6/26 Philly AMPS 301, +4 106, +6 102, +9 192

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Latest

He's back to the 300s after yesterday's blues and greens. I think he may need a higher dose even if he drops below 90 at times. The last time I reduced after a reading in the 80s, my vet asked why I did that when 80s aren't low. I didn't have an answer. If 80 is in the normal range, does anyone know why we reduce below 90 if the cat is eating a zero carb dry food? It seems that a reading in the 80s would mean the dose is working, right?

I wish he would eat enough wet food to sustain him without adding dry, but I don't want to hurt his chances as regulation and maybe remission just because of some dry food.

Luckily I work from home and can test and monitor. He had a reading of 65 yesterday, but it came up quickly with a few bites of Friskies pate and he surfed in the 70s all afternoon. I was thrilled that he had a day in blues and greens. It seems 1.5 isn't quite enough and 1.75 is a bit too much. I'm thinking if I increase the wet food as I did after the 65 yesterday, I can keep the dose that gets results even if I do need to still supplement with dry to make sure he's eating enough.
 
Last edited:
He's coming down, so maybe the reduction didn't fail. I'm going to run out now to stock up on Rawz cans. He turned away from wet this morning even with dry topper.
 
I know it's frustrating to see those higher PS numbers, but remember dosing is based on the nadir. Eventually the PS numbers will come down. It's best to follow the guidelines and take reductions for safety reasons or the depot could get too full and he could go really low and you may have trouble getting his numbers to come back up.
 
Latest

He's back to the 300s after yesterday's blues and greens. I think he may need a higher dose even if he drops below 90 at times. The last time I reduced after a reading in the 80s, my vet asked why I did that when 80s aren't low. I didn't have an answer. If 80 is in the normal range, does anyone know why we reduce below 90 if the cat is eating a zero carb dry food? It seems that a reading in the 80s would mean the dose is working, right?

I wish he would eat enough wet food to sustain him without adding dry, but I don't want to hurt his chances as regulation and maybe remission just because of some dry food.

Luckily I work from home and can test and monitor. He had a reading of 65 yesterday, but it came up quickly with a few bites of Friskies pate and he surfed in the 70s all afternoon. I was thrilled that he had a day in blues and greens. It seems 1.5 isn't quite enough and 1.75 is a bit too much. I'm thinking if I increase the wet food as I did after the 65 yesterday, I can keep the dose that gets results even if I do need to still supplement with dry to make sure he's eating enough.
This is exactly the same with my cat. 1.5U is not always enough but with 1.75 he goes into hypo :S.
 
I know it's frustrating to see those higher PS numbers, but remember dosing is based on the nadir. Eventually the PS numbers will come down. It's best to follow the guidelines and take reductions for safety reasons or the depot could get too full and he could go really low and you may have trouble getting his numbers to come back up.

Yes. Last night's nadir at +6 was in the 300s. He seemed to spend a lot of time at 1.5 u in the 300s, so it looked like we may be going back to that, which was why my vet wanted me to increase to 1.75. She doesn't want me to decrease his dose if he is in the 80s at nadir and asked why the guidelines suggest doing that. I couldn't answer. The reduction number on TR is much lower than 90. Why does feeding a zero carb dry diet mean a 90 reduction point?

He's looking good today, so it's not an issue. Thank goodness. Thanks for replying.
 
This is exactly the same with my cat. 1.5U is not always enough but with 1.75 he goes into hypo :S.
Wow. I just looked at your spreadsheet. Your kitty seems to make huge changes within the course of 12 hours. It's crazy to think a few drops of insulin can make such a difference, isn't it?

The folks here were right about today. It seems like yesterday at 1.75 and today back at 1.5 is making a positive impact.

We are in this together. Hang in there! I can't offer advice, but I'll be cheering our kitties on.
 
Wow. I just looked at your spreadsheet. Your kitty seems to make huge changes within the course of 12 hours. It's crazy to think a few drops of insulin can make such a difference, isn't it?

The folks here were right about today. It seems like yesterday at 1.75 and today back at 1.5 is making a positive impact.

We are in this together. Hang in there! I can't offer advice, but I'll be cheering our kitties on.
Haha thanks. Djoko has chronic pancreatitis so depending on the inflammation of his pancreas, he will either go down very quickly or be insulin-resistant. At 1.75, when his pancreas "works", it is too much so we are stuck at 1.5U for his safety because we litterality never know. Good luck with you kitty too!
 
Back
Top