by a preshot that you had to skip a shot, and yet you have raised the dose, which is causing a lot of skipped shots and then bounces off lows. What you are trying to achieve is to find a dose that allows you to safely twice a day.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I was thinking that the 1.75 might be too high, but the 1.5 didn't seem to be enough based on the curve last weekend. We only had 1 skipped shot during that 9 day period that I held the dose other than that we were mostly pink and yellow.

So you would drop all at once from 1.75 to 1 unit bid? Or gradual?
 
Okay I scrolled back up to look at the complete spreadsheet, sorry didn't see it all yesterday as I was on my phone..oops.

But now after further review go back to 1.5u bid and hold that for a week maybe just a little longer, some cats do take a little longer when changing doses to see the full effect on them. Also everytime you skip a shot for whatever reason you holding period starts over because part of the shed has been used up.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Also everytime you skip a shot for whatever reason you holding period starts over because part of the shed has been used up.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Good Advice, thanks. I had wondered about that. So at 1.5 I had only really held the dose for 5 days because of the missed shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top