6/26 Zeke AMPS 268; +3.25 / 212; Question on Bupe

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL,

Zeke's Yesterday

Well, Zeke's BG is a bit high again this morning, and has dropped very little. His appy is very good although it had tapered off by +3 (his final AM meal) as evidenced by his leaving a little under 1/2 teaspoon of his 1/2 tablespoon in his bowl this morning. He has bursts of energy but was once again (wouldn't necessarily describe as lethargic) a little sleepy this morning. Hard to say if he's feeling poorly. Will continue to keep an eye on him.

The issue of the Onsior that our vet prescribed is still bothering me. I have made an appointment with a different vet for tomorrow morning to discuss the Onsior (a pain/anti-inflamitory med) and the risk of exceeding dosing beyond the recommended 3 days. Will talk to Zeke's current vet when we can drum up the courage (I know, I know - it's ridiculous). Onsior is a NSAID and upon researching further, I see that it should not be mixed with other NSAIDs. I have reasearched buprenorphine and it does not appear to be a NSAID. Could any of you confirm this? I will ask the vet if this would be an acceptable alternative to the Onsior. This morning was Zeke's third dose so we'll have to make a decision by Saturday as to whether or not to adhere to our vet's instructions.

As for the Flagyl, Zeke is getting 250mg (I think that's right. It's not the higher dose). As we've already started him on his 7 day prescribed dosing, I'm hesitant to terminate prematurely. Will ask about the Flagyl tomorrow as well.

Well, based on Zeke's numbers yesterday, I've decided to hold off on giving him a snack. Hopefully, he can get a little more duration out of the insulin with no +8/+9 snack in the mix. Paws and fingers crossed his BG will go back down to his normal.

Wishing everyone a great Fursday.
 
There are others who have a lot more bupe experience than I do, but I can say it is a narcotic, and it is what most of do use for pain relief.

In our own experience with Trix, when she had a dental 3 years ago, she did fine on it. She recently had a pancreatitis and was on bupe for that, too. She is also on BP meds now, too, so when she was on bupe this second, more recent time, she was really, really, really stoned. She was probably more reactive than most kitties would be, but if Zeke is on any other meds, you want to be sure the vetty you see is aware of that.
 
Amy is correct...the bupe is a narcotic so it's a totally different drug than an NSAID is

Hope you can get some...it really works wonders for most kitties!

It'll take a little time for his numbers to come down if his teeth were affecting them. His body is still stressed by healing and probably some pain too
 
Thanks Amy and Chris for confirming. Poor little kitty. I hope he's not feeling yucky.
 
with 3 skipped shots, it might take him a few cycles to refill the depot and get his numbers evened out a bit.

i think you're smart to get a second opinion about the meds, laura. let us know what they say.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top