6/27 Esca AMPS 393, +3 333, +4 346, +8 369, PMPS 410, +1 404

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-306-8-456-pmps-547-1-427-3-321-5-315.265071/

Okay, whew. It's been a whirlwind over here, ya'll. Bandit's Mama suggested a bad pen and to try a new one - first dose of the new pen worked quick and fast yesterday morning - Bingo, it's the pen!
My husband dosed yesterday evening and this morning so I could sleep in a bit. Unfortunately, he's just realized that he used the OLD pen that we'd left in the fridge (in case his number change wasn't due to the pen.) :banghead:
At least now I know why his numbers have gone wonky again today.

Questions:
1. Since we know the pen has gone bad and the .75u of this pen dropped him fast, should we revert back to .5u? We will be gone during his typical nadir time tomorrow so I will not be able to watch him at this higher dose. .5 was working great for him prior to this! And I'm honestly petrified to try a .75u dose overnight because I can't watch him as closely.

2. Silly question, but since the pen went bad, do we have to restart the 7 days of the same dose?

3. And finally, what could have caused this pen to go bad and what can we do differently? We don't shake it, we store it on the center shelf in the fridge, I recap it after each use. It was only 2 weeks old and never left out of the fridge for longer than 5 minutes.
 
Good to see some better numbers yesterday. Might have been the pen, might have been clearing the bounce. Time will tell. Maybe you want to put the old pen where you can't find it easily? :-)

Since you have shot 0.5U, let's give it 6-8 cycles to see what he does on it. With TR you reevaluate the dose every 3-5 days. With SLGS you hold the dose a week.

Do you inject air or excess insulin back into the pen? Can't think of any reason why it could have gone bad so quickly. Don't ditch the pen till we are aboslutely sure it is bad.
 
His numbers looked so much better yesterday! I was confused why his numbers looked like this today until the dude said he used the wrong pen. I have put the old pen in a baggie marked to say "do not use" :D

Understood! I thought it was a full 7 days either way to let the shed build, I must have misunderstood! Then again, I am not sure what the shed has done with a yucky pen.

Nope, definitely not. I squirt any excess out into the sink and my husband knows to do this too! Our house is filled with the beautiful aroma of Lantus every 12 hours, haha.
 
Understood! I thought it was a full 7 days either way to let the shed build, I must have misunderstood! Then again, I am not sure what the shed has done with a yucky pen.
The initial depot of Lantus takes 5-7 days to build. After that it takes around 2-3 day for the depot to readjust to changes.
 
Back
Top