6/26 Purrcee +11 313 PMPS 389 - food error shows

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Had an error on his chart this morning. Originally showed it as +2.5 but it was really +2.

Will feed and shoot on schedule. Going to try to get +2 and +4 today.
Purrcee is doing good for the most part. He is still my talker and eating, etc. pretty good. He is waiting for breakfast as are all my others so time to get going.
Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee AMPS 210+2 176 +5 80 should I worry or be h

I'd be happy, first green! It isn't too low and at +5 he should be approaching nadir, but not really enough data on the SS to tell when he nadirs.

I'd get at least +10 or +11 and ask for help if he is still low. What is your "do not shoot" number?
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee AMPS 210+2 176 +5 80 should I worry or be h

do not shoot is 150 or below at this time.
I will go for a +10
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee AMPS 210+2 176 +5 80 should I worry or be h

I'd be pretty happy :mrgreen: ...that's a very nice +5!

This is just me....I'd go for a test sooner than +10 - maybe a +7 or +8, just to be sure Purrcee doesn't drop too much further. That 80 is very nice, but it is also a pretty decent drop from that +2. In theory, as Ann said, Purrcee should be near nadir, but also as Sienne always says, the nadir can be a moving target...every cat can "pick" a different time to nadir, and even one cat can vary nadir times. This is an excellent cycle for gathering data!
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee AMPS 210+2 176 +5 80 should I worry or be h

Hi Julie.

Let us know what the next test result is. I'm a little confused because I see at +5 of 80 in your Subject Line but talk of a +10 test in your post. What +hour are your at?

I know your first green number is scary, but it's a high green and a nice healthy number. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee AMPS 210+2 176 +5 80 should I worry or be h

Have not tested since +5.
I was planning to do a +10 as suggested earlier. +10 would be at 6 p.m. I can do +9 if it is better.
Sorry for some reason I didn't see these posts until now although I have been checking. Can't do any sooner than a +9 right now which would be in 10 minutes at 5 p.m.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80

A +9 would be good.

That way you still have a little window to feed him, if needed.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

okay done...113. It looks like I will need advice if he is 150 or below. Can I plan for that now? Also can I confirm that I shoot if he is 150 or above? Same amount 1.25?

Thanks!
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

Oh, it looks like he surfed along in healing numbers real nicely today.

Yes, I will confirm that if he is 150 at PMPS or close to that, you can shoot his regular dose on time tonight.

Will you be home to monitor and do you have all the supplies you need, for just in case? Hopefully he'll have just as nice a cycle tonight as he did today.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

Thanks for the confirmation. I will be home tonight. How often should I test?

Not sure what supplies you mean other than the usual strips, meter, syringes. Is there something else I should have?

thanks.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

Yes, you should have a small variety of HC flavors and or some karo or syrup. Always keep a supply of plenty of test strips, in case you need them in.

I'll probably be asleep in 3 hours when your PMPS is but others will be logged in to help you, so post your numbers and let us know what questions you have.

I would test again at +11.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

I have karo syrup.
Not sure what HC is...sorry!
Can I feed him dinner now? PMPS is 7:30 pm. in 2 hours
Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +5 80 +9 113

HC is high carb food, over 15% carbs. How much does he eat now? We usually give the main meal at shot time and try to have no food for 2 hours before preshot, for a reading w/ no food influence.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee Messed Up on allowable food

I fed him a small amount at his usual time. I will do test/preshot at 8 in 2 hours.
I have been messing up! I had Science Diet Turkey on my low carb list and it is not. I had it marked for my kidney girl and made a huge mistake. He has been eating this 4-5 times a week. Not big amounts but still some. I'm not sure what to do since he won't be getting that anymore and it might affect his values when eliminated. He had SC just a few minutes ago. What a mess. Need advice.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee messed up on allowable food

You can take the 911 down.

What is the carb count of the Science Diet? Is it the Turkey Entree? If so, it's 26% carb. Save if for a day when you need a HC food.

Do you recall when you fed the Science Diet? It would be great if we could figure out if numbers were higher on days when you fed the turkey vs. days when you didn't. Frankly, today's AM cycle is the first green you're seeing so it's hard to know what effect the HC food was having.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee messed up on allowable food

It is the SD Turkey which is 26% carbs. Unfortunately I don't know exactly which days I feed the SD but I think I better start keeping track of what food I feed him. I have 8 cats including the one with kidney issues so I try to find something they all like and messed up. I will test at +11 as planned and see if any major rise (that's in 30 minutes); then PMPS around 8:00 and feed a small amount of a suitable food. I will update subject line after +11 and PMPS.

Thanks for your quick response.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee messed up on allowable food

Hi Julie. Congrats on the first green number. The first greens are nerve racking but hang in there, Julie, you're doing a great job.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee messed up on allowable food

I happens to everyone at first. keeping all the fuds straight can make you crazy! @-)

You were feeding the Science Diet for it's low phosphorus? See if they will eat EVO 95% chicken and Turkey. It is only 2% carbs and even lower in phos, 155mg/100kcal. If they like it you can get it in 12oz cans, that makes it much more affordable when feeding multiple cats! Wellness Turkey isn't too bad either.
 
Re: 6/26 Purrcee +11 313 quite a jumpmessed up on allowable

Yes I was feeding SC for low phosphorus. I feed Wellness chicken but now they don't want it anymore. I think I tried the Wellness turkey and they didn't like it; same with the turkey with salmon. But might as well give it another try. They totally rejected EVO which was a bummer since it is pretty good food for both cats. My little one (8 months) has diarrhea which is a little concern. I have tried so many foods it's crazy. I really don't want to feed Friskies or Fancy Feast. They like the Fancy Feast better than the Friskies! They also like the Avoderm tuna, chicken and vegies but it seems a little rich. At this point I'm not sure what to do. Not sure I can find a food they all like on a regular basis.

It was so nice to see a green number...maybe it will appear again soon.

Thank you all for your responses!
 
This is probably a bounce, where the liver panics from lower than used to numbers and sends BGs back higher. Unfortunately, it can take up to 72 hours to clear, so stay with the same dose even with the high numbers. Don't worry about the food, it is all really hard to keep track of. We did the same thing a few times. Oh well. The good thing is you figured it out now. :-D
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top