6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +2 240+4 189+6 190+8 233+11 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Ok, with NS this AM, +2 is 124. I am sure it will rise but he has food on hand and someone loving watching him. Will be nice when things smooth out and we dont do this again.

Donna
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124

Getting that +2 was good information. You know, at least in general, that even with a low pre-shot, Doogle's numbers will probably rise by +2. With food and duration running out, it looks like it would have been OK to shoot.
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103

Well that is good to know. But since I was going to be gone, my husband (Chris) was to afraid to do it. But I am goin to be off for the next 4 days so hopefully we can get some good numbers out of this. Poor baby's ears though...he is bruising some. Still good numbers even now. But boy was he hungry! Hasnt had alot of food since +2....just sleepin in the sun. :-D He is still to afraid to shot in the 50s. So I am going to print out some of the sheets of others that have done well. Any suggestions on good ones to show him?
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103

:lol: :lol: doogle forgot that he didn't get a shot this morning! Nice nadir! :lol: :lol:

On the ears, put pressure on for about 20 seconds w/ the pad you use to back the ear when you poke. That will stop bruising. You can also put a little Neosporin w/ Pain Relief on afterwards. What size lancets are you using? A lot of beans start out w/ the heavier ones,, but many of us use the 33ga BD. BD lancets seem to be a little sharper and hurt less. Do you use the lancet device or freehand?
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103

Right now we are using the lancet device but I think we are going to try it freehand later. We use 28ga since that is what I read is best for beginners. We are almost out so may go buy those you suggested. I think sharper would be better. Thanks for the info. :smile:
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103

I find that I can aim better freehand. There are a few little tricks:
  • be sure to have the backing pad
    poke at an angle , not straight in
    twist slightly before removing the lancet (lancets are flat not round and sometime the prick seals right up again. The slight twist keeps that from happening)
    sometime a second light poke right after the first lets the blood flow a little easier

And remember, don't skimp on the pressure afterwards. I does make a big difference.
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103+8 310

Well I think its out of his system now. +8 310......so hopefully Chris will understand now that shooting when he is green, its ok as long as its not below 40-50. So he will be getting his shot tonight that is for sure.
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103+8 310

Wow, Doogle has really shot up. Drat! You are right, though, it will make it easier to shoot a lower number next time. That was our experience too. :lol: We freehand the poke. Did you see the video on YouTube of Buddy (GA) getting tested? His bean always gave him two little pokes. Sometimes we say "two pokes for Buddy" when we stick Zener. When we watched that when Zener was first diagnosed and Buddy was so calm and relaxed, we said Zener will never be like that. But, amazingly enough, he is pretty much like that for most of his pokes. The post-poke pressure and the Neosporin ointment with pain relief were big helps for us, too. The other thing that helped me was realizing that a poke in the ear just isn't that big of a deal, compared to high BGs for extended periods of time or going hypo. It's all about keeping the kitty safe.
Liz
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle NS +2 124+4 117+6 103+8 310+11 304

Well he has pretty much held around 300....+11 304. Would have gotten a +10 but had to meet my daughter at the hospital. My grandson fell off his toybox and his front teeth went through his lip (he is 2). So of course she panics....her first really accident. So we met her there and just got home in time for +11. Is this week over yet?
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335

That's not a terrible number for a skipped shot, barely in the stinky pinky. You did a great job last night and Doogle is doing very well!
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335

Thank you Anne.....I will get the hang of this yet and not feel like such a tard and pester people....lol. Maybe can sleep better tonight without having one eye open...lol
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335

No worries, that's why everyone is here. We're all crazy about our cats and asking questions is how we all learn. Hope you have sweet dreams tonight! I-)
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +240

Looking good! I think in your subject line you mean +2 right? You may want to edit that to put in the 2.

Even though the 240 number is a very safe one, the drop from PMPS to +2 is almost 100, so if you are not normally feeding at +2, you may want to experiment with this a little. Sometimes it's not a low number that causes a bounce, but the size of a drop in a short period of time. There are several cats in LL that tend to "dive" as the insulin kicks in so they "front load" or feed more at the +1, +2 and +3 tests.

Hope you have a pleasant sleep tonight and get caught up on your rest. :smile:
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +240

Ok, I will try and feed him. We usually give him food between +1 and +2...he ate right after his shot (ate well).....the last time we skipped he did pretty good but still going to test later. I will fix the subject line...had cats in my face when trying to type....lol
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +2 240

I think they were trying to do farmville on FB........lol. He ate a little but I think he is still full from earlier. Will keep trying
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +2 240

When using food to steer numbers, it doesn't have to be very much, just a tsp or two of LC will usually do it.

Hope you all have a restful and drama free night. Ni Ni. I-)
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +2 240+4 189+6 190+8 233

Chris let me sleep and got numbers...+6 190 +8 233. Will do a +11 soon but I dont think there are any worried today. Some people have cattle herds, well I get up and I have a cat herd....all following me down the hall wanting food. Looks really funny to be honest....lol.
 
Re: 6/27 Doogle PMPS 335 +2 240+4 189+6 190+8 233

You guys are doing a great job with Doogle :-D

:lol: on the cat herd!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top