6/27 Mac - AMPS 217, +2 429, +4 421, +5 408, +8 498, PMPS 450, +6 400

jillnc1

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-394-3-334-4-250-5-168-6-160-6-5-148.291505/

Happy I stayed up for awhile last night and fed the curve so I could still shoot this morning. He was continuing to drop even with LC food so I had a little bit of MC at +6 and looks like it slowed it enough to have a shootable AMPS. It will be interesting to see how it goes the morning cycle.

I will be going out tonight so that will play into my thought process a lot today too.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-394-3-334-4-250-5-168-6-160-6-5-148.291505/

Happy I stayed up for awhile last night and fed the curve so I could still shoot this morning. He was continuing to drop even with LC food so I had a little bit of MC at +6 and looks like it slowed it enough to have a shootable AMPS. It will be interesting to see how it goes the morning cycle.

I will be going out tonight so that will play into my thought process a lot today too.
Safe surfing today, Mac.
I hope tonight goes well, Jill. :bighug:
 
I know what you mean. Still learning every day. Hope he comes back down gently :cat:

Came down a bit then bounced back up at +8. Does make me wonder how low he got between +7 and AMPS this morning. A few more hours before PMPS, but right now don't see any issue with shooting tonight and not being here to monitor for a 5 hours.
 
@tiffmaxee

I know it is probably is too soon to tell but do you know what it means when Mac goes low, then bounces, then goes low again 2-3 days later on a routine basis. He has done it 3 times in 1 week. is that just working his way down the dosage scale.

Each time he starts dropping fast I feed him a lot of LC food trying to slow down the drop. If I did nothing there is a good chance he would go pretty low. Is this telling us that even the .75 dose may be too much? Many thanks

at least I won't have to hold off on shot tonight. (i think)
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee

I know it is probably is too soon to tell but do you know what it means when Mac goes low, then bounces, then goes low again 2-3 days later on a routine basis. He has done it 3 times in 1 week. is that just working his way down the dosage scale.

Each time he starts dropping fast I feed him a lot of LC food trying to slow down the drop. If I did nothing there is a good chance he would go pretty low. Is this telling us that even the .75 dose may be too much? Many thanks

at least I won't have to hold off on shot tonight. (i think)
He just is not used to normal BG again. He will get there. Bouncing is common and frustrating. Feeding to slow him down is the way to prevent big drops . What percent carbs is your food? You could try a little higher carbs when the drop starts, either higher lc or mc but I don’t see he’s dropping too fast. I think he’s just clearing the bounce. He’s not on too much insulin. Feeding him to prevent going too low keeps him surfing better BG. That is healing for the pancreas.
 
He just is not used to normal BG again. He will get there. Bouncing is common and frustrating. Feeding to slow him down is the way to prevent big drops . What percent carbs is your food? You could try a little higher carbs when the drop starts, either higher lc or mc but I don’t see he’s dropping too fast. I think he’s just clearing the bounce. He’s not on too much insulin. Feeding him to prevent going too low keeps him surfing better BG. That is healing for the pancreas.
Thanks Elise! I feed him raw venison which is probably zero carbs. I will look into some higher LC. I throw in a few pill pockets for some higher carbs but will get a better strategy in place. I think last time I did not feed raw until after he was OTJ so I probably had something with a few more carbs in it.

Thanks for your explanation.
 
Pill pockets may be higher carbs than you want.
Each time he starts dropping fast I feed him a lot of LC food trying to slow down the drop. If I did nothing there is a good chance he would go pretty low. Is this telling us that even the .75 dose may be too much?
You can tell that 0.75 units is too much if he goes under 90. He hasn't yet.

Koha limited ingredient venison is 12%, so good for medium carb. Ziwipeak venison is an LC option.
 
Back
Top