6/26 Loki AMPS 275 +3 195

Baer & Loki

Member Since 2020
Last condo

Feeling so frustrated with my vets right now. Vent. The ER vet that Loki went to in April when he was Dx has been all over the map with telling me to increase and decrease dose and he’s referenced Somogyi a ton. My regular vet office is conferring with the ER vet now and is recommending ANOTHER ultrasound. He’s already had two in the last three months. No signs of infection, labs all came back normal 6/19. What could they be looking for that hasn’t already been addressed? Each vet visit is getting up to $1000. I’d do anything for my boy but this seems off.

Loki’s appetite has been markedly down since his hypo episode the other night. I don’t know if that means something is wrong or maybe he’s not ravenous because his numbers have stayed lower than usual the last few days. He’s INTERESTED in the food, just doesn’t eat more than a few bites at a time. Ugh. His SS looks good but having a hard time celebrating when he’s like this.
 
Glad to read he got his appetite back for dinner. :)

Have you asked the vet what they think they could find with another ultrasound?

You might want to print off the article linked in this post, the one that proves that Symogyi is not a thing. His numbers are definitely improving the last few days.
 
Have you asked the vet what they think they could find with another ultrasound?

“To evaluate for concurrent disease that may be causing insulin resistance.” He’s been checked for everything between October and now, not sure what else they’d be looking for exactly.

Super interesting article, thank you! I’ll read through it thoroughly in the morning when I’m more awake. One vet thinks Somogyi and the other thinks insulin resistance; both wanted me to increase him to either 2.5 or 3 units before knowing about the hypo. I just woke up to snag a +6 for Loki’s PM and his numbers have been steadily rising since dinner, dangit.
 
Back
Top