6/26*TASHIE PMPS=508+2=501+4.25=492

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI

Last night:
AMPS=287
+3=63
+4=57 *** fed a little MC food (12%) ....... I was tired and wanted to bring her up. probably shouldn't have done this but worried that she was full from eating so much and wanted to get some more in her. Did NOT have to syringe, just put some on top of the LC
+5=83
+6=94


Yes, I should have gotten a +2 - I was tired and never expected her to drop that fast - lesson learned! Thought I was hallucinating when she gave me that 63! I KNOW she would have gone under 50 last night but what was the point if we want to "hold the dose" for a while and get insulin into her? Am I right?

Finally went to bed dreaming of "remission"? ...... then woke up to HIGH! Just shoot me!

WHAT A DAY! AGAIN!
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI

Nataschia Isabella! Are you trying to get Mom's blood pressure up? You're doing a good job. Please take it easy on her today. Please and thank you!

Good morning?! ~O) ~O)
It's good to read that Tashie is eating on her own. YAY. I'm glad her tummy is happy and got my fingers crossed it continues. Rats on that amps but i guess she's entitled with that quick drop last night. I hope she comes down today without diving!
hugs and scritches from us
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI

Mary, don't they say "God never gives you more than you can handle".........really?!!! I have to be getting close, don't i?

Have a Purrfect day!

xx
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI

Yes ma'am.. i'd say your AT LEAST close.. You are doing a spectacular job. Got my fingers and paws crossed for a little ho hum kinda day for you.
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI

Confused. Going to try to snag a two hour nap (?) ........ don't know why she is still HIGH?
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI

Great job! Last night was the depot from the .75u talking to you. You handled it like a pro.

Yes..you want to be able to keep her so that you can get the insulin in her until we are sure she is not going to slip some more ketones in on you.

A rest day for you! She's just bouncing hard.
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI

Oh Tashie,give mommabean a chance to breathe, this burning the midnight oil is very hard but your doing as good. Onne night for me being up for 24 hours took a tole on me,hope you can catch up on some sleep. :smile:
Linda
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI

Oh, Marje! You are a God send! Every time I THINK I know what's going on .... she fools me! That number this morning! That +3 number - never had that! And last night I just used my instinct as she WAS eating and didn't want her to go "too" low - so beefed her up a little with that 12% food - didn't take a lot just a teaspoon on top of the other. That appetite enhancer is a miracle right now and, the really bazaar thing is just how fat that 1/8 of a pill kicked in - it was noticeable a half hour after it was administered - driving home from the vet she all of a sudden sat up in her carrier, looked around, meowed and became very alert - it was just an hour before that when she was shaking like a leaf! ......hum, why do leaves shake? Where did that saying come from?

Yes, I said I was going to lay down - does anyone out there know how to take "power naps" coz I sure can't do it! Thinkin' a little yoga in my near future - ?!!!

And WHY did I think we were "bounce free" now ...... just when her SS was getting "pretty" ..... the OCD in me likes uniformity! Drat!

She is eating well - being a pistol about being caught for testing - gone is the "submissiveness" but she was back on her hammock this morning after 3 days - that is always a BIG sign for me in the morning.

And, you have to laugh! I put a nice wool blanket on the wood floor behind the bed, along with a little pillow - want to make sure she is comfy and warm enough (after the chills yesterday) WELL! Guess who is curled up like the King of Siam, full of himself and looking SO contented on the pillow ...... Thanks mom, this was a really good idea! BORIS!

Ah! The life of a cat!
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION

So much for that "rest" day ...... took her BG reading at +6 - still HIGH. Also took a ketone test - I am NOT using strips but the BLOOD METER (Nova Max?) to do this - supposed to be more accurate and, as she is such a private girl, I'd never catch her pee. The other day when I first too her for fluids, she was 1.4 ...... yesterday she was at 0.4 and today it read 4.6 - I ran down to the vet's office for more fluids and also took the meter which read 4.5 for them. I also took SS to show her Tahsie's numbers - she glanced at it and asked my why I'd changed the .75U dose to .5U as she was doing "so well" on .75U .......tried to explain the "earned dose reduction" and she looked at me like I was from mars.
She also says that the ketones make no sense and that she will consult someone at the blood lab that is very well versed in these things but it may take a few DAYS to set up the consult. (((!!!!!!!!!!)))
I have made arrangements to take Tash for subQ's again tomorrow afternoon - I don't know what else to do here.

Feel like we are in a real mess and I feel helpless.

Bern
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION

Additional thoughts:

The SoloStar pen I am using is from dx date of 05/15/13. I have a brand new pen that the vet gave me the other day - thinking I should use it tonight --- God knows with all of out flub up's in the learning process my may have contaminated it?

And, dose question as well. Should I up it a little? Or, start out using the NEW insulin and see if that changes anything?

DH gave the AM shot - he's 95% sure it wasn't a fur shot - but you know how that goes, the more you think about it, the less sure you are!

Clueless in Ohio!
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION



...... on her hammock after stuffing her little face with food! This is after the vet visit
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION

Tashie has had some ketones; she won't eat. The .75u dose is better for the ketone issue but she has to eat because not eating/possible infection/not enough insulin can bring those ketones back.

Bern... Remember that we felt the 48s she got Sunday night and Monday were due to not eating any the fluids she got. That and the ketones are the reasons we felt it would be best to give her .75u. However, we offered some alternatives because you and she were exhausted. We left the decision to you......Tashie likely did not earn the reductions but went below 50 due to extenuating circumstances. If she were my kitty, I'd take the dose back up and do whatever work I had to do to support the numbers if she doesn't eat.

Hard to say on the pen. Many lantus and lev users, even if the dose is low, use the pen to the last drop. Can you get a pen that goes wonky? Sure. I have.

I think she is bouncing and I also think the numbers reflect whatever might be going on with her.

She needs insulin, calories, fluids to fight off the ketones.
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION

Got it! Well, she IS eating!

She is being a PIG! Even pushed Boris out of the way. She has eaten 3 bowls of 1/4 can LC FF and a pile of turkey so far today and I will feed her again just shy of 2 hours PM insulin.

I will use NEW pen and draw .75U

Will feed as high of a calorie food as I have on had (?) and try to uncover better choices tomorrow.

Taking for more subQ's tomorrow as well
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE AMPS=HI+3+HI+6 HI KETONE QUESTION

Got it! Well, she IS eating!

She is being a PIG! Even pushed Boris out of the way. She has eaten 3 bowls of 1/4 can LC FF and a pile of turkey so far today and I will feed her again just shy of 2 hours PM insulin.

I will use NEW pen and draw .75U

Will feed as high of a calorie food as I have on had (?) and try to uncover better choices tomorrow.

Taking for more subQ's tomorrow as well
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE PMPS=508

Upped the dose to .75U - fed, she ate. Will test @ +2 and feed more and post results!
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE PMPS=508

By any chance did you think to re-test for ketones on the NovaMax? If you look at the instructions, above 1.5 is indicative of ketones. If ketones were at 4.6 she's feel pretty lousy. Were all of your other readings on the NovaMax, as well?
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE PMPS=508

Yes, all were on Nova Max. She actually isn't feeling "lousy" she's actually pretty spry. I didn't take her because she was "down" but because I did the ketone reading and got that number - so I took her for more fluids. She is eating well.
 
Re: 6/26*TASHIE PMPS=508

On 6/9 took her to ER - she had TRACE ketones and got subQ
On 6/10 took her to my reg vet and had a complete urinalysis done - came back negative

On 6/24 tested for ketones and came up 1.4 - took to vet got SubQ
On 6/25 - tested again, she was 0.4
Today she was 4.5 - got more fluids. Took up her dose tonight to .75u. She is on an appetite enhancer and is eating well. She is also playful and quite alert. Much more so than she has been in ages
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top